Galway v Kilkenny All Ireland Hurling Final 2012

Sounds like Hurricane Fly all over again

Galway by 2

[quote=“Lazarus, post: 704540”]
Sounds like Hurricane Fly all over again[/quote]
Yes, galway will come second tho, he was 3rd

Correct

Collins would worry me Laz. Think he is more than a touch overrated and someone like Fogarty could destroy him for pace. Certainly the handy scores that O’Sullivan picked up in the semis will need to be avoided.

Goes without saying that Galway will need a huge performance from Canning to win and likely an early goal leaving Delaney on his arse in doing so.
I’m not sure Tyrrell would have the legs for a Damien Hayes in top form either. Kieran Joyce wouldn’t have got near this KK side a few years back. Plus there is a distinct lack of quality to come on.
I think the lack of experience in the Galway side is a positive. Plenty of teams have come up and
won the All Ireland final at the first time of asking. They carry little baggage of receiving
hidings from KK at senior level unlike most other teams. Their manager won’t attempt idiotic Davy Fitz or Declan Ryan esque tactics. Just hope they settle early and don’t retreat to Donegal football esque tactics if they are ahead near the end. That could have cost them against Cork.

A lot of esque going on there. Understand the point about the manager now, sorry, read it wrongly. And it is a good point. Galway have been criticised so often for their lack of consistency, it would have been all too obvious for them to destroy Kilkenny one day and then meekly go down to Cork the next. But the point is they didn’t, even when Cork seemed to be getting stronger during the game, they didn’t panic, they kept hurling and it paid off. I think the Cork game will stand to Galway more significantly than the Leinster Final. The insanity of Sunday won’t be repeated, though Galway are not a soft team, but they will hurl and if Kilkenny are expecting a war (which I doubt), they could be left behind. This will be a totally different game. Could well be a tactical battle between two intelligent managers.

Michael Rice is out of the final.

Good for us but your heart would go out to him.

We have an U21 Semi coming Sat night against KK… Will be interesting to see what team we’ll put out… considering we’ll have more senior panelists on our team than KK will.

good post other than the pacy burkes comment. david has a bit of pace but niall burke has no pace. i wouldnt fancy him to do all that well on hogan unless the first ball that comes between them goes his way and galway get a score off it. he looked very very jittery against cork

Ye are better KP, but how much has the senior prep interrupted the 21s?

this is mad stuff
firstly paidi o sullivan was beeing marked by coen when he got all the space in the first half. collins was wing back
tyrell will be marking conor cooney and murphy will be designated to follow hayes. if hayes goes out the field murphy will go with him is my guess
plenty of teams come and win all irelands at the first time of asking but not against this kilkenny team. hopefully this will be the exception but i dont think it will
regarding the mad tactics anthony cunningham played against a weak cork team whose biggest flaw is the lack of skill and striking ability of their half back line by sitting back and giving the cork half backs an acre of space to settle on the ball and clear instead of pushing up on them and forcing mistakes.
you also had the situation where joe canning was in his own half for periods of the game and even when he was playing deep in the second half he was starting in front of goals and running out towards the sideline to get on the ball making it incredibly easy for murphy to stop him getting inside.
for galway to win they will need to play canning close to goal with one other player to feed off him. that player will have to have pace to hurt kilkenny when chances come along
if galway play the way they have been kilkenny will win easily.

While obviously it won’t help it isn’t as bad as it you would think considering Cunningham is over the 21s as well and they are more than likely training with the seniors on a regular basis

Roll out the asterisk !

Then again if Kilkenny repeat their first half performances of the last three matches Galway will win easily.

This simply hasn’t been the case since the backdoor was introduced and that needs to be taken into account all the same, the big/experienced sides might be caught on the hop once in a season but since the introduction of the qualifiers since 2002 and the lack of straight knock out has only played into the hands of the top sides.

Aside from the Tipp side in 2009 all the other teams who have made their first A/I final with that collective group of players has struggled and made poor starts. Cork were wrecked with nerves in the first half of the 2003 final, even with a number of lads who had medals from 1999, Galway never really got going in the 2005 final , Limerick were beaten after 10 minutes in 2007 and Waterford were blown away in 2008.

While I think Galway will hold their own and give Kilkenny a game of it I can’t see them beating them twice in the one year

No idea Kid. They would training with each other anyway so I couldnt see it making a huge difference.

These are the lads off the senior panel who will probably line out Saturday evening.

Fergal Flannery
Johnny Coen
Joseph Cooney
Brian Flaherty
Johnathon Glynn
Niall Burke
Tadhg Haran
Conor Cooney
James Regan
David Glennon

Rice being out is a big boost for Galway, but even at that, I can’t see Tannion and Smith having anything like the same sort of success with the Kilkenny puckout. As such you’d expect Regan and Hynes to come under a lot more pressure early on, and Regan struggled even against the Leinster final version of Kilkenny.

If Galway can match Kilkenny’s combativeness and physicality from start to finish, we might get an interesting game. Otherwise it’ll be a very one-sided affair.

Rice is definately out. This is huge for KK and has me worried. Galway will be coming in under the radar ĂĄla the Leinster final to pounce again. History has a way of repeating itself and although I think it will be closer than the tussle for Bob, I feel, sad to say from my part, that Liam will be going west of the Shannon.

Galway by 4

http://cp12-eu.stablehost.com/~thefreek/board/public/style_emoticons/default/Smiley_Shake_Fist.gif

Must be some craic over on the Galway hurling forum, KP? They’re a wild bunch.

Really? Struck me as a load of bores, bar Laz.