Greyhounds Matters 🐐 - Supporting Rural Ireland

I’m saying nothing…

Miley, can you give us a low down on the weekends activities in Lisacnnor ?

I imagine the ground was fairly hard, and if it was anything like it is around here I wouldnt fancy sending a dog up, but anyway… how did it go?

I was only there on saturday, the dog we were following sustained an injury in the process of winning his first round buckle. The amount of byes in the second rounds of both trial stakes was huge too, the ground was the main contributor to this i’d say, the top of the field was like a rock, but there was a grand covering of grass on it. I saw black ashmore come off after his run up in the cup with worst dislocated toe i’ve ever seen, it was rotated 90 degrees at the socket!

The hares on the other hand were top drawer, its a credit to the club that they had them so well trained given the time constraints they were under. I can only remember about 3 uncoursed hares all day.

The weather was great, and the setting must be one of the best in the world, with the backdrop to the ocean behind it. There was a huge crowd there, circa 1k i heard mentioned and the beer tent was kept busy for the afternoon.

All in all a good start off to the year.

Glin Draw is up, Wallace Green is out early in the year in the desmond cup. Interesting entry in the all aged bitch stake.

Glin Draw

Derby Trial Stake
Reserves (in order): DALEROAD LEGEND: GOFORITPOLKA: CLUNE HYLAND: CITIZEN SOFTIE: SIXTYFIVELAND: REENROUR POINT
GALLYS BRIDGE
THANKS BIG JIM

GLANMORE MURTY
MOUNTAIN MOVER

BRISTOL STEVE
BRAZING SERPENT

ROADSTONE FLYER
LALLYS FRIEND

SCOTCH ALSTAR
QUERRIN TOORA

BOLGER
KIERANS CASTLE

BLACKBOY JACK
WIZARD HERO

DOONARD HECTOR
SHADOW BASIL

POTENTIAL FLYER
TEDDY KAY

CAPTAIN DRU
FORMCRIOR WALLY

WALLACE STAR
SONOWUKNOW

HENDON WAY
YOUGOIGO

SAVEMYBACON
CRAFTY TOGO

ALL THE DITCHES
CASTLEMARTYR LAD

I SAY SO
STIFF TEST

CHAPTER FIVE
BARRISTER

MARCH IS ON
BEAUTYS GERRY

SOUTHERN HOPE
KINGCORMAC LAD

CARLSBUSH MATT
PORTINARD

MATTS JET
MELODYS BEST

MUCKY EAMONN
SILENT TURBO

ALRIGHT BEX
CHELSEA HARBOUR

SHANNONVALE MATT
SULLANE HYLAND

BARRACK DAN
ANTIQUE PINE

WISE TOD
TOMMYS TEQUILA

MILLABBEY EOIN
AUDIENCE PLANT

BLOODANDBANDAGE
TARMONS HYLAND

RATHMORE PINES
CHAPTERANDVERSE

PLUS ONE
KILPEACON ACE

A NOBLE ONE
FAITHLEGG MATT

DERHEEN RUN
TULLIG GUEST

MELODY MIST
I SAW SOMETHING

Reserve Oaks Trial Stake
Reserves (in order): JUMBOS DELIGHT: KEEPER LADY
FIONNTRA HOLLY
TRIONAS DELIGHT

COOGA JESS
ROSIEJOSIE

WHITE ELLEN
SHANAVULIN FLAG

KNOCKNABOHA FOG
FLOW ON PENNY

RUNAWAY DOLL
TINY THORN

BALLYBRACK HEIDI
DINGLE BAY

NICOLAS BABE
ROOSKA VIEW

ZINEB
COLUMBIAN KATE

All-Aged Bitch Stake
Reserves (in order): MAKE THE TURN: GEORGE BUNRATTY
KILLINANE SMOKEY
DIXIE DARLIN

JUMBOS HANNAH
STARTFROMSCRATCH

SHES FLOWN
CARRIGMORE PRIDE

BALLYBRACK VIEW
SHANNONVALE INN

ABBEYGLEN JUDY
COMOGUE SKY

ANGELICAL GIRL
CUCHULLAIN DOTE

KILBREEDY SONIA
MAUGHERA TIMES

PARTY BLONDE
SANDY EABHA

Glin Derby Duffer Stake
Reserves (in order): SOLID BABEL: ELITE STATE: DROOPYS TAYLOR
FLYAWAY MOSSIE
TURRAREE VISTA

BRAVO OSCAR
KELLERMAN

A LOCAL CROSS
OFFSHORE MUSIC

BLUE BABOON
BEXHILL NOEL

STORMY YEATS
SOLID CONTROL

MONROE PEARTREE
BEXHILL ALAN

DOOMORE DIVINE
KILREE BRUNO

TASSAS TAYLOR
SOMETHING OLD

Glin Oaks Duffer Stake

NORMAS CHOICE
FLOATING SPIRIT

MUSIC IS SPECIAL
GLIN VIEW VISTA

GRETCHEN
YANKIE VISTA

KYNARD BOND
KILREE LEE

WONT HAPPEN BOY
MAKAYLAS PRIDE

TUDOR QUEEN
SOLID NORA

YOUVE CHANGED
GLIN VIEW BITLE

FAIRY DUBH

Desmond Cup
Reserves (in order): BEST MASTER: PAQUIRO: HOMESTEAD KERRY: STAR FROM DOWN
CARLSBUSH LEO
ANOTHER SESSION

BALLYDORGAN HERO
GOODDAY MICK

BRED IN MAYO
BEXHILL BOLT

LEITH LEGEND
WHITESTONE ROCK

WALLACE GREEN
SCOTCH ACTION

BRISTOL TEVEZ
DA FUGITIVE

SHANDRUM BAR
CARRIGMORE HEART

STOP PUSHING
ATLANTIC STYLE

GLANMORE GAR
BEXHILL BRIAN

KILLACOLLA BLUE
TOO MANY INDIANS

MAYOR DURKAN
SHADOW MIKES

FLOATING RAIN
MUSIC BAR

GURRAUN SMOKEY
A NOBLE MAN

KING EOIN
HARADSUN

MOAT MATTY
SHINES GANG

KICK ME DALY
SPORTING RIO

:eek: :eek: :eek:

thought that might get your attention, how’re you fixed for catching at the top of the field?

I thought ye were only slagging when ye said that last night?
Her lightening pace away from slips will see her take the coursing world by storm.

Go Wild Teddy eh? I’d say the old coursing gentry of Glin sitting in their hallowed halls tut tutted into their brandy glasses when they saw the Australian track breeding of that entry come in. :guns:

Dunph, after reading one copy of the Sporting Press you should be able to make a few pertinent jokes on the topic at hand?

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Go Wild Teddy eh? I’d say the old coursing gentry of Glin sitting in their hallowed halls tut tutted into their brandy glasses when they saw the Australian track breeding of that entry come in. :guns:

Dunph, after reading one copy of the Sporting Press you should be able to make a few pertinent jokes on the topic at hand?[/quote]

Some race horses staying in a stable. One of them starts to boast about his track record. ā€œIn the last 15 races, I’ve won 8 of them!ā€

Another horse breaks in, ā€œWell in the last 27 races, I’ve won 19!ā€

ā€œOh that’s good, but in the last 36 races, I’ve won 28!ā€, says another, flicking his tail.

At this point, they notice that a greyhound dog has been sitting there listening. ā€œI don’t mean to boast,ā€ says the greyhound, ā€œbut in my last 90 races, I’ve won 88 of them!ā€

The horses are clearly amazed. ā€œWow!ā€ says one, after a hushed silence. ā€œA talking dog.ā€

This could be a shrewd move by the new trainer, a live run might have her hoping for friday week. :clap:

This trainer knows the score. :clap:

Any chance of a supporters bus for him lads?

Closest thing we`ll have to a bus is Manaboutdogs dog van. Glin has a fine chipper aswell Mac, we can check it out while were at it.

After a discussion with Manaboutdog we are offering an invite to Dunph to join us in Glin and start learning his trade at grass roots level.

Grand, pick me up at the train station so on your way. If not I’ll be in the Railway Hotel. I’ll leave a stone on the wall outside so yez know I’m inside.

Whether or not Glin has a fine chipper should be no concern to Mac, Rintintin.

However, feel free to do a review on behalf of the Limerick Chippers Group.

:clap::smiley:

Lovely job, remember to leave 2 stones on the wall if your otherwise occupied upstairs.

Jaysis that Desmond Cup is something else.

When’s it on rintintin?

Oh i dunno i’ll have to check my calender… :smiley:

I’m going down to the shops now to buy the latest edition of the ā€œSporting Pressā€.*

Runt, keep an eye on the place till i return.

*I’m giddy with anticipation.