Donât be codding yourself. The Irish Independent will decide who won this tomorrow.
Donât know how itâs populist or even considered populist,
I donât see how itâs right that the diaspora canât vote but JP McManus and other day trippers with passports can. If the right to vote was determined on paying tax in the country then it would be consistent but Iâd suspect there are enough of those in the country at present. If ones
Irishness is determined by being in the jurisdiction on election day then it is a sad state of affairs. Itâs not strictly
true anyway as consulate staff can vote so it wouldnât be a big deal opening it up for all Irish passport holders who would like to vote. The point that you couldnât have the national interest at heart unless you were in the jurisdiction on voting day is extremely backward.
Iâm not suprised by your attitude in this, you have posted your narrow minded inconsistent views on what it constitutes to be Irish on many occasions. You might try and come up with a consistent view in time though.
I just thought he wasnât vocal enough. Never been his biggest fan but he is more committed to his ideals than say Eamon Ryan. He could do with being more assertive though. He was all about the realism tonight and you need to be a bit mire aspirational in an election campaign.
That said he probably didnât do his core vote any harm and it was hard to take offence with what he said or even disagree with it.
They may do but theyâll need a couple of seats first. Definitely hoping to play that card anyway.
lads,
anyone know anything about this âNew Visionâ crowd.
apparantly its an alliance of independents , however one must ask the question how can they be independenst if they are going under the banner of " New Vision"
Adams correctly being touted as MOTM over on VB.
Tony OâDonoghue will be down to the dressing room with the bottle of champagne presently.
VB?
VBâs personal view:
Gormley was the most impressive. Martin did well. Adams did well but was discomfited by Martin that time. Kenny was okay - no fatal blunders. Gilmore was disappointing.
Amazing how people can take different view from something.
Because with all due respect to some guy living in the Bronx or Berlin or Brisbane thereâs no way they should be deciding what my taxes are or how Ireland negotiates with the EU or IMF. Itâs a preposterous notion.
Itâs populist because itâs plainly obvious that people are trying to give votes to emigrants in the hope theyâll get those votes in return.
You chose to live out of Ireland. Good luck to you and all that but unless you live here then you canât retain your rights to vote here. Youâre deliberately or retardedly confusing nationality with citizenship and the right to vote.
Consulate staff and Gardai and Army abroad are serving the state. Theyâre not relevant to the actual debate.
Who do lads think won the real big battle of the nightâŠ
Rocko the clear winner for me
The only view that matters is Tony OâReillyâs.
Address him by his proper title you little bollox
What is his title these days?
some people like jam some people donât
Itâs like Brennan and Tuohy
It is
Bandage,
coould you please answer my question re: Gormley and if the regulars in the 51 will be voting for him?
thanks
The Star newspaper saying Enda won debateâŠor more likely didnât lose it
36 fucking guests reading the topicâŠ
sign in you bastards, lets be having ye.
I donât think heâll get in mate - the prevailing political wind isnât in his favour. But heâll certainly be getting my #1 for the second election in a row after his barnstorming effort tonight.
BriogĂĄid Glas AbĂș.