Golf Thread

Thanks for the tips lads. Again my budget would be no more than €200 and from what I can gather from looking at Halpenny’s and McGuirks websites I won;t get much for that.

Have spotted a 2nd set of Mizuno MX 23’s 2nd hand online. Apparently they are very forgiving so should do the job hopefully.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo”]Thanks for the tips lads. Again my budget would be no more than 200 and from what I can gather from looking at Halpenny’s and McGuirks websites I won;t get much for that.

Have spotted a 2nd set of Mizuno MX 23’s 2nd hand online. Apparently they are very forgiving so should do the job hopefully.[/quote]

Excellent clubs, should have mentioned them before. If they are in good nick go for them

[quote=“Phil Leotardo”]Thanks for the tips lads. Again my budget would be no more than 200 and from what I can gather from looking at Halpenny’s and McGuirks websites I won;t get much for that.

Have spotted a 2nd set of Mizuno MX 23’s 2nd hand online. Apparently they are very forgiving so should do the job hopefully.[/quote]

You are a continual let down…

CM…it’s always left to me to bring that touch of class to our circle of mates.

Playing the European Club tomorrow morining. I hear it is very very hard. Has anyone played it before?

No but a buddy of mine has and yes, it is hard. Best of luck with it. Weather is supposed to be good up that end of the country.

Playing Fota tomorrow myself. 2nd time out this year, but out again next week. Showers forecast but don’t give a shit. Bring it!

Fota is a nice course. Some driveway into it.
I have just bought Cleveland XLS Hirbore RED STIFF shaft driver, i1 and 3i clubs. sold my old woods due to age or hitting it too high.
My knee is in bits this week so not playing Barton or Met this weekend.
Brutal. I spent enough evenings recently in the rain on trials so it’s a balls missing them.
Anyway, next weekend some open comps and I’ll have the new clubs by then.

played it once and didnt enjoy it. very windy day and while the place is seriously impressive there isent anywhere near the same shelter you get in say Lahinch.

is a nice one to have on the list though and if you get a calm day it will be atreat.

up in Powerscourt in the morning, first time up there for me.

Some day down in Cork on Saturday for the outing in Fota. We played the old course and after an iffy start (bogey/scratch) I pulled it around with a par, par, bogey, bogey, bogey run. Not bad since I’m not playing at all. Out with 16 points. Hit a belter of a drive on the 10th and a 9 iron for position on the 2nd shot. Fucked it up after that, jaysus that hole has a grip on me. Parred the next but fucked up the tee shot on the 12th (went 5 wood instead of driver cos of the drain). Scratch. Plodded along, scratching the 15th by teeing off into a bunker, hitting the lip and staying in the bunker for my 2nd and hitting into the next fairway bunker on my third. Finished bogey, par, par for 13 pts and 29pts for a finish. 4 scratches but I’m happy enough with the round; only my 2nd time playing this year. Have a scramble this Saturday and thats it for me till the end of June.

2nd time playing this year?
Thats fair golf so. I would have no feeling around the greens if I was not playing regularly.
Then again, in March I went 2 rounds with nothing worse than a bogey and in recent time I managed to get 2 snowmen in 1 round.
Sometimes you play too much I think.
Anyway, was fishing all weekend due to knee issues and declined Dromoland.
I have 2 open comps this weekend and 3 day card the bank holiday weekend so my knee better sort itself out.
The new Clevelands are arriving this week too hopefully.
yours in golf,

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]2nd time playing this year?
Thats fair golf so. I would have no feeling around the greens if I was not playing regularly.
Then again, in March I went 2 rounds with nothing worse than a bogey and in recent time I managed to get 2 snowmen in 1 round.
Sometimes you play too much I think.
Anyway, was fishing all weekend due to knee issues and declined Dromoland.
I have 2 open comps this weekend and 3 day card the bank holiday weekend so my knee better sort itself out.
The new Clevelands are arriving this week too hopefully.
yours in golf,
GSH.[/QUOTE]

Putted well in fairness. Didn’t go for huge 2nd shots either. Put myself in positions where I was comfortable with (wedge or 9 iron in). The greens just suited me on the day.

Played Ballyliffin Old Links on Saturday. 8/10.
Played the Glashedy links in Ballyliffin on Sunday. 9/10.

Two of the best courses I have ever played and if you play golf then you have to get up there for a weekend.
Tiny vilage but 4 hotels and they all do ‘stay and play’ deals.

On a side note, they were renting “sky caddie” gps for a tenner a round but I had my own Sureshot 8800 GPS and it was invaluable.
On parkland it’s easy to judge distances (due to trees).
On links it’s impossible to tell how far you are due to the dips in fairways etc. GPS deadly.

The european club is a class course has to be my favourite followed by lahinch. staying straight off the tee is half the battle. the winter alliance they have there is brilliant i think it was about 60 to play it.

Anyone heading to Baltray for the irish Open this week?

Reasonable enough line up with all the Irish lads along with Westwood, Jimenez, Monty, Olazabal, Bjorn, David Howell and of course John Daly.

Will get along either Sat or Sun or even both if i can wangle something.

Will follow McIlroy and Daly if he’s still there at the weekend.

Anyone any thoughts on the upcoming US Open…

Woods, Harrington and Cabrera all teeing off together tomorrow

I think I’ll have to have an each way punt on Casey after the; ‘‘Third Man Casey finally out of the shadows’’ headline of the year in Monday’s Indo.

Hard to see beyond Woods but as always with the golf the value is in the each way and place betting.

A few small speculative each way place bets the order of the day before a reassesment and a couple of more serious punts after Friday’s round.

Chad Campbell e/w
Andres Romero place
McDowell place
McIlroy e/w
Stewart Cink e/w

For the first time in a long time I won’t be putting money on Paddy. Casey is a good shout, Woods bet to win obviously. McDowell has had a few top 20 finishes in his last few majors so e/w on him for the home bet. Ben Curtis maybe, just have a feeling about him for this week. Big Phil in New York too, the Yankees love that fat mother

Sean O Heir and Dustin Johnson are taking my random each way bills.

Anyone have a decent golf form site? Went looking last night and found a load of shite.

I’m going with Phil. 18/1. His worst finish in a US open in New York is T4, apparently.

[Am I the only one that doesn’t hate him? I like the guy. I could watch him hit flop shots all day.]

Went with small bets on Dustin Johnson and Villegas again. They did OK for me last time. 110/1 and 65/1

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I’m going with Phil. 18/1. His worst finish in a US open in New York is T4, apparently.

[Am I the only one that doesn’t hate him? I like the guy. I could watch him hit flop shots all day.]

Went with small bets on Dustin Johnson and Villegas again. They did OK for me last time. 110/1 and 65/1[/QUOTE]

was out there today he certainly has the crowd behind him,tiger woods is seething:mad:should a seen his face leavin the 18th,like a slapped arse