Great quotes

“[font=Arial][size=3]Ancestors, I ask you for your guidance. Blessed mother, come to me with the Gods’ desire for my future. Blessed father, watch over my wife and son with a ready sword. Whisper to them that I live only to hold them again, for all else is dust and air. Ancestors, I honour you and will try to live with the dignity that you have taught me. [/size][/font]”

“Hard pressed on my right. My center is yielding. Impossible to maneuver. Situation excellent. I attack.” - General Foch, Battle of the Marne.

Andre Pirlo on taking the first penalty v France in 2006 World Cup Final

“Caressing the ball was something I had to do. I lifted my eyes to the heavens and asked for help because if God exists, there’s no way he’s French.”

“If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance, just baffle them with bullshit”

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1047311, member: 332”]Andre Pirlo on taking the first penalty v France in 2006 World Cup Final

“Caressing the ball was something I had to do. I lifted my eyes to the heavens and asked for help because if God exists, there’s no way he’s French.”[/QUOTE]
Reading that chapter at the moment actually, excellent line :smiley:

“You know what the fellow said – in Italy, for thirty years under the [U]Borgias[/U][/URL], they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced [URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/wiki/Michelangelo’][U]Michelangelo[/U][/URL], [URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/wiki/Leonardo_da_Vinci’][U]Leonardo da Vinci[/U][/URL] and the [URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/wiki/Renaissance’][U]Renaissance[/U][/URL]. In [URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/wiki/Switzerland’][U]Switzerland[/U][/URL], they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace – and what did that produce? The [URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/wiki/Cuckoo_clock’][U]cuckoo clock[/U].” - Harry Lime

“Moderation, we find, is an extremely difficult thing to get in this country.”
― [U]Flann O’Brien[/U][/URL], [I][URL=‘http://www.thefreekick.com/work/quotes/58063’][U]The Best of Myles[/U][/I]

I’m in the out-patients section yesterday with herself. Patients move to and fro, but with wheelchairs it isn’t always guaranteed you move together.
So I’m beside this old boy, a grand oul’ skin while Nanny is in front of me. I notice his hand is trembling a tad but let it pass.
Boxty: You’re in good form Sir, what ails you?
Patient: I dunno, the daughter sent me in, I gets the shakes in me hand. I’m 80, there’s something wrong.
Boxty: Where are you from Sir and what’s your name?
Patient: I’m a Parkinson from Stradbally originally, now living in Johnstown…

True…

“You breathe a word of this to anyone, you mincing fucking CUNT, and I will tear your fuckin’ skin off, I will wear it to your mother’s birthday party and I will rub your nuts up and down her leg whilst whistling Bohemian fuckin’ Rhapsody, right? Now get out of my fucking sight!”

Malcolm Tucker

Dreadful, available from any movie of the modern era. Raw, vulgar and nonsensical.
Could you justify your claim…

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1048029, member: 246”]I’m in the out-patients section yesterday with herself. Patients move to and fro, but with wheelchairs it isn’t always guaranteed you move together.
So I’m beside this old boy, a grand oul’ skin while Nanny is in front of me. I notice his hand is trembling a tad but let it pass.
Boxty: You’re in good form Sir, what ails you?
Patient: I dunno, the daughter sent me in, I gets the shakes in me hand. I’m 80, there’s something wrong.
Boxty: Where are you from Sir and what’s your name?
Patient: I’m a Parkinson from Stradbally originally, now living in Johnstown…

True…[/QUOTE]

Real people…real quotes…

A grand oul’ skin. A Parkinson from Laois with a shake in the “lambh”…
Of course the dialogue developed, he was unsure/vague/dismissive about Wooly…
But at 80 he was sure of 2 things, having survived in Johnstown for 40 years…

i). J J Delaney was the best ever hurler from Johnstown.

ii). Ger Henderson replicated all he sought in Kilkenny hurlers…Brave, Skillful and Hardy…

The skillful lads came after, sez he, the likes of Carey/Carter/Brennan…

“Book somewhere where they know absolutely nothing about hurling, somewhere like Thailand or Tipperary”

Ger Loughnane on where should go on holidays after winning the 1995 A/I:pint: :clap:

“I am not big in size or talent. But at that moment, I thought of my mother who loves me”

• Boubacar Barry on what went through his mind as he stood up to take the final penalty in Sunday’s shoot out.

Don’t stop, never give up, hold your head high, reach the top and let the world see what you have got

Don’t stop gotta keep moving
Your hopes have gotta keep building
Never ever forget that
I’ve got you and you’ve got me

You’re better than this Fran

No, this is around about my level Mac

“the jets and the giants dont trade playbooks, they know bill Belichick will steal them both”

"I contend that we are the first race in the world, and that the more of the world we inhabit the better it is for the human race…If there be a God, I think that what he would like me to do is paint as much of the map of Africa British Red as possible…

Cecil J Rhodes PC

“Everything I touch turns to sold”

Stuart Baggs (RIP)