Twas a great race Dunph - savage time for a bitch as well. I let the heart rule the head to a degree and backed the Enniscorthy dog on its own and without 4&6 @ 2/1. The second one came up. I havenāt been following dogs since last years derby and never even knew Michael Frayne was training dogs but fair play to him - some achievement for a 21 year old trainer to get a bitch into the Oaks final. Iād say weāll be seeing a lot more of him. The breeding in that bitch was solid and Johnny Kavanagh rarely deals with shite (Hangblaa might contradict me on this one).
Was down for the night till the last race. It was then Barney Curleys brother was pointed out to me by a fellow man of the leash. He had a sizable sum on the 6 dog which cut his price with Yvonne Barry from 5/2 to 2/1 and then 7/4 while everyone else stood him at 5/2. Took one of the Hegartys for a decent sum at 5/2 and then had a cut off the 5 dog at 5/2 without the 4&6 dogs (again) - fooking savage result!!!
Tyrur Giovanni ran a great race in the last which might go un-noticed after a few poor results but Iād expect him to win next time out if the race is as bad as tonight.
Youāll probably be able to buy Derby tickets in Mecca if you attend some of the earlier heats. A man of your stature will have no problems getting in.
Great to see Mac falling in love with the dogs again. Looking at the results i see there were a fair few upsets there tonight, with two 10/1 winners and an 8/1 winner to name three. Tyrur Big Mike got the better of Fatboyz Tyson in an Open 550. These two have had some mighty buckles the last few weeks. Iām a big fan of Tyson though and can see myself probably putting him towards the top of my Ante-post Derby portfolio,ā¦
Not even the crusties would stop me Dunph. Iād know a few lads in the Fatboyz syndicate and they were disappointed with the runners tonight - Tyson and Nodrog ran below par according to them. Some crowd of them up tonight! Iāve never seen 2 10/1 winners on a dogs card in my lifetime. Its rare enough the lads even let the odds go that far but there was a few collecting after both wins so Iād presume there was some money for them. The first and second rounds of the derby heats are where the antepost money is made. Not that far away now - always a sign that the summer is coming to an end when it starts up but the quarter and semi finals last year were 2 of the best nights backing dogs I ever had. Never mind your summer jamboree, thereās proper craic to be had in the shadow of the new lansdowne.
Did you not see him on the Frontline? He was on Primetime as well. In both cases he reeled off a few lines he had practiced in advance. Seemed to be looking forward to picking up his cheque afterwardsā¦
Minister for the Environment John Gormley has accused sections of the pro-hunting lobby of āmalicious behaviourā.
His comments come after an egg was put in the Ministerās car while he was on a visit to Borris in Co Carlow.
The Minister was met by a group of around 50 protestors, many of whom were from the Rural Ireland Says Enough.
Advertisement
He was jeered by some of the protestors.
Minister Gormley spoke to some of the protestors on his way into the official opening of a library and accused some of them of being disingenuous in the arguments they were making.
The Minister said it is āwrongā for the protestors to suggest that he is planning on getting rid of shooting or angling.
āThey know itās wrong,ā he said, adding that he wanted to ask them to stop misrepresenting the arguments and to stop āmalicious behaviourā.
Afterwards, he said eggs had been thrown at his car and one egg had been put in the car, which he described as āunacceptable behaviourā.
Reporters at the scene did not see any eggs being thrown at the car but one egg was put into the car but it was not broken.
The egg was still in the car beside the handbrake as the Minister was driven off.
Fantastic Oaks final, didnt make it up as had a function to attend, but have watched the video a few time. I have consistently stated āDalscashā all teh way on this thread. A fantastic litter and fair play to Fr. Jack Meade and co⦠she is a cracker.
Its a funny time to be backing Open dogs on a saturday night in SPK, as they are all at different stages in Derby prep. I can relay though that the TREC was smashed in an un-offical in Dundalk by a dog who prop wont get into the Internationa but will be a moral when he runs in HQ over the next couple of weeks⦠I will keep ye in the loop if it is happening.
Things wtill going well down in Clonmel, but a cunt of a draw for the final. Was happy with the price agian saturday night and had a tasty monkey to two and half with Teddy.
Toomaline Jack tore a gracilis muscle at Wimbledon last night and his racing career is now over. His rival from over a month ago in the English Derby final meanwhile, Lyreen Mover, has failed a drug test. Itās mad how their stars have fallen in just two months since they were making such big headlines in the early stages of the Derby, both making it through to the final unbeatenā¦
Ya, Lowry said Paul Curran had assured him early in the week that greyhounds would be exmpt from the bill, but Gormless was still denying that up until today.
Very true Dunph. These cunts will be out for revenge after their embarrassment today. I really think itās a disgrace the way the Ward Union were ganged up on by these creeps. Noel Meade is heartbroken over it, Iām sure the Carberrys, Robert Power and Jesse Harrington are pretty glum aswell. I suppose thereās no chance itāll ever be repealed now.