Gamers Chair

I know there has to be some fellow geeks out there so bear with me :rolleyes:

I’ve been given permission, I mean, I’ve decided to turn the box room into a study type room for myself , I’m planning on hooking my PC and XBox up to a nice 32" TV and use it for gaming (I’m leaving the PS3 in the living room cause that’s just used for movies anyway). I need to get a proper office chair in there, I want 1 with a full height back to it, ideally with a tray to hold the keyboard on 1 side and a mouse pad on the other, that’d be nice an comfortable.

I’ve also blown my speakers for my PC so I need to buy a new set of those as well, any advice again appreciated

Something like this would be ideal actually, bit pricey though

http://www.thegamingcollection.com/ULG_Deluxe_V3.htm

I currently have a room full of this sort of stuff.
Gamer chair is the Xrocker which I got at Argos and it really is the bees knees. Get the one with the pedestal though.
This is a link to the picture of the newest one I would think.

http://www.brookstone.com/sl/product/4864-x-rocker-home-theater-pedestal-chair.html

I also have a gameracer with logitech wheel and pedals for paradise city/forza2 etc etc. It’s a fantastic chair. Driving games using a wheel,pedals and gears is a different game than using the controller.

Getting a gaming chair is great for games where there will be some noise or chatter before you get shot, for eg R6V2. You will hear them talking in your left ear just before they open fire.
There are 2 speakers in the headrest and subwoofer under the seat. All the controls are on the side of the chair. With this you won’t need to buy speakers.

Then again, I spend 2 hours a night on the xbox.
currently it’s all Halo3 again, I’ve got a pre-order for GOW2 next Friday.
RSV2 also comes out when I don’t want to get stressed.

Anyone else here on xbox live? It’s yer only Man.
Art is quite a good Halo3 player.

If so send a request to ‘Garda S Horgan’.

Yours in gaming,

Doesn’t look like Argos do those anymore, looks a beauty, I think I’d get that. I’ve never gotten to like wheels for games to be honest, I’m weird that way.

I’m on xbox, but I don’t have a gold account, I’ll add you some stage over the weekend

Actually, they do have them, which 1? http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5666724/Trail/searchtext>ROCKER.htm or http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5660861/Trail/searchtext>ROCKER.htm

I’m 6 foot 2, those chairs don’t look all too comfortable

[quote=“Clareman”]Actually, they do have them, which 1? http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5666724/Trail/searchtext>ROCKER.htm or http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5660861/Trail/searchtext>ROCKER.htm

I’m 6 foot 2, those chairs don’t look all too comfortable[/quote]
This would worry me:
"This gaming chair is not compatible with games consoles connected to a HDTV via a HDMI cable, and is only compatible with games consoles connected via an A/V cable. "

Personally, unless I’m up off the ground I find it difficult to use.
I had to get the pedestal version of the chair and on the gameracer I got the extra hight built in.

I’m 6 foot and I could sit in those chairs for hours.
My setup is an LCD TV approx 5 foot up the wall and tilted downwards.
I have the chair down under it and it tilts way back when you are playing so it’s not really like a chair sitting up and looking forward.
It’s very much reclined.
Having the speakers in the ear changes the game.
However, Argos were doing them for about 150 or so last year so that chair looks way overpriced.
I have another place that I will ask in Monaghan.
They source chairs abroad.
xbox live is 60 quid a year.
You can play social Halo3 I think without xbox live (not ranked).
Playing online is the only reason to have the 360.

I keep on meaning to get it, but as the Xbox is hooked up to the main TV there isn’t much point, I only get to play when herself is out, I usually just scour the interweb looking for 24 hour passes and be a leech if I ever want to try it out, I’m still a PC gamer when it comes to online

I’ve lost xbox live since I moved back out to the sticks, but it was the job, and I’ve barely touched the xbox since. You can get subs on ebay for half price from america. Just make sure they are compatable first. The xbox points arent at all, but the live subs are, I’ve got 3 in the last couple of years.

Looking for a good office chair.
Was reading this.
http://lifehacker.com/5941523/five-best-office-chairs

Anyone have the Ikea Markus. Was gonna just get one of them.

…console gamers buying gaming chairs? Sweet jaysus I’ve heard it all now, fecking casuals.

You can get a custom made chair in The Back Shop in Dublin for €850. Judging by the amount of people who suffer from back pain in later life (and me, now, fucking already), it’d probably be a good investment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TC57w-mJGOY

the country is full of office furniture that is going for peanuts at the moment

Anyone have a recommendation for a comfortable office chair?

My current one is on its last legs.

This Cunt

What sort of money are you willing to spend?

Was it over the slagging he got about asking about a gaming chair that Fanta Pants left the forum?

I don’t really have a set budget, I’m willing to spend whatever it takes to buy one that is genuinely
comfortable but don’t want to massively overspend if there’s no need.

I would prefer not to order from IKEA if possible, had a couple of bad experiences with their delivery service.