Greatest Number One Singles

Bon Jovi - livin on a prayer

But I see it only ever got to number 4 in the Irish and uk charts!

The Levi’s ad songs going to Number one in the charts from 1987 to 1995 was a wonderful cultural phenomenon of classic songs being rediscovered that ended with this new song

1985 Laundrette Nick Kamen “I heard it through the grapevine” by Marvin Gaye (1968)
1986 Bathtub James Mardle “Wonderful World” by Tony Jackson
1987 Parting “When a man loves am woman” by Percy Sledge (1966)
1987 My Girl Julian McMahon “My Girl” by The Temptations
1988 Entrance “Stand by me” by Ben E. King (1961)
1988 Cochran “C´mon everybody” by Eddie Cochran (1958)
1988 Refrigerator “Mannish Boy” by Muddy Waters (1955)
1988 Jamie Walters
1989 Pawnbroker “Ain´t nobody home” by B.B. King
1989 Pick-Up Dan Gauthier “Be My Baby” by The Ronettes (1963)
1990 Beach “Can´t get enough of your love” by Bad Company (Original 1974 by Barry White)
1990 Camera Brad Pitt “20th Century Boy” by Marc Boland & T. Rex (1973)
1990 Great Deal “The Joker” by the Steve Miller Band (1973)
1991 Pool Hall “Shoud I Stay or Shoud I Go” by The Clash (1982)
1992 Swimmer “Mad About the Boy” by Dinah Washington (1961)
1993 Campfire “Ring Of Fire” by Johnny Cash
1993 Procession “Heartattack and vine” by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins

Boombastic by Shaggy also got to number one off the back of a Levis ad. Number one for one week, in the chart announced the day Dublin beat Tyrone in the 1995 All-Ireland final.

Charts were plagued with cynical money making shite around that time. Robson and Jerome would rock up at number one for ten weeks or so with some maudlin dirge bought by people in their 40s and 50s.

Jive Bunny was another awful offender.

Then you had Wet Wet Wet and Bryan Adams commandeering the number one spot for 16 weeks in a row. Go and fuck.

Given how shot that top 100 is im surprised that the travesty that is joe dolce didnt make the list

Nah its absolute shite. Beyonce is the most overrated woman ever, as a singer and as a piece of ass.

I remember when this came straight in at number 1 back in 1996. Record numbers of complaints into TOTP apparently afterwards.

I have a recollection that the presenter on Top of the Pops introduced it by saying something like “Mum and Dad, this is what your kids are listening to” (in a sort of tongue in cheek, winking way, not a Mary Whitehouse way).

Firestarter ticks a hell of a lot of boxes for a great number one single.

This one qualifies for a completely obscure tune from an unknown artists who again came straight in at number one.

I remember getting ready for a school disco when hearing this was number one.

The red tops the next day were running stories about an overweight recluse was behind it.

Oh - and it’s a terrific tune.

White Town - Your Woman

The last number one I recall being on Top of the Pops after which, let’s face it, number ones ended.

And a masterpiece it is too.

Gnarls Barkley - Crazy

Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie” was the last Top Of The Pops number one.

Not a bad way to go out.

Naughty Girl was a better single than Crazy In Love. “Lose My Breath” by Destiny’s Child is also better.

This list is history unfolding.

There were about two weeks around the end of August/beginning of September 1963 where The Beatles released “She Loves You”, Martin Luther King said “I Have A Dream” and George Best made his debut for Manchester United. Those two weeks were when the 1960s began.

DATE TITLE ARTIST WKS AT NO.1
03/01/1963 THE NEXT TIME/BACHELOR BOY CLIFF RICHARD & THE SHADOWS 3
24/01/1963 DANCE ON! SHADOWS 1
31/01/1963 DIAMONDS JET HARRIS & TONY MEEHAN 3
21/02/1963 THE WAYWARD WIND FRANK IFIELD 3
14/03/1963 SUMMER HOLIDAY CLIFF RICHARD & THE SHADOWS 2
29/03/1963 FOOT TAPPER SHADOWS 1
04/04/1963 SUMMER HOLIDAY CLIFF RICHARD & THE SHADOWS 1
11/04/1963 HOW DO YOU DO IT? GERRY & THE PACEMAKERS 3
02/05/1963 FROM ME TO YOU BEATLES 7
20/06/1963 I LIKE IT GERRY & THE PACEMAKERS 4
18/07/1963 CONFESSIN’ (THAT I LOVE YOU) FRANK IFIELD 2
01/08/1963 (YOU’RE THE) DEVIL IN DISGUISE ELVIS PRESLEY WITH THE JORDANAIRES 1
08/08/1963 SWEETS FOR MY SWEET SEARCHERS 2
22/08/1963 BAD TO ME BILLY J. KRAMER & THE DAKOTAS 3
12/09/1963 SHE LOVES YOU BEATLES 4
10/10/1963 DO YOU LOVE ME BRIAN POOLE & THE TREMELOES 3
31/10/1963 YOU’LL NEVER WALK ALONE GERRY & THE PACEMAKERS 4
28/11/1963 SHE LOVES YOU BEATLES 2
12/12/1963 I WANT TO HOLD YOUR HAND BEATLES 5

Sandie Shaw was Morrissey’s favourite singer but that can hardly be held against her.

22/10/1964 (THERE’S) ALWAYS SOMETHING THERE TO REMIND ME SANDIE SHAW 3

This cracker was number one for a few weeks back around April 1995.

Take That - Back for Good

Then these lads who were massive after their debut album and released this single which went straight in at number one knocking off Take That. I’m not their biggest fans but there is something electric in this performance in terms of sheer volume and the cocky stride of the lead singer with his Joe Royle style Umbro jacket. Chris Evans introducing them too. What a time.

I was having a look for lists of good consecutive number ones (three or more) and I had an eye on that run:

08/04/1995 BACK FOR GOOD TAKE THAT 4
06/05/1995 SOME MIGHT SAY OASIS 1
13/05/1995 DREAMER LIVIN’ JOY 1

What knocked Everything I Do by Bryan Adams off number one?

I think it was The Fly by U2.

And Whigfield’s Saturday Night knocked off Love is All Around by Wet Wet Wet.

I think.

Saturday Night by Whigfield is a smashing number one single which still holds up.

I like this run of consecutive number ones here. Good mix to it too.

17/07/1982 FAME IRENE CARA 3
07/08/1982 COME ON EILEEN DEXY’S MIDNIGHT RUNNERS WITH THE EMERALD EXPRESS 4
04/09/1982 EYE OF THE TIGER SURVIVOR 4
02/10/1982 PASS THE DUTCHIE MUSICAL YOUTH 3
23/10/1982 DO YOU REALLY WANT TO HURT ME CULTURE CLUB 3

Boom!

A great record

I think this is a great number one. It’s basically a novelty song, but it carries a dark profundity. I associate it strongly with the early Troubles, and the time of the early Troubles, not just because it was used as a heartless chant at people who had lost loved ones, but because something about it just seems to sum up the time, the sort of pictures you’d see of 1971 in programmes like “Provos” by Peter Taylor. The “Where’s Your Mama Gone” bit has something insanely up front an catchy about it.

And it got the ultimate tribute to a pop song, by becoming a football chant.

19/06/1971 CHIRPY CHIRPY CHEEP CHEEP MIDDLE OF THE ROAD 5