General Election 2020 - Predictions

You’re long enough around to realise that this is “a pre-election promise”. Once elected, this line ( and multiples of other similar ones.) get fucked in the bin as the lads get their snouts into the troughs. A timeless maneavour.
There will be many such vacouos manifestos, one for every parish possibly.

Who are you campaigning for this time around?

I know well kid. They’ve built 5 houses in 9 years and now they’re promising 60k in 5 year.

Ah here, an uphill struggle. Shane Ellis, son of former deputy John. An absolute Godhelpus.
The surprise return to local politics of Marian Harkin blew the constituency wide open. She’ll take a seat as will Marc MacSharry. Kenny (SF) won’t find it easy but should get there despite a bit of a rift within the party. The Sligo SF candidate has been stood down.

There has to be a FG seat at the Sligo end so the possibility is FF, FG, SF and Independent 1 each. Ellis would need 8k+ 1st preferences to be in the shake-up. I’m seeing 5/6k currently.

Early days yet and the dirty tricks team are only arriving at the ground…

They’re getting the ducks in a row, be grand and easy fire them up once they’re back into power. I just hope the electorate give them the opportunity make good on their promise. This is a critical moment for the state and its people.

Dan

Bit like the mainland : FF will be underrepresented in social
Media hustings but will clean up . FF is the default vote of the Mick .

I predict we will see the ugly mug of every last parasitic politican that sucks on the tits of mother Ireland omnipresent on every media platform, making promises that hold about as much weight as a sparrows fart in a hurricane.

Based on the numbers, a government will have to include both FF & SF, otherwise it’ll be another election.

I’m predicting a reverse of the current supply arrangement. FG to support a FF government, instead of the other way around.

They must be an exceptionally talented new generation in Fianna FĂĄil if the Mick electorate are going to put them back in power less than a decade after bankrupting the country. Is Champ Martin the only member left of the cabinet that had to call in the IMF to run the country?

Dry your eyes mate

Danny

Fianna Fail’s greatest strength over the years has been the paucity of the opposition

Who’ll be the ministers in this Fianna Fáil led administration?

I haven’t a clue and can’t get enthused enough to think about it .

They won’t.

FF don’t get in then Martin goes and they’ll end up with Jim O’Callaghan or some other non figure head half wit leading them and a load sick they didn’t get it.

They’ll then have more leaders then than the Tories after John Major and they’ll be all over the shop.

It’ll be a grand coalition (FF/FG) with 80-90 seats between them.

FF Greens and Labour won’t be far off.

I don’t think Labour will form part of a coalition. The last time they were in government it ended very badly for them with the party decimated. I think they’d rather a spell on the sidelines sniping at anything that goes wrong over the next few years, especially given there is likely to be a downturn/recession while the next government is in, then they could be well placed in four more years to double their Dail seats.

If FF get 55 seats which seems a reasonable target then it’s 27 odd seats to a comfortable majority - I struggle to see Labour and Greens getting that

Is 60 10 and 10 possible or near enough with a few independents or even soc dems? I wouldn’t follow the numbers closely so I don’t know.