Greyhounds Matters 🐐 - Supporting Rural Ireland

Sounds like a good night, HangBlaa. I see St Louis Spirit was turned over in the Open 525 at 5/4 favourite…

You’d a nice winner in Clonmel. :clap:

Yeah, I backed StLoius at 7/4 and he was hammered after… missed the break comepletely, and Faypoint just held on…

Yeah, he ran a blinder last night in Clonmel, loosing 2 or 3 lengths in running, and still posting the clock. Same box again next week so happy enough. Should have went down though to back him at 5/2 or sent money down, presumed he would be evens at best.

I see the coursing fixtures for the new season have been published with the first coursing meeting being scheduled for the weekend of September 25/26. As far as Limerick is concerned, we have Glin first followed by Limerick City, then Doon and presumably Galbally after that. I don’t know if i’ve left something out there. I’ll be making a bigger effort myself this year and would hope to take in at least 2-3 meetings in advance of the National Meeting in Clonmel in February…

Ah marvellous Dunph, that’s cheered me up no end, we’ll have to have a TFK Supporters Meeting in Glin I think, I only go to the prestigious affairs though I might condescend to Liscannor if it coincides with the batchelor festival, I’ve decided to take a wife this year.

Will we shake hands on Glin so this year? I’m sure ā€˜Paddy’ will be in action in the all aged.

What about our bred in the purple over aged dog?

Glin it is so. I’ll root out the exact date tomorrow after having another look through the Sporting Press.

The greyhound action will be coming thick and fast now. Before we know it we’ll have the Irish Derby, Glin, the Laurels, the St. Leger in the new Limerick stadium and last but not least Clonmel.

I’m looking forward to MAD and HangBlaas previews for the new coursing season, whenever we’ll get them. <_<

Probably a bit late to be buying something now for this season. We should have gone ahead with it back in February/March when the idea came up…

Will you be at the Oaks Saturday night Dunph? I haven’t been at HQ for ages so I think I’ll make it. Last year there was a tremendous ruck when a load of pikies started fighting with the Gardai. Best night ever at the dogs. The Coursing Bred stake will be a cracker too if they can get those giraffes into the boxes. All in all the best night of the year at the track.

Unfortunately i won’t be there SS** even though i would very much like to. I’ll be at HQ for the third round, quarter finals and final of the Derby all going well. Was it on Oaks night last year when all that commotion took place?

Aye Oaks night, the chief of security in Mecca was off apparently and those nuts go in. I’m sure we’ll be reading about it in the Herald before too long.

Great news on the fixtures, and I can start planning my campaign now. This year going to be my biggest ever involvements, with 3 pups and an all age dog to bring to slips.

It will September before the previews are written, and the All Age campaigners are known. All going well and we get a good drop of rain in September, I will be going to slips in Liscannor first up, and might just make a weekend of it.

Semi-final of the coursing stake for Saturday are being run tomorrow night… Catunda Ashmore is teh one they all have to beat.

Dunph… Where did you see he fixtures for next year ??

On page 14 of the Sporting Press. I trust you bought last weeks edition, HangBlaa???

Licannor first up - Sat/Sun of the 25th & 26th September…

Would i be mad to buy a 7 month old sapling in the current climate (i know HangBlaa will say i’m not)? I could be waiting until this time next year before he hits the track…

http://www.greyhound-data.com/buydogs.htm?land=ie&x=1&g=both

Good luck getting four and a half grand for Tyrur Friday, a Jan 08 dog yet to break 29seconds…

Certainly not dunph… but it all depands on Breeding, Price and rearing to date, at that point I could pass judgement on your sanity.

Good luck getting four and a half grand for Tyrur Friday, a Jan 08 dog yet to break 29seconds…

Imelda is selling a heap of dogs for him at the minute. Ring and offer 800 for Friday, you might get 1200 for him then in the Limerick sales.

Dalcsah for the Oaks !!

Air Force Solo was picking up money last night in HQ, ragin I didnt head up.

I’d be delighted if Dalcash won the Oaks, it will be a great contest. I will get back to you on the saplings at a later date after researching it a bit more…

Dunph, I might be going to Mecca on Saturday night - anything for me to send Ted, Tadgh and the other Hegarty to the poor house?

Just seeing this now Mac, probably a bit late to give you anything as you’re probably there as we speak! You picked a good night to go with the final of the Oaks on and it a potential cracker.

I’ve a question to pose to the rest of ye men of the leash - for Derby final night on September 11th would you want to be booking tickets in advance and if so where? Presumably it’ll be a ticket affair and you couldn’t pay on the door going in like the other nights…

I’m thrilled that Dalcash Dvinsky won the Oaks tonight. I have been following her progress closely since her debut and knew watching her in the first round of the Produce Stakes that she was a bitch with incredible potential. A smashing time too in 28.41. She has now won seven races in a row. :clap: