General Election 2011

I have only had Niall Collins call to the door so far with his supporters, and luckily for them i wasn’t at home at the time.

No sign of Dan Neville at all.

To play devils advocate with that Runt,

The lifers are those who will find it far harder (if not impossible) to get a new job. Those in their 20s have opportunities to retrain and pick up something else. Having thousands of people in their mid 40s made redundant from the public service who will never work again maybe isnt the best solution.

Points re waste in the public spend is very valid though. One example I came across recently which I found absolutely nuts was MABS. They do an excellent and very valuable job in society at the moment. They are state funded. There are 65 odd offices. Each one operates through a separate Ltd company and independant of the others. There is a kind of controlling central function but effectively it is 65 different companies. The waste there in legal/accountancy/payroll must be absolutely huge, let alone efficiences, sharing of best practises etc. Apparently they have been trying to resolve this for years to no avail. There is probably opportunity to make significant savings there, improve their service and performance without losing any jobs.

In sure there are thousands of similar anomaly around the country.

Just got a phone call there on the home phone, picked it up and it is a pre-recorded message from Fianna Fails Peter Power. “I appeal to you and your family to vote for me in the upcoming General Election. I hope i have served you well over the last number of years…” etc etc.

I’m not even in his constituency. :lol:

1 - your general im alright jack, no recession to see here, FF/GGA, Catholic Church, demeanour. I havent responded to your posts on the other one. Better off responding to the master and not the slave imo.

2 - you have no idea of what I do for a living. Absolutely none so leave it there. Its the sign of a poor debater when he has to resort to ‘the I know best as I am big and powerful in my audi a4’ agenda. it is quite boring people boasting about how great at work they are. Often it is those outside the day to day involvement that could give a better view of what needs to be done. Similar to Jonathon Wilson mght have a better understanding of football than jamie Redknapp. it shouldnt matter what level of a career someone is at for someone to have a view. The accountants way of cutting without any thought for the implications is deeply wrong. It might be better if you did read some books outside Mein Kampf or whatever books that have given you such a black and white view of the world. In terms of practical experiences, i have worked with or in public and prviate organisations in three different countries. Inefficiency of the public sector is not an Ireland only issue.

3 - All that matters is that the management allocate the work properly to ensure evey person has a sufficient workload. of course there are lazy cunts in the public sector but the majority that post on here work in the private sector. Certainly the anecdotal evidence you have is not sufficient to abandon fllexitime as a method of working for public sector employees in Ireland. In my experience, there are far more lazy cunts in large private organisations, far greater expense fraud, far more people who get promoted by through back scratching and longevity rather than ability. It is the nature of large organisations.

Of course things can be done. Accrual accounting would be a start, impossible to invest strategically in the current situation of spending what you have in a 12 month window. We worked on a school years back in which the principal asked us to knock the plaster off the front of the school. Not that there was much wrong with the plaster on it but that if they didnt spend it they would lose it. These kind of stories are a product of the poor regulation. In May, Im sure we’ll get a few million here to invest in what we like before year end. Not the best basis for making sound decisions.

A huge issue in public organisations is the ability to move people around. it simply takes far too long so much so that getting in a contractor is often more cost effective. Naturally this pisses off the people there already who could do the job. Far too often large organisations take the easy route of getting in a management consultant to draw up a ‘transformation’ plan that they copied and pasted from the last client to effect change instead of standing up to the unions and effecting change themselves.

your other points - performance based pay. Great in theory, shite in practice. Again in my experience people will solely base their work effort on what they are bonused on if that is implemented. I have the height of disrespect for the farcical HR concept generally, 360 degree feedback and all that other wank, ok maybe in a sales scenario not in public service though. What do you want - every cop must give 20 speeding tickets a week? If work was allocated correctly then the taxpayer would be getting value for money. League tables for LC results are a very bad idea. Quantifying the quality of public service cannot be done imo.

State bodies - ya of course there can be savings here. Why is there a HSE and a Department of Health for example? FG say this will close down the HSE to create two new state bodies. Why not just change the HSE around rather than closing it but putting two HSE’s in its place. I broadly agree with FG Health policies I might add but its just an example. I think in third level education there are huge savings potentially. Does it make sense to have engineering depts or arts ones in each university regardless of student numbers? Is there a need for a court in Ennis when Limerick is 20 mins down the road further. I read some article lately about how many hospitals are in a half hour drive of Nenagh yet you can be sure it is the critical election issue there. When people come to the conclusion that they shouldnt be defined by stupid county boundaries, lines on a map drawn by the Brits, then proper reform of the public service and the electoral system can happen. The population of Ireland is the same as Sydney and the size about a tenth of NSW.

bullit points please

Bullit?

Its Friday morning mate got a burst of energy there. I really shouldnt respond to that poster either.

I stopped reading after the bolded part above - you understand irony yeah?

Does anyone read KIB Mans posts anymore? :lol:

He’s mentioned me in about 5 or 6 posts over the last 2 weeks in what looks like some form of attempt to get a reaction out of me. I’m starting to feel sorry for him TBH.

Pick out some examples there, even one? Dont think Ive ever boasted about work or not working for that matter

good post KIB

What was your favourite chapter?

I’ve no interest in going finding the post but I recall numerous posts from you around the time you were outing your work “colleague” with the weird name on Facebook with the loose wife about how highly regarded you were by your work colleagues in your British Telecommunications company even though you were only on shitty graduate program.

Personally, i liked chapter 3 verse 2 the most where KIB Man explains how he was once employed to knock plaster off the walls of a school…

Was that the job he used to run 10km along the Thames to get home every day?

That story is alll arseways. For one, Id say he hardly rattled her until they were married. Two, I still dont know how I spelled the cunts name correctly but you must have had a fair amound of time of your hands to find me through there.

I was hardly highly regarded in the graduate program since I hated it. It was truly shitty and I really wouldnt want to go back working for one of those corporates again. Though i did work with the head of the Oz divison for a bit who recommended me for the job Im currently in so there was some benefits.

Had a family bereavement there a few weeks ago, Mattie McGrath showed up at the wake, he must have gotten his constituency boundaries mixed up as well. Some man to eat apple tart all the same…

That’s vintage KIB man. Well played pal. :clap:

Chapter 1 was short but sweet - it firmly and speedily established Farmer’s gombeen credentials in the reader’s mind, while in Chapter 2 I thought KIB really stuck the knife in nicely.

Of course none of this takes away from the fact that KIB is a cunt himself, but hey, don’t shoot the messenger.

Very poor :rolleyes: