General Election 2020 Part 2

So they’re goal, just like for the last 100 years, will be to play silly games with the economy and people lives to serve their own ends … and the lep-jacks here thinking that’s great, e-winking and e-nodding at each other.

It’s a risk. It calls SF bluff and FF could let a budget through if they decide to.

Fine Gael are famous for their modesty and humility alright.

Bringing down a SF/Green/Soc Dem etc. government over a budget within seven months would not be a good look for FF. This is not 1982.

Sinn FĂŠin, FF and Green

Taoiseach and Minister for Defence - Mary Lou McDonald (SF)

TĂĄnaiste and Minster for Foreign Affairs and Trade - MicheĂĄl Martin (FF)

Minister for Finance - Pearse Doherty (SF)

Minister for Justice and Equality - Jim O’Callaghan (FF)

Minister for Health - Louise O’Reilly (SF)

Minister for Education and Skills - Donnchadh O’Laoighaire (SF)

Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment - Eamon Ryan (Green)

Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation - Michael McGrath (FF)

Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine - Rose Conway-Walsh (SF)

Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport - Jack Chambers (FF to take over comedy role from Shane Ross)

Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection - David Cullinane (SF)

Minister for Rural and Community Development - Dara Calleary (FF)

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government - Eoin O’Broin (SF)

Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht - Niamh Smyth (FF)

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs - Catherine Martin (Green)

7 SF, 6 FF, 2 Green

Also attending cabinet

Government Chief Whip - Charlie McConalogue (FF)

Minister of State at the Department of Defence - Thomas Byrne (FF)

Minister of State for Higher Education - Neasa Hourigan (Green)

Minister of State for European Affairs - Matt Carthy (SF)

Minister of State for Disability Issues - Some other loony green

Overall 8 SF, 8 FF, 4 Green.

When you consider that over three quarters of the FF front bench never produced any alternative policy document during the last Dáil session and the general election campaign revealed them not to have any policies and few capable performers, then it’s natural that you’d want the SF heavy hitters like Doherty, O’Reilly and O’Broin in the key ministries. FF should be happy to take the secondary slots.

Tough on Matt Carthy and Imelda Munster being in 2 SF seat constituencies but I felt Rose Conway-Walsh needed to be involved for the “wessshhhttt”.

Let’s crack on and get this done.

Better to be looking at it than looking for it.

The mask well and truly slipped here … you’re not only anti- democratic but a despicable bastard as well.

You’ve heard the pain happening in peoples lives and your response is to play silly games to get a bit of power…

They may let a budget pass. Depends on Brexit and if coronavirus has knocked over worlds economy.

O’Callaghan has said that he will not serve in a government involving SF that he would take a seat on the backbenches.

Leo has the right to attend Kylie concerts whenever he likes?

I’m only winding you up. It’s what Haughey would do but MM won’t have the cojones. He has been advised to do it but he won’t, I expect.

Agreed that it wouldn’t be a good move. That’s not saying that they wouldn’t be stupid enough to try it by wringing their hands and screaming “we told ye”

If SF are to govern, they must be given the chance to govern.

It all depends on the narrative at the time, but you’d think as it stands that FF and FG will have to let them at it for a few years, and hope they mess up, if they are going to let them at it at all.

Of course he has - just dont use your position to get himself and his mates back stage passes - and writing love letters on state paper while half the population couldnt even afford tickets to the same gig.

I forgive you.

Pity you idiots didn’t run more dolers then. :man_shrugging: :smile:

Tis all Leo should do this & Micheal should do that now with ye.

Things could unravel very quickly with Brexit and the coronavirus even if SF did a great job.

The same old chip on your shoulder stuff here. The people who elevate themselves to moral superiority whilst giving out from the sidelines are of course paragons of virtue and humility.

There is a flip side to this argument too.
Any SF voter I’ve spoken to is firmly of the belief SF should not work with either FF or FG.
Arithmetic wouldn’t be a strong point with these lads though tbf.

Mary Lou is in a tough spot.

The SF led coalition of the left will of course last a few years.