Galway v Kilkenny All Ireland Hurling Final 2012

fuck that shite, were you impressed by my analogy?

[quote=“KIB man, post: 705280”]

fuck that shite, were you impressed by my analogy?[/quote]

7/10 for effort, 5/10 for execution

galway still have a huge bridge to cross to win this. yes they performed very well and everyone is talking about the young lads getting all ireland experience but of their forwards only joe canning and niall burke had a good game for any period of the match and in the end burke was shredded.
regan david burke damien hayes and cyril donnellan showed no great signs that they will be able to get themselves into scoring positions and they will need to broaden their spread of scorers to win. if i was cody i would actually consider letting regan and maybe donnellan off out the field and mark canning the burkes and hayes tightly leaving a spare man near canning

One minor observation about Sunday…

I think Cunnginham got a bit of a dose of ‘Tracking Tommy Walsh’ syndrome… It seemed obvious that Tommys job was to stick to Donnellan all day and I think Cunningham seeing this kept Donnellan in the FF line for long spells to kerb the influence that Tommy Walsh would have brought to the KK half back line…

Its a double edged sword really… For the short spell that Donnellan spent in the HF line he won a tough ball and sent in the pass that lead to Niall Burkes goal… however who is to say that Walsh would have had a bigger impact on the game if he was playing his native wing back role.

How near Canning? What kind of distance are we talking here?

Excellent observation and point KP. I agree. Donnellan would do more damage than Walsh in HF line.

Surely Cody will put Henry on Regan from the start the next day. He did some damage once he went out there.

He’d be a fool not to…

Daithi Regan is moaning in his article on thescore about how bad that last decision was.

An awful lot of Offaly love for KK is floating about these days between himself and Duignan. It’s beginning to demean a once proud county.

I refute any suggestion that Offaly was ever a proud county.

I’m seemingly in a minority in thinking that a 3-week gap for a replay is absurd. You’d run off World Cups and Olympics in that time period with teams/individuals competing in multiple matches and events. The camogie should be moved out of Croke Park this weekend to accomodate the replay.

Daithi is an imbecile.

[quote=“Bandage, post: 705289”]I refute any suggestion that Offaly was ever a proud county.

I’m seemingly in a minority in thinking that a 3-week gap for a replay is absurd. You’d run off World Cups and Olympics in that time period with teams/individuals competing in multiple matches and events. The camogie should be moved out of Croke Park this weekend to accomodate the replay.[/quote]
+1 Its a ridiculous length of time to wait, the players will go stir crazy in training

You’d think there should just be extra-time really. But I suppose they have their reasons.

http://blacksportsonline.com/index/29bo8wm.gif

One week would be too tight to organise tickets, logistics etc on the fly. 2 weeks is obviously out so 3 weeks was the earliest realistically

[quote=“Kinvara, post: 705287”]

Regan won’t hold him without help. I thought watching the game back that the treatment of Conor Cooney was harsh in the extreme. People are applauding Cunningham for “being ruthless” but Cooney did no more wrong than any of the rest of the subs that came on. His performance was certainly no worse than those given by Joe Cooney, Glynn, or even Glennon who only featured in that incident near the end.

Also, and not for the first time, I was struck by how indisciplined Richie Hogan is. He persistently fouls in nearly every game and has developed a real nasty streak over the past two years. Interesting that this transformation was necessary before Cody would consistently pick him.

I still haven’t watched it back yet but in my mind the catalyst for his quick return to the bench was one particular incident where he decided that instead of challenging for the ball he would hang back and wait for Murphy to make a mistake… Sorry mate, your gonna hang for that alone.

[quote=“Kinvara, post: 705295”]

Yeah that was definitely it alright. It was still a knee jerk reaction though. The quality of ball they were getting at that stage was terrible and it was hard for anyone to make an impact.

True, but the pace of the game was frantic and Cooney didn’t acclimatise quick enough. All Cooney had to was holdup the ball so effectively all he really needed to do was mark Murphy in a way… might sound ridiculous but stay toe to toe with him and when a ball does come in make it a 50/50 for yourself. Not a typical role of a corner forward but a guy of Cooneys size should have a bigger impact.

Some of Cunnighams tactics were woeful in the second half. It looked like they learned nothing from the mistakes that were made in the 2nd half of the Cork game.

What tactics in particular?

Yes, and that is the sole reason why Cody wouldn’t pick him