And as the sunset came to meet, the evening on the hill. I told you Iâd always love you, I always did, I always will.
A mate of mine was at it and wasnât impressed.
He is from Cork though.
Thereâs always one, in fairness.
A lot will depend on where you are in the arena. You see frequent complaints about the sound at this venue particularly up the back. Where I was, which was standing, the sound was grand. I agree with @caulifloweredneanderthal that itâs not a venue I particularly like. I loved the old Point Depot. But part of that might be nostalgia. It most likely is. The new venue is objectively superior. Sometimes the venue isnât really relevant to anything.
I donât think Iâve ever been at a concert before where the kick drum was literally thudding through my chest like that, like having your heart trying to jump out.
I was sitting. I hate sitting at gigs but it was the only ticket available at the time. I was near enough. Sound was spot on.
I was sitting a good way up the back and the sound was perfect. I prefer sitting to standing at gigs now but thatâs age and wear and tear on the legs.
I wouldnât be surprised if the opening note of the gig burst a few ear drums.
Yeah the sitting was better than I expected. Weâre sitting for David Byrne in March as well but I think that could be full seated?
He mentioned a backing track?
Fucking hell of a lad played in the pub with that there would rightly be war.
Yeah but My Bloody Valentine arenât playing Grace, theyâre extremely dense, layered stuff and only have four pairs of hands, or five with some of the songs.
They had a backing track for To Here Knows When. This is what happened the other night when Kevin Shields wasnât happy with it.
If your mate didnât enjoy the concert, he can always go and listen to a co-commentary by Ronnie Whelan which might chime better with his worldview.
How the first one of these didnât make it onto Loveless is a mystery on a par with Acquiesce not being on Whatâs The Story Morning Glory.
Apart from Ticketmaster resale is anything secure for buying and selling tickets? I want to buy a ticket to see Bob Dylan tonight and I want to sell a ticket to see Bob Vylan tomorrow.
Iâd say there will be at least one 78 and 77 year old couple from Ballygosideways arriving up to Vicar Street tomorrow night expecting to see Bob Dylan.
Hopefully.
Itâd make a great Liveline opener.
I thought @glasagusban was joking,are they both playing in Dublin tonight ?Thereâll be more than one fuck up thats for sure.
Tonight and tomorrow.
Toutless
I decided there yesterday to go along to Bob Dylan, figured Iâd pick up a ticket outside. Met another lad doing the same and we bought two tickets that were being resold online as a pair at a discount. Yer mans brother had gotten a free ticket that day so I let them take the pair and took the brothers ticket and found my seat beside a lovely older woman and her daughter who were there in memory of their deceased husband/father who was a big Dylan fan. So far so good.
About five songs in two lads in their fifties or sixties arrive in carrying two pints each and take their seats beside me and start chatting. They appear to have had a few drinks before arriving. A man in front asks them to be quiet, fuck off heâs told, I chime in and say heâs right just stay quiet during the songs, some grumbling but they mostly settle down. A while later some other lad comes wobbling up the steps carrying a load of pints including two zipped up in his jacket and dub one and dub two beside me start shouting, hee-ur, Deco Deco. Deco sits down on the steps beside us, loud chats ensue. A garsĂșn of an usher asks deco to move from the steps but quickly moves on and Deco stays put. A second usher asks. Deco eventually moves on. Loud chats go on. I politely intervene to ask for some quiet. Dub one loses the plot. -Youâre fucking telling me to be quiet -Yes Iâm telling you to be quiet -Shut the fuck up you weâre having a fucking conversation -Fuck off outside if you want to have a conversation -You want to go outside -Yes itâd be great if youâd fuck off outside. This goes on for some time. Another usher arrives to ask for quiet. Dub two starts shouting and pointing at me as the cause of the upset but the usher is not convinced. Dubs one and two are asked to be quiet then asked step out for a chat, they decline. More staff arrive. Dubs are told theyâll be ejected if they donât settle down. Dubs shout about paying for tickets, are not moving, that fella (glas) is the problem etc. I tell them to be quiet but this still doesnât help. Bob is well into his second of two ten minute songs as this is going on. Dubs are told theyâre ejected and asked to stand up and walk out or theyâll be taken out. You canât touch me, I paid for tickets etc etc. Dub one swipes at a security guards hand and is swiftly hauled up and out of his seat and in the same motion caught by a man at each limb and carried head down and face down off down the steps. Dub twoâs mouth is open like a goldfish. He is advised he can leave the same way or he can walk, he decides to walk.
Other notes:
Sound in the three arena was utterly shit again, the review for Belfast said it was loud, but the three needed to massively up the volume.
Bob and band were great, as usual, they finished on rainy night in Soho which was class and got great reaction from the crowd.
Karen 1
Deco(s) 0