General Election 2011

Thereā€™s no doubting that Martin is a competent debater and in fairness Iā€™m sure heā€™s reasonably competent at the rest of his job too.

I think if FG had Richard Bruton theyā€™d be looking at a majority anyway. Not just because heā€™s better on tv but heā€™s just a more inspiring leader and would certainly have a bit more gravitas than that bumbling, mumbling idiot whoā€™ll be our Taoiseach shortly.

Those who are unsure about who to vote for, I should point out that the future of TFK is intrinsically linked to the future of the Green Party. Only first preference votes make a difference though.

Endaā€™s Seamus from Crumlin bit was gas. His other highlight was when Gilmore started going on about something being a sick joke, and he just repeated ā€œsick jokeā€, totally out of context and with no connection to anything :lol:

John Gormley #1. Dublin South East. :clap:

Itā€™s handy that the polling station is in the school right beside the 51 but Jugs says heā€™s not arsed wasting 5 minutes heading in and voting on his way up to the pub on Friday evening.

indeed, if his job was to protect german banks and hand over running the country to the imf

I dont know why Martin just doesnt own up properly to the fuck ups - the overdependence on construction activity, guaranteeing the bank debts without an idea of how much those debts were, the failure of government to regulate the banking system. Actually there is quite a bit there it is probably best he doesnt start apologising or he wouldnt stop. Forget his we didnt challenge the consensus bullshit - they bought the consensus with pre election giveaways, they bought the media pretty much too. Their governance of Ireland was a failure of epic proportions and as a political party they should bear the brunt of it.

It is a disgrace anyone is considering voting FF. Id say Micheal Martin is the most capable leader of a political party in the state. Probably by a distance. But his party presided over the bankruptcy of the state and that is all people should be taking into account when voting.

wll you be voting for any of the ā€œnew visionā€ candidates Bandage?

we have an interesting sort in Cork East whose name escapes me but he called around to the parents house last week and told them he strongly opposed the trade union movement, he will be getting my first preference, as of now im complete dissaray as to who will get the rest of my preferences, i was going to give our green party representative malachy hart a vote but when i found out he no longer wanted american corporations to be pulling the strings of power he was off my listā€¦

yeah, the HSE in health, FAS in enterprise and the vatican telling te inquiry into child abuse to fuck off while he was in DFA being his standout achievements

[quote=ā€œmickee321, post: 537952ā€]
wll you be voting for any of the ā€œnew visionā€ candidates Bandage?[/quote]

Donā€™t know, mickee. Thereā€™s a few of them - that Somerville chap with no neck thatā€™s a regular on Vincent Browne but I donā€™t think he has a chance. I donā€™t really know what the others are standing for - thereā€™s a Dylan Haskins chap and a few other cunts. Not one canvasser has called to the gaff.

Ah look Iā€™m not defending his achievements or anything. Itā€™s safe to say Iā€™m not a fan. I just think he has a measure of competence about him. The fact heā€™s articulate helps obviously but youā€™d suspect he has a bit of brain there too. Just part of a miserable failure of a government and he shouldnā€™t be anywhere near government again.

i am fully aware of the disaster that FF presided over, however on the basis of the 3 jimmys on display tonight if you asked me to pick one i would pick martin.
right now i cannot see how kenny or the gilmoreā€™s commies can get us out of the mess we are in, i believe they will make it worse.
i am trying to look to the future of this and i actually think that if martin got in power he is more capable of fixing the mess he and his cohorts created than the other 2 are, i actually believe that kenny would set us back years, at least with Martin i dont believe we could get any worse than we are.

i actually think that Martin will do a decent job in opposition, which is where he deserves to be for what he has contributed to over the last few years but the yokes replacing him i believe will be 10 times worse

if anyone can give me a reason to vote for enda kenny to lead the country im all earsā€¦

The fact thereā€™s a New Vision and a FĆ­s Nua is just plain odd. How shite a country are we that two parties came up with the same name for themselves?

A Blaney (of Donegal stock) is going for New Vision in Dublin North East - interesting to see how he gets on.

Cricket world cup highlights on BBC2 now
back in 30

But the general election shouldnt be about the personalities of the 3 jimmies. I agree with you Martin is the best out of them but we dont vote for Presidents we vote for governments ergo FF should just FOAD.

You dont reward absolute failure with a chance to put it right. A FG/Lab government could only be an improvement on the last one which was the worst in the history of the State. So the ten times worse speel is bullshit. They could only be better than the government they are replacing. Cowen, Lenihan, Coughlan, O Dea - definitely the worst cabinet the state has ever seen. Martin was a part of that dont forget. He has his own episodes of shame. Iā€™ll admire him for bringing in the smoking ban, that took courage but the rest was a shambles too.

If you believe in democracy then a general election is a time to show the outgoing government what you think of their performance. TV debates or any of that bullshit shouldnt come into it. FF became an arrogant shower of cunts in power with the realisation that no matter what they did they would get back in. This is a chance to let them know what the country thinks of their performance. A chance to shame the cunts like Frank Fahey who will be humiliated at the count centre in Galway, I would absolutely love to see Brian Lenihan fucked out in Dublin etc etc. If you dont believe in democracy fair enough but communism and fascism didnt work out too well either.

I think you should consider giving Dylan Haskins a preference as a reward for the sterling work that he used to do on TwoTube introducing Home and Away.

I couldnā€™t believe the cunt had created a full length wikipedia page for himself. What a fucking prat.

Really? Did he do that role? His slogan is ā€˜It Starts Hereā€™. Thatā€™s good.

Yes, I believe there was a few of them that used to rotate the role for a while and he was one of them. Around a year or so ago.

what a fuckin weirdo :smiley: :smiley:

a sterling defence in the name of democracy :lol: :lol:

tard

Are even the most rabid blueshirts trying to claim Enda won the debate tonight?

Has any future taoiseach ever been so utterly destroyed in a media event before?