Grand Designs

Any of ye ever watch this program? It used to be good and gave me ideas etc as regards what i’d like in my own house, but jesus your man McCloud the host is some toff… He’s too much of a pompous so and so for my liking. Needless to say, i refuse to watch this show.

I think I watch way too much television but then Dunph mentions a show like this one that I’ve never heard of and it reassures me completely.

I’ve seen plenty of Grand Designs. When I first saw it I thought it was quite good - decent projects and plenty of ambition about them. But then it got very repetititve and it’s the same comments from Kevin every time.

Decent episode with the church in Galway or Mayo or wherever it is though.

Never heard of the show. What it probably needs is a former 98fm dj who has a thing for spuds, steak and howth to spice it up.

Reminds me - another week gone and I’m still no closer to uploading an On the Menu montage.

A classic grand designs on earlier. Your man building infairness wouldn’t be drawn in a budget or timeline at the start. But he reckoned about 150k and 18 months or so would get the most of it done. 5 years and over £600k later and there were still rooms unfinished. McCloud the cunt then rocks in at the end and ridicules the design

He was right the metal bit between the two stone buildings looke like shit,he had a lovely stone cottage there and did fuck all with,it id say he lost his bollix on it must have cost 600k at least

It did look like a submarine hanger infairness but your man had just dropped every cent he had into it, and spent 5 years doing it.

The fuckers on the program are so delusional it’s unreal, why they can’t get a quantity surveyor in or something to give them a realistic budget at the start I don’t know

Great show in its day but its day has passed. Yer man Kevin did a good show where he lived in the slums in Bombay for a little while, an alright sort imo.

Caught the last 20 mins of the show last night. In fairness to Kevin he was right, he made bollox of it with the big metal bit in between. Nothing wrong with something modern linking the buildings but what he put in was far too imposing and dull. What part of the country was the property in?

You have to hand it to the Brits they have a wonderful stock of older houses. I used to visit the South West and the Cotswolds very frequently and there are some lovely villages in that part of the country.

Cotswolds is class. Stayed in a town called Broadway once, like something out of a fairy tale.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3226633/Grand-Designs-biggest-house-New-series-features-vast-project-lounge-big-four-fire-engines-five-metre-COUCH.html House recently featured on grand designs is being used in adverts for virgin media featuring ryan reynolds. http://www.tvadvertsuk.com/mobile-and-tech/bt-broadband-tv-advert-with-bt-infinity-fast-just-got-faster-life-moves-pretty-fast-when-your-ryan-reynolds-whos-the-girl-that-slapped-me-its-quite-possible-shes-with-me-featuring-rya/

Did you stay here during cheltenham?

Ya, but only because it was free accommodation.

Some wealth around the cotswolds

Unreal

YOu wouldn’t recommend?

It’s not too bad, but personally would rather stay in the town. Broadway was about 45 mins in a taxi from the course. About £40

If you were staying there you’d be as well off to go straight to broadway after the racing and drink a few pints there. Drinking in Cheltenham and getting a taxi back at the end of the night didn’t work very well

I’m heading over with 24 on a bus so staying in the town isn’t an option.