Remember the Irish film in the 1980s that had hurling in it a good bit?,it was set in Cork and Blackie Connors was in it,a few bateins were dished out with the hurls,anyone have a link to it or remember the name of it?
twas quality stuff.
I remember hearing about that one, must see can i get my hands on it…
there is one about Zidane as well where they just recorded him for 90 minutes non stop in a match…
[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Remember the Irish film in the 1980s that had hurling in it a good bit?,it was set in Cork and Blackie Connors was in it,a few bateins were dished out with the hurls,anyone have a link to it or remember the name of it?
twas quality stuff.[/QUOTE]
Clash of the Ash
Has anyone mentioned When We Were Kings yet?
[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Remember the Irish film in the 1980s that had hurling in it a good bit?,it was set in Cork and Blackie Connors was in it,a few bateins were dished out with the hurls,anyone have a link to it or remember the name of it?
twas quality stuff.[/QUOTE]
Clash of the Ash-have it at home on video somewhere. Blackie breaks the hurl across a lad’s head near the end of it and fooks off to Britain to work I think.
Liam Dunne’s favourite film I think :guns:
Jaysus Clash of the Ash was shite. Definitely no Eat the Peach anyway.
[quote=“The Puke”]
there is one about Zidane as well where they just recorded him for 90 minutes non stop in a match…[/QUOTE]
saw that on bbc 3 a while ago…fair fcukin boring…fcukin amount he sweated during the match was ridiculous…i
Shocking pile of shite.
‘Play it to the Bone’ was a decent enough show too. Boxing flick with Banderas and Harrelson.
‘The Longest Yard’ (ie, original Mean Machine)
‘Miracle’ is a very good film about the 1980 Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid
Midnight Sting.
Lock this thread.
[quote=“Piles Hussain”]‘Play it to the Bone’ was a decent enough show too. Boxing flick with Banderas and Harrelson.
‘The Longest Yard’ (ie, original Mean Machine)
‘Miracle’ is a very good film about the 1980 Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid[/QUOTE]
just a pity it was done by Disney, all too much romantic ideals about it all, the big bad Russians against our poor young team.
Why isnt there a big Disney production about Argentina historic Basketball win in 2004, or even the Russians controversial win in the 70’s when they scored with the last shot of the game to win
[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]Saw the one about Primo Carnera a few weeks ago, thought it would have been better.
Two films I love (and they are pure shite to say the least)were Kickboxer and Bloodsport, great hangover films though I have to say, no concentration required at all.[/QUOTE]
Bloodsport is a great film, that Chong Li was some fucker. Good clips from it here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bX-pephxsKA
Hoop Dreams, documentary about a basketball player in high school, savage stuff.
Basketball Diaries, wouldn’t be classified as a sports film really though
Anyone seen Midnight Sting?
When We Were Kings is very good
Friday Night Lights.
Billy Bob Thornton. Very good.
Downloaded Sugar the other day, anyone seen it?
http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2009/jun/05/sugar-film-review
Sporting dramas are two a penny, while sporting dramas about plucky, talented minority kids are arguably cheaper still. And yet Sugar is a revelation, not least in the way it ducks an onrush of cliche to expose the whole rags-to-riches mantra as a bright and shining lie.
Miguel “Sugar” Santos (a superb performance from Algenis Perez Soto) is a teenage Dominican baseball pitcher who finds himself courted by a gringo talent scout and set down in the minor leagues of smalltown Iowa. He funnels his $562 paycheque back home, while his Ivy League teammate is sitting pretty on a $1m sweetener.
Written and directed by Half Nelson creators Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck, Sugar its that rarest of beasts: a baseball tale that does not hinge on home runs and top-of-the-ninth heroics. For all that, this remains a powerful tale of grace under fire; of triumph in the face of a wider, institutionalised adversity.
Santos is respectful and hard-working, and exploited top to tail. At one stage, the camera trails him as he wanders out of his hotel room and becomes lost in a garish, neon-bright America of bowling alleys and video arcades. His field of dreams looks a lot like purgatory.
Can everyone please text FIRM followed by the letter B, followed by your name to 53307 to win me the Herald AM competition for tickets to the advance screening of a new sports-rlated film cheers lads