Grand National

Can some of the horsey set please put up a few tips for tomorrow’s blue riband of the jump racing season so I don’t have to go and stick a pin somehwere in the list?

It’s the one time a year I have a bet, in fact it’s the only race I look at all year. I particularly love the post-race interviews in the weighing room where the viewer is given an insight into the banter and camaraderie amongst the jockeys.

It won’t be quite the same this year with the race on Channel 4 rather than the Beeb but I’m comforted by the knowledge that the superb Claire Balding will still be fronting the TV coverge.

The Gold Cup is the Blue Riband of jump racing you ignoramus.
The National is a novelty joke race.
Close your eyes and stick a pin in the list of runners, that’s about as scientific a way as any for betting the National.

Look out for the one with the nicest coat in the parade ring

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 755504, member: 1503”]The Gold Cup is the Blue Riband of jump racing you ignoramus.
The Grand National is the blue riband, mate.

Yeah, and the Cesarewitch is the Blue Riband of flat racing.
Fuxake.
Do the top chasers race in the National? No, thought not.

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 755509, member: 1503”]Yeah, and the Cesarewitch is the Blue Riband of flat racing.
Fuxake.
Do the top chasers race in the National? No, thought not.[/quote]
Yes they do. It’s the horse racing equivalent of the Champions League Final and the World Cup rolled into one. That’s why it’s the one day a year where the wider public are actually interested in horse racing.

Lads, could somebody stop off on the way home and buy Sidney a clue.

The grand national is the greatest race in the world

It’s barely in the top ten.

This bitter imposter really showing his ignorance here, Im sure he is someone who delights in seeing a horse in need of basic medical attention have has brains blown accross a racecourse by the owners because he sustained an injury and hence caused this degenerate’s dirty 20 euro bet be flushed doen the toilet.
Everyone who is au fait with the game knows that since it was first run in 1839 The Grand National is the greatest horse race in the world. The tradition will continue tomorrow in the time honoured fashion as 40 of the greatest horses in the world compete at Aintree racecourse for the crown of Grand National Champion.
Its good to see decent , knowledgable horse folk like Sid, julio and FenwayPark are out in force in this thread as opposed to scum lilke you and Mac.
Hopefully we will see some insightful interviews tomorrow from wonderful articulate folk like Barry Geraghty, Nina Carbury and that glorified simpleton , former Grand National hero Robert “puppy” power, even Chemical Nicky Henderson has a chance a glory, what a day it promises to be

Im torn by this

Its the greatest race in the world and the only race norms would be into yet its cruel to the animals

good one mate

its by far the best

i wonder will the horsey set prove their worth and post up the winner or will they be shown to be spoofers

Kick his ass, seabass

Admins, to celebrate FenwayPark’s return can we grant this thread official status and make it a sticky for the next 24 hours?

go way ta fuck. Only for once-in-a-year lame-brains like Mickee and TASE, who take a break from bulldozing schoolrooms of innocent Palestinian childers and blowing kangaroos respectively, to watch it.
For anyone else with even a partially functioning brain and the mildest of interest in racing the Blue Riband of jumps racing is the Gold Cup. It is the race that crowns the champion jump horse. It is level weights, over the championship distance of 3m2f, over proper chasing fences.
The National on the other hand is a fucking handicap, so not level weights, where half the horses are glorified hunter chasers, over unusual fences at an unusual distance, with loose horses running every place causing havoc. It is often won by some joke of a horse you’ve never heard of before. It is a lottery for quadrupeds.

It may be fun to watch, but it is not the blue riband of any kind of racing. The fact that most of the great chasers over the years never ran in the National might be a fucking tip-off,

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 755771, member: 1503”]go way ta fuck. Only for once-in-a-year lame-brains like Mickee and TASE, who take a break from bulldozing schoolrooms of innocent Palestinian childers and blowing kangaroos respectively, to watch it.
For anyone else with even a partially functioning brain and the mildest of interest in racing the Blue Riband of jumps racing is the Gold Cup. It is the race that crowns the champion jump horse. It is level weights, over the championship distance of 3m2f, over proper chasing fences.
The National on the other hand is a fucking handicap, so not level weights, where half the horses are glorified hunter chasers, over unusual fences at an unusual distance, with loose horses running every place causing havoc. It is often won by some joke of a horse you’ve never heard of before. It is a lottery for quadrupeds.

It may be fun to watch, but it is not the blue riband of any kind of racing. The fact that most of the great chasers over the years never ran in the National might be a fucking tip-off,[/quote]

get a grip you nutcase

the one race known over the world that stops Ireland and England vs a race in Cheltenham appreciated by down and out bookmaker barnacles and by fuck all else

[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 755774, member: 80”]get a grip you nutcase

the one race known over the world that stops Ireland and England vs a race in Cheltenham appreciated by down and out bookmaker barnacles and by fuck all else[/quote]

Most people, that aren’t mildy retarded that is, can make the distinction between most well-known/popular and the greatest. To use your brand of logic, Bud Light and Heino must be the greatest beers in the world.

Bad analogy, Guinness is the best known drink in the world and the greatest

Da Dali Lama has been badly exposed here.

Any tips lads?