Shocking stuff alright. I see Fastaway King is going up there for it. I saw him winning impressively in Limerick one night in a decent time after meeting all kinds of traffic problems. It remains to be seen if he is progressive enough to trouble other dogs in this stake. This Farloe Force looks a good one and what a team of dogs McKenna has at his disposal now.
Who won the Comerford Cakes last year? I seem to remember it being a great stake with the likes of Makeshift and Tyrur Big Mike involvedā¦
I see they are advertising for a few control stewards in the Sporting Press for the likes of Thurles, Tralee and Clonmel etc. I wonder what would be the sort of criteria/level of experience required for this position? Is it Aidan Supple is the control steward in Limerick?
What a thoroughly enjoyable night was had at Limerick tonight. I was impressed with heat winners Monlesa Alsation, Confident Nestor, Colorful Champ, Westmead Bond and Beaming Dilemma. I was most impressed with Monlesa Alsation who ran a stormer despite reports he was doubtful to run during the week. The two Farley dogs were very disappointing for me. Foolishly, i backed Turbo at 5/2 which with hindsight was foolhardy given how bad his brother ran earlier in the night. I also backed Westmead Bolt at 2/1 but he left his chance of winning at the start. I backed Confident Nestor at 2/1 which was a gift and paid for the rest of the night. I had him an even money shot in my book.
On the bookmaking front, i must give huge credit to Tom Carey tonight who is the only one in there with a pair of balls. For example in the Colorful Champ race, Dinny Gould opened the Champ at evens before pushing him out to 6/4 after glancing at his neighbours boards. He had Farley Blitz at 1/2. Carey opened the Champ at 7/4 and quickly rubbed it out and went 2/1 despite everyone else being 6/4. He also went 4/6 Blitz wheras most of the others wouldnāt budge from 1/2. I was impressed with Carey all night and will make a point of taking my business to him wherever possible in future. There was a somewhat farcical situation with the bookies before the 7th heat containing big names like Dromore Dazzler, Thurlesbeg Joker and Skywalker Queen. They all seemed unwilling to price it up and eventually did so as the dogs were being put in traps. Dinny Gould couldnāt seem to make up his mind. First he had Dromore Dazzler at 2/1 and the Joker 1/2 while leaving Skywalker Queen blank and the next thing then he throws Skywalker Queen in at 1/2 and changes the other dogs around. The Joker ended up evens on his board. Skywalker Queen 1/2? WTF? Thereās a young fella above the other end who i wonāt exempt from criticism and that is young OāDonoghue. He should take a good long hard look at himself. Tonight was one of the biggest nights of the year in there and with class dogs racing his book was close to 200% on many occasions. For example in one race i remember Tom Carey going 8/1, 8/1, 14/1 on three outsiders while the young fella below went 5/1, 5/1, 7/1 and was no better on the three fancied dogs. Thereās a few fellas in there who would want to cop the fuck on to themselves, if they canāt do a decent book on a night like the Leger 1st round then we may as well forget about it. I heard one man remark in the ring at one stage āJaysus, theyāre worse than everā. Credit where itās due to Tom Carey.
Huge crowd there tonight and plenty of fine bitches around. Iām hoping to be there again tomorrow night, and unlike tonight i hope to booze in thereā¦
18th of December i believe. Thatās a night not to be missed. There should be other great nights too such as the quarter-finals for example.
Iām sorry i didnāt back Dream Walker (33/1) and Tranquil Time (66/1) for earlier for outright success. I think they are both overpriced and are the types to run the track well and stay the 550 strong. There is nothing i have seen tonight to overly impress me. They might still be the same prices tomorrow and if they are i will be recommending 1pt win bets on both.
Race 3 ā¬61,000 Kerry Agri Business St Leger Round 2 Heat 1 08:15 Approx. (550 Yds. Flat) (Race Grade : A0)
Trap Greyhound * View Complete Race Form
Trap 1 BALLYHANNON
Trap 2 AIR FORCE HAWK
Trap 3 TURBO CHARGE
Trap 4 SLICK LEGEND
Trap 5 MOVEALONG TONY
Trap 6 WESTMEAD BOND
Race 4 ā¬61,000 Kerry Agri Business St Leger Round 2 Heat 2 08:30 Approx. (550 Yds. Flat) (Race Grade : A0)
Trap Greyhound * View Complete Race Form
Trap 1 OCEAN CRASH
Trap 2 BELLEWOOD PRINCE
Trap 3 SLIPPERY DAVE
Trap 4 SO THEY SAY
Trap 5 SANDS OF TIME
Trap 6 MUSTANG JOHNNY
Who will win the Leger? I have my own thoughts on this but would like to get a few other opinions. Have ye even been following the Leger?? Little if any talk on it so far, and it the sporting event of 2010. <_<
Yes, great dam lines, and in particular the Diva litter are super, Dvinksi is the best bitch i have seen for a long time.
I have temptresses full sister, and am selling bitches at the minute, depending on interest, this will be agret gauge of how bad things are at the moment, as 3 years ago I would have them sold in 24 hours.