General election 2016 results HUB

Mary Hanafin unlikely to take a seat.

I don’t think they’ve tallied NCW and the surrounding areas yet. O’Donovan will get a huge bounce when they do but will it be enough?

He didn’t do himself any favours when, similarly to Noonan in the City, he failed to commit himself on hardly any issue in the pre-election candidate questionnaires. That arrogance might well bite him on the arse now.

Another Lucinda type. Dublin showing quite a liberal streak.

Fine Gael look like taking 2 out of 3 seats in Dun Laoghaire - totally going against national trend

Tallies from Dun Laoghaire suggest Fine Gael has actually increased their vote here when compared to 2011. Trending at 37% at the moment.

Hannifin would need very strong transfers from her running mate to get in the mix.

3 out of 4 including Sean Barrett!

Mc Donagh Carey is the battle for 4th

FG/FF is obviously the only feasible government based on the numbers, but we don’t yet know what the numbers will be and who will be the bigger party.

There’s never been a coalition government between two more or less equal partners.

If, for example FG end up on 46 and FF on 44, you’ll have a situation where they will have to do business. But if FF brought down the government within a year, they’d probably pass FG on seat numbers, so they have an obvious reason to bring it down as soon as possible. But FF/FG would still likely be the only feasible government on the numbers after a second election. But how could they do business again after such a disastrous arrangement? They couldn’t.

Without some special arrangement, you would have a government that is out to devour itself before it’s even begun.

The only feasible way around this and to ensure stability is to have a rotating Taoiseach. Noel Whelan wrote an article about this yesterday. I think it’s a very realistic option.

Good man hot roddy you prick @ChocolateMice

Joe Stack, RTE Sport, reporting from the Kerry Count Centre.

Looks like Joan Burton still in with a shot of hanging on to her seat. Tallies with 95% boxes open

Varadkar 20%

Chambers 16%

Copping 16%

Burton 15%

Donnelly 14%

McGuinness 7%

4 seats

Limerick Leader’s seven talking points

Limerick, you’re a lady…

He has spent more time up in Dublin on the Public Accounts Committee than on the ground in the constituency making a real difference. Very little done for west Limerick over the last five years.

A nice enough chap but working well on the PAC won’t get a rural TD re-elected. Call it gombeen politics or whatever you like but it’s stuff like keeping the local library open etc that will win you the votes.

You’ve got to hand it to Dan Neville, he has a slick well oiled machine that will seamlessly pass on to the next generation.

BREAKING NEWS - my man on the ground in the count centre and occasional TFK poster is calling it two FG and one FF!

H’on Maurice!!!

BYE BYE JAN:joy:

We’re starting to see the implications of a very fragmented vote. There are substantial seat bonuses out there ahead of first preference %. A couple of constituencies where FG look to benefit from this already.

This election, more than most, will be all about the transfers.

Slightly updated picture

Noonan in trouble