Good Books

Bought “Solar Bones” as a Christmas for my mother on recommendation of the paper of record. Turns out the whole book is one sentence. Seemingly it is very good though.

On a tangent, she bought our young lad exactly what Santy was due to bring which is a bit of a headwrecker when you think you’re sorted.

I got All We Shall Know for a Christmas present. I am about 3/4 way through. It’s an absolutely brilliant book. His best yet. I’m not sure if I’m overly emotional from all the drink but I am only able to manage a couple of chapters at a time. I need to take a break then to steady myself. It’s a masterpiece imho.

It is indeed though I probably preferred the second novel.
Surprised to find that I’m thoroughly enjoying Graham Nortons novel at the moment, the prose isn’t great but it’s got a really good plot and is a simple read.

My missus got Norton’s book as a present so I might give it a go. I’m not surprised that he would make a reasonable fist of it. He comes across as a bright sort

I needed a break from my Balkan war books so I’m reading Paul Howard’s I read the news today, oh boy. It’s a terrific read, perfect for 20-30 minutes before going to sleep.

Apropos to nothing, I was leafing through a book on Luggala estate in Waterstones before Christmas. It looked to be the Riot House of its day.

Absolutely fascinating. You hear so much about how dreary Ireland was in those years and you have these people living these incredible lives in the midst of it all.

I am also reading “I Read the News Today, oh boy”. About half way through it and really enjoying it. Fair play to Paul Howard, he has obviously put a huge amount of effort and research into writing the book. He seems to have tracked down and interviewed loads of characters from that era. Oonagh Guinness was some girl.

@briantinnion Another excellent book I’ve read is Moby’s autobiography “Porcelin”. It only covers his life in New York City from 1989 - 1999. He has a very humorous and smart style of writing and story telling. Often taking the piss out of himself from that time as a vegan, tee-total, non drug taking, bible reading electronic music loving kid from a preppy Connecticut suburb. Who happened to make it in the NYC house, gay and drag club scene while also popping over to the UK and Belgium to play huge illegal raves in various secret locations.
I was surprised how enjoyable it was and he has some mental stories. Especially when he falls off the wagon when he unsuccessfully released a punk rock record before ‘Play’ and was on the verge of being completely skint and being dropped by his record label.

It’s outstanding. Hard read alright. He is fairly prolific now. Interesting to see how he progresses and if he will move away from writing about rural ireland specifically.

Reading the Johnny Marr autobiography, very detailed but interesting. I’m up to the part where they’ve recorded the first Smiths album and they didn’t like the production.

Marr is an alright sort

Just finished this. His best book alright. Unbelievable ability to capture someone’s voice

I’m re reading the thing about December now cause my memory has it better than the new one, poor old Johnsey is an awful pity.

I must go back and finish it. Got half way through and it was depressing as fuck (but excellently written) .

Finished this tonight. It’s very good alright.
I can’t believe it turned out she was a horse all along.

Johnsey was a great character. Lots of lads like him around the country. He reminded me of Pat Shortt’s character in Garage.

Finished this tonight on the red eye. Great book, great guy.

Followed your lead here Dan…Disappointed really. I can understand the darkness of McGahern’s short stories but this was well short of the standard level that McG set.

Being shy of McGahern standard is not a huge insult. Big shoes to fill. McGahern stuff is superb

I finished this for the second time last night, superb book. Johnsey is a great character, not as thick as he thinks himself and there’s some amazing comedy in his self deprication.