Portmarnock looked magnificent there. Malahide, not so much
Fingal County Council did a decent job in fairness (better than Dublin City Council) in making a spectacle. Organisation was pretty poor though. Two lads from Belkin I think were trailing the peleton by a couple of minutes and they were competing for roadspace with a couple of hippies on mountain bikes. Gardaí seemed to have no idea that the race hadn’t fully passed yet. And the traffic islands are lethal.
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 943453, member: 1”]Fingal County Council did a decent job in fairness (better than Dublin City Council) in making a spectacle. Organisation was pretty poor though. Two lads from Belkin I think were trailing the peleton by a couple of minutes and they were competing for roadspace with a couple of hippies on mountain bikes. Gardaí seemed to have no idea that the race hadn’t fully passed yet. And the traffic islands are lethal.
Was Johnny Beep Beep one of them ?
Was in town yesterday so I hung around to see this, the second grand tour I’ve seen in Ireland. I secured a grand spot on the traffic island on Fenian Street outside Oriel House. Just at the chicane, before the final straight. In fairness there was a great build up, a dj playing banging house tunes, palpable excitement as the peloton approached, then whoosh,a flash of helmets and bikes and that was that.
Reminds me very much of my wedding night.
Were you married on a traffic island?
Beside a busy main road.
The Flash of Helmets?
Something like that. I was ten or twelve pints down so it was all a bit of a blur.
Joke of a stage today with the wet roads making racing impossible. When they finally decided to start winding up for the sprint there was about 3 separate crashes. Made Ireland’s pissing rain, wind and traffic islands look good.
First decent stage today with a few hills at the finish. I think Rodriguez will try and get a few seconds back today, the climb is probably not steep enough for him but I can see Moreno stretching them out, I’m on at 12/1. If Matthews can stay with them, he will be very dangerous at the end. I also done Ponzi 33/1 and Boasson Hagen at 25/1.
Little attack on the uphill from from Roche there with about 8 or 900m to go. Didn’t come to anything but he seems to have good legs, which is encouraging.
What’s the consensus on this Kittel selfie controversy? Personally I couldn’t believe the vitriol aimed at the young lad who took it. If Kittel had crashed or was abandoning, bolloxed from effort going up a mountain, fair enough, but he was just after winning a stage and, as the young man pointed out, there was plenty of other cameras around him.
Nico up to 7th on the General Classement.
[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 944857, member: 129”]
What’s the consensus on this Kittel selfie controversy? Personally I couldn’t believe the vitriol aimed at the young lad who took it. If Kittel had crashed or was abandoning, bolloxed from effort going up a mountain, fair enough, but he was just after winning a stage and, as the young man pointed out, there was plenty of other cameras around him.[/QUOTE]
I thought it was a bit of an over reaction in fairness.
It was a stupid fucking thing to do. He should have been given a boot in the hole.
Fuck’s sake. No luck for us at all in this race. Nico down to 80th and 15 minutes back.
On an unrelated note, I really dislike these Orica GreenEDGE cunts, especially with that doper Stephens in charge. I’d say they’re all charged up to the gills.
[QUOTE=“Thrawneen, post: 945339, member: 129”]Fuck’s sake. No luck for us at all in this race. Nico down to 80th and 15 minutes back.
On an unrelated note, I really dislike these Orica GreenEDGE cunts, especially with that doper Stephens in charge. I’d say they’re all charged up to the gills.[/QUOTE]
Who’s “us” mate?
Irish cycling supporters, pal.
What happened Nico, buddy?