Generic SPL 2012/13

They’re dead.

The officials didn’t notice this Leigh Griffiths effort was over the line in the Edinburgh derby today:

http://i.minus.com/i8QYmB9f1efCq.gif

o_O

Game finished scoreless.

Ah that’s ridiculous. It’s halfway to the net and it hits the ground at that point which is obviously the easiest point to see whether it has crossed the line or not.

The linesman was on the 18 yard line in line with the last defender when the free kick was taken but he must not have been looking at the goal as it was clear as day that it had crossed the line-fucking huns getting the “marginal” decisions as per usual.

always easy from the cheap seats and after the event in fairness
i havent seen the replay but ill go on what id imagine based on a feee kick 30 yards from goal and having taken and defended a few of these over the last last 15 years, Ref will be equidistant from the wall and kicker approx 35 yards from the goal, linesman will be in line with the last defender just outside the box, ref and linesman are at ground level ( obviously says Horsebox, however i am sure he has never peformed either role and also kicked a ball in his miserable life, i just want people top imagine how the situation is).
as the free kick is taken both the ref and linesman are looking at the wall who are no doubt edging forward and shouting at the ref and kicker ( given the game is in a rathole like easter road id imagine its sectarian abuse as well), the linesman is also watching for runs from forwards trying to pinch the offside trap. There is probab;y also some knacker in the wall from the attacking team stirring shit as well.
The ref and linesman do not change their position after the free kick is taken and watch the trajectory of the ball to the goal, given their position it is IMPOSSIBLE to say that ball is over the line, Yes, based on the replay and for people in a better position it is of course a goal but it is impossible for the ref or linesman to give it from where they are standing…

you’d wonder what the fuss is about anyway, the league is over with Celtic completly disinterested and their players going thru the motions just picking up easy paycheks until the summer, I cant belive how deluded the lads are on here thinking that Celtic give a fuck loosing to Ross County, If you were on a team that were 20 points clear do you really think you are going to motivate yourself against some shower of hackers on a freezing cold day? .The players are mercenaries, not mugs.
Celtic could go on a loosing streak between now and May it wont matter as they will still win the title.
The SPL need to get Rangers back in the league ASAP , the joke of the the huns in the third division has worn off by now in fairness, i suppose Celtic can keep plodding on winning leagues ad nauseum in this fashion and brief flirtations with the knockout stages of the CL. i belive however it was Celtic’s lack of having any competitive football in the 2.5 months between the home tie vs Spartak and the first Juve game that saw them so complacent in the first half of that game… Celtic built up a good momentum during the group stages , they were improving game to game and their team rose to the standard with games against quality opposition every 2 weeks.
The fact that Celtic are guaranteed CL football virtually every season for the near future no doubt is the only reason why any player worth his salt would want to locate to glasgow and good luck to them , long may it continue for them, but you’d wonder is it only matter of time before the rot that has gripped all scottish clubs finally catches Celtic and they regress to join the pack?

:rolleyes: Fucking hell. Maybe have a look at the incident before typing such shit. It is clear as day that the ball crossed the line on first viewing but you are saying it is IMPOSSIBLE for a linesman to determine whether a ball crossed the line or not-fucking spoofer doesn’t begin to describe you mate.
P.S You are correct that I never performed the duties of a referee or linesman but incorrect about me never having kicked a ball.

P.P.S Where did I state that the linesman and referee were at “ground level”? I never said that although it would be obvious to me that they are at “ground level” as opposed to outer space where you seem to spend most of your time.

[quote=“Horsebox, post: 746786, member: 1537”]:rolleyes: Fucking hell. Maybe have a look at the incident before typing such shit. It is clear as day that the ball crossed the line on first viewing but you are saying it is IMPOSSIBLE for a linesman to determine whether a ball crossed the line or not-fucking spoofer doesn’t begin to describe you mate.
P.S You are correct that I never performed the duties of a referee or linesman but incorrect about me never having kicked a ball.

P.P.S Where did I state that the linesman and referee were at “ground level”? I never said that although it would be obvious to me that they are at “ground level” as opposed to outer space where you seem to spend most of your time.[/quote]

from what angle did you see it on “first viewing”?, were you standing on the sideline?

go out to your local pitch tonight and stand where the linesman was either watching a game or lads training and get back to me if you think the linesman could have seen if the ball was over the line from where he was

[quote=“mickee321, post: 746790, member: 367”]from what angle did you see it on “first viewing”?, were you standing on the sideline?

go out to your local pitch tonight and stand where the linesman was either watching a game or lads training and get back to me[/quote]
So you are saying that is IMPOSSIBLE for a linesman to tell whether a ball has crossed the line or not yeah? Just to be clear like.

for this incident, based on where he was standing , yes i believe it to be impossible to give a goal without any reasonable doubt the ball had crossed the line.

there are many other situations no doubt that it is perfectly possible for a linesman to award a goal i would say ( i wont try and list them all here for you im sure you can let your imagination run wild) but in this situation from where he was standing , there is no way he could 100% say the ball has crossed the line

why do you think opposite?
from what angles have you seen the incident?
were any of them from a camera placed approximately 5 ft 10 inches from the ground and about 20 yards from the goal?

[quote=“mickee321, post: 746796, member: 367”]for this incident, based on where he was standing , yes i believe it to be impossible to give a goal without any reasonable doubt the ball had crossed the line.

there are many other situations no doubt that it is perfectly possible for a linesman to award a goal i would say ( i wont try and list them all here for you im sure you can let your imagination run wild) but in this situation from where he was standing , there is no way he could 100% say the ball has crossed the line

why do you think opposite?
from what angles have you seen the incident?
were any of them from a camera placed approximately 5 ft 10 inches from the ground and about 20 yards from the goal?[/quote]
So you agree with me that it is DIFFICULT for a linesman to say whether a ball has crossed the line or not but not IMPOSSIBLE. It is the linesman’s job to say whether the ball has crossed the line or not and in this instance I would say it is more clear cut than other situations. It was not just over the line but clearly bounced about 4 feet behind the line.

Thanks for clearing up your earlier waffle-you’re a great lad behind all the bluster.

[quote=“Horsebox, post: 746799, member: 1537”]So you agree with me that it is DIFFICULT for a linesman to say whether a ball has crossed the line or not but not IMPOSSIBLE. It is the linesman’s job to say whether the ball has crossed the line or not and in this instance I would say it is more clear cut than other situations. It was not just over the line but clearly bounced about 4 feet behind the line.

Thanks for clearing up your earlier waffle-you’re a great lad behind all the bluster.[/quote]

i am talking about this particular incident only not other incidents, they are not relevant here
can you please explain to me for this incident only how he could have accurately made the call?

FFS. Just look at some of TFK AFC’s 5 or 6 league titles and you’ll see a self motivated squad to the very end, even in campaigns where we were strolling to the crown. I’ll never forget the dressing room dust up when we were trying to match the Arsenal Invincibles but suffered our only defeat in the penultimate game of the season. Some incredible characters in that dressing room. Winners.

i take the comment back Bandage

[quote=“mickee321, post: 746803, member: 367”]i am talking about this particular incident only not other incidents, they are not relevant here
can you please explain to me for this incident only how he could have accurately made the call?[/quote]
Not really sure how I can make this any clearer for you mickee. For this incident only, if he had been looking at the goal when the ball crossed the line, then he should have seen the ball crossing the line.

I 100% disagree

And that’s the beauty of sport my dear friend.

Forgot to mention the wonderful news from earlier - Hearts are going bust. :D:clap:

Vladimir Romanov, November 2004: “It is inevitable that Hearts will reach the level of Celtic and Rangers.”

One out of two ain’t bad.