Great Limerick Run

Anyone know how these runs operate as a business? I’ve had dealings with one lad involved in the Limerick run and he was one of the greatest cunts I’ve ever met. Looking at the marketing blurb you would think all the money goes to charity but I’d say none of it does. Sponsored by a private hospital so they are probably paying for the privilege too. Charity partners are encouraged to fundraise as part of the run but do they get a cut of the money? Some boys are creaming it off the city while paying for fuck all.

It’s a private operation. I believe one of the city councillors is a director on the company running it.
Wouldn’t have any major issue with it. It’s a big enough event to organise and brings a lot of money to the city, but could definitely be more transparent.

what a twee little thread

A quick company search would have told you who owned it:
http://www.solocheck.ie/Irish-Company/Great-Limerick-Run-Limited-406149

I’d imagine they’re making a new few quid out of it.

A quick perusal of that link would have told you that company is dissolved since 2014

Tae in a mug for me there

It’s some setup alright. Two or three fellas, one of which may have been a former city councillor, taking home the proceeds of this wonderful event. 25-50 quid gimps are paying these lads for the pleasure of running around a public space and they get a tee shirt and a lucky bag of shite worth 50 cent. A legion of volunteer eejits do all the work on the day while the council clean up the rubbish afterwards. I couldn’t give a fuck but only the impression given that it’s worth anything to limerick city or the charities.

Pal, people pay 50 quid plus to enter.
The t shirt this year was the worst fitting made in a shitty factory piece of shit I ever got. Three of us got the large (I go the medium last year and found it snug and I’m the lightest I’ve ever been) and not one of us will ever wear the shirt as it didn’t actually go down our arms enough. I’m giving it to the Mrs to use as a duster when she’s cleaning around the house, and I don’t even think it would be good enough for that. From what I can see, everything is sponsored, so I don’t know what costs they have. There must be 50-60k per year in registration fees; fire in sponsorship and probably a few grants and what not.

Not at all . There is a caustic cynicism informing the thread . You are overusing the word “twee” at this juncture selfie .

Limerick is a tremendous sporting city

They should re-name it the Great Wogan Run

If nearly 10000 were in the race surely the registration fees are between 250k and 500k?

It was 13,000 at €20 a head. €260k plus €50k from Barringtons. The lad on the microphone did my nut in. Sporting Limerick, Ireland’s greatest City. Any chance you’d fcuk off mate. We haven’t won an all Ireland in 44 years, we are shit at Gaelic football, middling at footie and relatively decent at egg chasing. If they are talking about sulky racing we are in a league of our own.

Limerick is the sporting capital of Ireland

Focus Events Ltd, formerly known as Sporting Limerick Run Ltd, is probably the ones you want to be looking at.

Same crowd really - Cleary, Leddin, O’Sullivan.

My maths are fucking awful.

Could this explain why you ran the early part of last weekend’s marathon too quickly?

You’d walk into a job in the IFSC no bother

get a job in risk in BOI

“running too quickly” is something @Bandage will never have to worry about :joy: