General Election 2020 Part 2

No it’s my manifesto.
What do you think about my manifesto?

They want a change away from FF and FG.

This isn’t just based on the last few governments - this is based on all governments since the start of the State.

Sinn Fein have promised a lot on key issues like homelessness/housing, health and the general way the socio economic model is run. I think without any doubt that the election was a vote and subsequent mandate to give those guys a go at doing what they would said they’d do.

This wasn’t a case of a few pockets of huge SF support bringing in a couple of candidates, this was a countrywide shout that the entire electorate want these guys to be allowed a chance to implement their policies. I don’t think there has ever been a clearer message from an election.

I like your manifesto, lets put it to the testo

It’s far easier to sit in opposition telling the other lads they should be doing all of this then sit in government trying to implement and pay for it.

Even better, the electorate will reward those on the sidelines above those in the trenches.

You’d be mad to head into gov unless the terms were strongly in your favour and the terms won’t be for any of the three main parties given the results.

Hence, the slow bicycle race we’re seeing.

They even managed to get ripped off on the way out :clap:

Sure the wiring alone in them would be worth way more than that.

Sounds reasonable. They should just get on with it.

It’s a long shot, but maybe we could have a Government that actually tried something new?

Any other contemporary eurozone examples where three parties are roughly tied at the top?

Jaysus I didn’t realise these voting machines were actually leftover props from Dr. No

Maybe they can parachute me in as a compromise Taoiseach. I promise not to appoint any idiots*, and not to say up the RA.

*If possible

I think even FF and FG would agree with you there. What’s unclear is how to turn this electorates wish for change into a government. Maybe another election in about 6 months, when its clear the impasse is insurmountable, is the only way out.

In that situation though, even if SF manage to add another 15-20 odd seats, its still hard to see a stable left coalition led by SF having the numbers.

around 800k PA IIRC, to a political cronies as well.

edit, found it

Yeah but I think the reality of the economic wiggle room we have is that any “change” will likely be more incremental than dramatic. The main thing SF would have going for them is the perception of newness which would get them through the first couple of years anyway.

Maybe they’ll go for it and sell it as hugely progressive new programme for government. It’s fairly risky though.

The Belgian parliament is always a cluster fuck

I think that realistically it will take FF or FG to soften towards going into government with SF. Other than that I can’t see a resolution to be honest unless another election throws up a different result which is very unlikely.

A three way tie isn’t a mandate but I get what you are saying. I do think a SF led government is the way forward, at least in the short term to give them a shot :gun:, maybe it will take another election to get there.

SF got 25% of a 60 odd percent turnout. Taking into account people to young to vote and immigrants who don’t have a vote SF got a vote from 10/12% of the entire population? Not exactly a popular uprising.

Now some of their promises seem very decent. Whether they are realistic, or just populist remains to be seen.

The independents won’t want another election. Independents would get wiped out in a rerun and according to a fella on the radio this morning it can cost up to €30k for independent to run a decent campaign, so some of them will have been banking on a full term to pay it back

In fairness, they need to take it easy for a while. It’s hard to commemorate the RIC AND run the country.