Good Fillums

I think this will stand the test as one of the greatest Irish film scenes, extraordinary

Youre surely on the wind up… simpleton being rebuffed is not in the vicinity of a great scene. Keoghan is a ham, terribly cliched shite

Babylon is a good film, though overly long and slightly self indulgent. Worth seeing at the big screen as it will hold your attention- good luck watching at home.

Condon holds the scene together and doesn’t even have a line.

This was really good.

Is there a metaphor running through that banshees film? It was very watchable but I’m inclined to think a pretentious ass gazing script was elevated beyond itself by brilliant photography and fine actors
Farnell starts out like your typical stage irish ham artist, then it turns out he’s thick - so fair enough. The sister has no depth whatsoever. Gleeson doesn’t know his ass from his elbow, so his dramatic gestures make no sense.
Are we supposed to deduce that the donkey died and choked up (and out) his own tongue by eating a mans severed finger? Spose…
And how come the floor is so clean while an arcful of animals supposedly live in the house? Maybe they were on slats?
Painting the red postbox green…that was very moving…me hole.
And yer man goes from ‘have you seen your sister naked’ to chucking himself in a lake. Aye.
“What about de dishpairrrrrr?”

It might be the biggest load of shite I’ve seen since babel

It’s so bad to be unbelievable I thought myself. I even throught the acting was shocking

The Menu is well worth a trip to the pictures. Best go hungry and have dinner booked for after.

So i suppose the donkey represents farrell’s innocence, childishness and christianity…killed- literally and metaphorically by gleesons ‘sin’? Farrell becomes vengeful…he disappoints the island gom, who viewed him as a christlike figure?

They were dialling it in, but they’re photogenic…so it wasn’t a total disaster from that point of view.

I couldnt watch more than 20 minutes of it. It was Christmas night as well. I just thought it was shite.

One of them is ireland and one of them is england or else pro/anti treaty. The sister is the mammy, the idiot is the daddy.

It really is an horrific piece of art

Translations, by brian friel is how this sort of stuff should be done. A light touch, a goof yarn and enough depth to keep you speculating for years

Was the author a genuine irish man and not some lad who came here on holidays and is portraying that throughout holywood

Ive always felt mcdonaghs view of ireland was very patronising

I’ve a pal from raphoe…farmer/builder/warrior poet stock… had his talents recognised and managed (mostly through laziness and bad manners) to find his way as a literature professor, thespian, actor etc. He played the priest in ‘dancing at lughnasa’, in some prestigious production or other. His father reluctantly came along to the triumphant closing night…in dublin of all places, he had to be coaxed backstage where he uncomfortably made smalltalk with presidents, poets and brian friel himself…turned out they knew each other quite well. Friel and himself had been drinking away in the same bar in donegal for years, without friel ever mentioning what he did or how he paid his way.
What do you think of that for a man?

I’d buy him a pint and entertain him for a bit

…aye, and i bet you wouldn’t be running around cutting your fingers off either

The petty squabble or impasse between Farrell and Gleeson is a metaphor for the civil war and how best friends and even family members found themselves on different sides. The cutting off his fingers just symbolises the futility and mindlessness of it all. Farrell burning down Gleesons house is same modus operandi tans used do only this time it was self inflicted with Irishmen. The Donkey is Michael Collins. Took the death of the donkey for any of them to see a modicum of sense.

I spose de finger de donkey choked on was a metaphor for de six counties?