Seems that way. Making tough choices is beyond them apparently, only comfortable administering British rule.
No, Iâm not. Iâm being real⌠A left coalition wonât work for a multitude of reasons. Everyone knows that.
I thought we all should have transferred left and this was a vote for change?
I wonder whether SF head honchos are a bit unsure themselves where to go. Iâd say the manifesto was written on the presumption that theyâd never be called out on it and that they were really aiming for the election after this.
Increased opportunity for them now but the risks have jumped a good bit too.
But SFâs appeal is amorphous. Thereâs little point in reading the minutiae of polls, the message is a gut one, not contained in polling. SF would only have to make a small amount of progress on housing and health and they would make absolute hay with that. People underestimate what a populist edge can do in terms of perception. Sure look at Trump and Johnson, theyâre total car crashes and their base has hardened, not weakened. How? Through pure populist spin and nationalism, not reality. SF have the united Ireland issue to fall back on. If things actually went tits up for them, they have the fall back of going full nationalist. No other party has that. FF used to have it back in the Haughey days, not now. Haughey era FF is the best Irish comparison for how SF will shore up support. You can see a lot of Haughey era FF in SFâs style now.
They need to think of the country and not the party
of course they do pal, thats what @anon61878697 has been saying all morning. They wont though.
The numbers havenât worked. SF didnât run enough candidates, because no one saw the surge coming, and nearly half the electorate still didnât vote left. Iâve said from the off that a left coalition wonât workâŚnot under such an umbrella of parties anyway.
Sitting back washing your hands of it like a spoilt child while Brexit is burning is not going to help the nation.
If nobody gives us a Border Poll then weâre not doing business.
I never said that pal⌠Iâm on record here saying a grand left wonât workâŚ
Whoâs we? You wonât even vote.
The Shadowy Figures, myself and The Border Bull.
Nah.
He entered government with FF having 50% plus of the popular vote and never dipping under 40% previously.
They need to be brave now. Drive it on.
Thatâs the attitude that broke the country.
Not quite the euphoria that attached itself to the 1981 election when your club goalie brought home the bacon all the same. I might have been in bed for 2 days in the aftermath and it wasnât from exhaustion.
It canât always be Summer however. Great days, promises and porter the natural order .
SFâs style is very Haughey. Haughey styled himself as the populist man of the people with Republican credentials and had a cult-like air around him in a way no other political figure in this country has ever had. People would have gone to war for him.
This is no time for fear in SF following this mandate from the people for them, fear is the way of the dark side.
We faced down the British empire while you had your head up your arse ⌠Dont talk to us about fear. We are here to fix the nation and serve the people long term â impulsive decisions are not the order of the day. Let us not forget that more of the population actually voted for ffg than Sinn Fein.
So humble most of them didnât even come out to speak of their great work. Charlie Flanagan, Harris, MurphyâŚ