Be an awful shame. I don’t really like those new holes but there are some beautiful holes there
I’ll be devastated with casltemartyr. Only down the road. Play it 10 times a year, roughly and it’s an inland links. A gem
Be an awful shame. I don’t really like those new holes but there are some beautiful holes there
I’ll be devastated with casltemartyr. Only down the road. Play it 10 times a year, roughly and it’s an inland links. A gem
Carstlemartyr a good test, hopefully someone buys it
It’s a monster off the blues. Whites are doable
Ya it’s totally different once you go across the road. I live only a mile over the road, don’t play very often but once I get back down home plan to join.
I’m long distance in cahir as a member. Play mitchelstown once a year, twice sometimes. Theres a long par 3 across the road alright that’s a great test. And theres a lovely 90 degree dogleg par 4 with trees in front and to the right. Good box will carry the dog leg
It’s happening
The index 1 4th with the bell that runs by the road and has a river before the green is a great hole. Nearly had a hole in 1 on the long par 3 that plays uphill before you cross back over the road again. It’s a good course. Way better than Fermoy anyway.
The index 18 is lovely as well. Tiny par 3, trees all round the green and water. No fucking way that’s an index 18. If you miss the green you’re fucked
That par 3 is hard. The green is elevated from the right. If you hook it down the low side you’ve to chip up about 20 feet
I don’t think I’ve ever played fermoy or if I have it didnt leave an impression
@Raylan @Bod95 @johnnysachs @Faldo @maroonandwhite @Crutches
Open to all golfers as well.
Favourite golf hole you’ve played in Ireland?
Mine is the 12th in Waterrock, a public course. It’s called swan lake. A par 3 with a long carry over water, out of bounds to the right and massive oaks all the way up the left. It plays 240 off the blues.
It’s some hole when you have a score going to it. If you can nab a par, it’s worth at least 2 against the field
That is a beast of a par 3. I have seen lads play it like a par 4 as there is a bail out area to the left of the green.
I think to make it really interesting and as we all have so much time on our hands you could go with favourite par 3, par 4 and par 5.
The par 3 16th at Tralee called Shipwreck would be one of my favourites. If you are on 32 or 33 points and look like posting a score this hole can make or break you. It is shit or bust when you are on the elevated tee with a brutal cross wind that means you are aiming out to sea to let it ride the wind or trying to cut one into the wind.
Grand, I’ll think about the par 4s and 5s. Good idea
The bail out area leaves a cunt of a chip
Mine would have to be the 2nd here in Mullingar par 3 elevated tee 203 yards off the blues to a bowl of a green with bunkers front and right and run offs back and left. An undulating green with tricky reads as well. Come off here with a 4 and you take it. I’ve seen McIlroy play it twice during the scratch cup in 2005/6 and he struggled as well which made mortals like myself a little more at ease. I’ve never birdied it closest I’ve ever got was missing a 6 footer for . A 3 here is such a boost for the rest of the round.
Thats a shame Castlemartyr is a lovely course. Id be surprised if it stayed closed for long
Yer man got a load of grants 7 year ago and they’re running out. Hes on the run allegedly
18th in Druids Glen. A serious test for a club golfer and a smashing finish to a great track
What type of a hole is it?
My favourite par 4 is the index one 10th in Castlemartyr. 436 yards off the blues. Plays into the prevailing wind. Trees eat into the fairway on the left, a narrow landing area with bunkering and gorse on the right. The 9th is a drive able par 4 and it’s some land standing on that tee box looking at it. The green is below you from the fairway and you’ve almost always got a blind second shot. Dead long. Dead left. Dead right. Bunkers in front. A two tiered green. Absolutely evil but a fantastic hole
400+ yard par 4…tee shot from an elevated tee…green protected by water with a wide stream running up LHS of hole. Green running back towards the water.
The back nine in Castlemartyr is some beast. The front nine is where all the scoring takes place. If you haven’t turned with 20 points you’re at nothing. I’d say the most I’ve scored on the back nine is 12
If you can keep double bogeys off the card on the back 9 it’s not so bad. The par 5s are doable and there are 2 short par 4s. The 18th is a stunning finishing hole