Leaving Donnellan inside in the FF line for too long was oneā¦ almost as criminal as when Ryan left Bonner Maher in there.
ā¦it took Tommy Walsh out of the game.
Your right but in the Leinster final when Donnellan and Walsh were placed in the HF lineā¦ who had the bigger influence???
I just think that Cunningham should have gone for broke and gave Cyril his chance to do what he does bestā¦ maybe he reckoned his fitness isnāt up to scratch after the hand fracture, so fair enough.
That Richie Power freetaking experiment was odd too. Missed a long one and then Shefflin went on them. Same thing happened after Power missed a few in the previous games.
Richie was cleaning up on frees in the League and takes them all for his club and itās probably a case of Cody trying to get him more involved or give him more confidence. But when you have someone as good as Shefflin at frees, even from distance as he showed in the second half, he should be put on all of them from the start.
Go fuck yourself Bandage. You canāt deny us a day out in premium level supping pints while laughing at womens sports - while basking in the glory when they win 3 in a row.
1 week is too short, 2 weeks would be ideal but you couldnāt have it the day before the football so 3 weeks is the next best unless they moved the football by a week which would cause issues too.
I missed some of the first half but did Shefflin miss a few handy long ones too? A 65 after he went for goal from a 21 I think and maybe 1 or 2 others?
Yep missed 65 after going for goal. Heās the main freetaker though for years and obviously missing a rare one doesnāt phase him. Whereas in Leinster Final (I think) Richie missed first one and got to him for the next couple then Iād say.
Whatever happened Barry Daly, star of last yrs U21 All Ire winning side?
Was carrying a knee injury into this years campaign and with the physical conditioning and intensity of training that was required I would suggest that Cunningham told him to take the year out and get himself right for 2013.
He will be a serious addition if he can get himself back to full fitness.
Serious operator. Would be deadly in the Damien Hayes role.
I actually would have had more faith in Power taking the penalty than Henry. Far better striker of the ball than Shefflin. There is a myth out there since 2009 that Shefflin was a great penalty taker, he isnāt nor ever was, he is a lot of things but thatās not his forte, Canning and DJ yes. I know Power didnāt have a good game/season but he is a better penalty taker plus Shefflin cant even do a full rotation of his shoulder since he ripped the cartilage in February which is being ignored in all the chat about the penalty. Right decision anywayā¦i think.
Balls. I had a big long boring post on the hurling there and my computer crashed. Oh well
Bullet points
- Thank God Tyrell is such an ape. Saw Cunningham having a good long conversation with Glennon before he brought him on, wouldnāt be surprised if he was telling him that if he found himself on the ball to get close to someone like Tyrell and maybe make something happen. A well executed plan
*Joeās 2nd half performance reminded me of Lebron James in the NBA Finals against Dallas last year when no one seemed to be able to figure out where he was. We all know what Lebron did next and Im confident Joe can do something similar in 3 weeks.
*Cody is a bollix. Does he allow these aggressive bullying techniques in his school? No wonder the Kilkenny lads on here come across as being damaged. Cunnigham well able for him and his bitches
*We didnāt run at Kilkenny backs near enough. 0-0 from D Burke, D Hayes and Donnellan, that wonāt happen again.
*James Skehill is a God
*Should have won it, could have lost. Draw a fair result no question. The point Canning scored to square must go down as one of the greatest freeās ever in the history of the game.
*Kilkenny are finished
Cody is an absolute cunt of a man. A pure bully who obviously thinks he has the upper hand on the officials of the game.
JC shoved it down his throat anyway.
Sunday was the worst Iāve ever seen Michael Fennelly play. He was a shadow of his formally magnificent self. As has been said already though, an awful lot of the Kilkenny players looked sluggish on the day. Is the Galway workrate too much for them?
āA well executed planā.
Objection. Sheer conjecture, your honour.
Canningās disappearing act in the second half was bizarre alright. As I said the other day, a colleague ignored the option to pass to him on three or four occasions (and I acknowledge that the quality of ball from the back became a serious problem) but he was floating around the edges and didnāt look to impose himself on the game. Aside from knocking a ground stroke up the line, his only strikes of ball in the second half came from frees.
Overruled!
Lazuras a bit of perspective,
Cannings free at the death was only marginally more difficult than what Cluxton faced to win the AI. Cluxton had to kick his.
You wouldnāt have given him many quality points then Bando?
What was strange was that they left him there, just drifting around the place despite the Galway defence just launching the ball as soon as they got it. That really is the real problem for them though. They have to find a way to get Hayes and David Burke on the ball and carrying it. Itās easier to just drive the ball but itās also a near guaranteed way to lose when you play Kilkenny.
Significantly, not marginally. He misses and theyāve lost the All-Ireland.
Richie Bennis still holds that title in my view.