Greyhounds Matters 🐐 - Supporting Rural Ireland

Surprised to hear Matthews sell one, would that not be like buying a horse in training from Aidan O’Brien? I’ve never heard of Ian training a coursing dog before, I must ask around.

Con is an alright sort and a shrewd one at that.

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Surprised to hear Matthews sell one, would that not be like buying a horse in training from Aidan O’Brien? I’ve never heard of Ian training a coursing dog before, I must ask around.

Yeah, very strange, seemingly the new owners are from accross the pond. Find it hard to belive myself.

Con has done a nice bit of business, as reckon he has a potential top brood bitch. Con picked up Party Jay Cee for a few hundred last year and he currently sits 2nd the champion stakes qualifiers with 12 points, 2 cups and a RU and 6100 in the bank. Shrewd is right.

[quote=ā€œHangBlaaā€]Yeah, very strange, seemingly the new owners are from accross the pond. Find it hard to belive myself.

Con has done a nice bit of business, as reckon he has a potential top brood bitch. Con picked up Party Jay Cee for a few hundred last year and he currently sits 2nd the champion stakes qualifiers with 12 points, 2 cups and a RU and 6100 in the bank. Shrewd is right.[/quote]

Why the fuck would Matthews sell a bitch that has qualified for clonmel? He’s hardly short of the 10 or 15K. Something is a bit odd about this story.

If Ian finds an inch he’s a genius!

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]Why the fuck would Matthews sell a bitch that has qualified for clonmel? He’s hardly short of the 10 or 15K. Something is a bit odd about this story.

If Ian finds an inch he’s a genius![/quote]

Yeah, I heard it on Sunday night and didnt know what to make of it. The lad that told me would know though.

SS** may investigate further.

I’m sure Ian has already got his touch out of her :smiley: He’s a fool if he hasn’t.

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]Why the fuck would Matthews sell a bitch that has qualified for clonmel? He’s hardly short of the 10 or 15K. Something is a bit odd about this story.

Was relaying this story to somebody last night from Newry direction, and they said that no way is it true.

Saying that there is always stories like this in January, and come powerstown there is always a few dogs that are not brought to slips by who you expect.

On another note with at least 7 days left in this weather and a large number of trial stakes outstanding, there are going to be a lot of dogs qualified very late. There must be 5 or 6 inches of frost in the ground at this stage and will take a lot to thaw it…

They are doubtful enough of Borris getting the go ahead this weekend. I was talking to one of the lads involved in it last week and he reckoned they would need at least 2 or 3 days of a thaw for it to be right. He also expressed concerns over the quality of the hares due to them being couped up together for us long.

Yeah, I have two runners destined for Borrisoleigh, and dont expect to be bringing them this weekend… Bit of a disaster ok, not many dogs have had a gallop since christams week either, thank god for walking machines.

http://www.weathercity.com/ie/ta/borrisoleigh/

As for the hares, borrisoleigh would have had theres trained the weekend before christmas, must be a disaster for them at this stage.

Also, due to the weather no clubs have caught hares for clonmel yet. They currenly have zero hares in Powerstown.

[quote=ā€œHangBlaaā€]

As for the hares, borrisoleigh would have had theres trained the weekend before christmas, must be a disaster for them at this stage.

Also, due to the weather no clubs have caught hares for clonmel yet. They currenly have zero hares in Powerstown.[/quote]

They were going at the weekend to try and catch a few fresh ones, but he didn’t sound too optimistic about the whole thing.

[quote=ā€œHangBlaaā€]Yeah, I have two runners destined for Borrisoleigh, and dont expect to be bringing them this weekend… Bit of a disaster ok, not many dogs have had a gallop since christams week either, thank god for walking machines.

http://www.weathercity.com/ie/ta/borrisoleigh/

Also, due to the weather no clubs have caught hares for clonmel yet. They currenly have zero hares in Powerstown.[/quote]

Is that really the case??? If that’s not rectified in a big way during this week then there’s no way the national meeting can go ahead on time.

Yerra for fuck sake and i’m after booking the first 3days of February off work for this thing. :mad:

Don’t worry Dunph. If they are stuck for hares they can chase Sid Waddell (internet poster) up the hill.

Is this thing actually in jeopardy now?

I’m raging about this. :mad:

How do ye expect to attract new supporters to the sport and this is the carry on. There would have been monkeys all over the place had i gone to Clonmel. Well, it’s their loss now…

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]Is this thing actually in jeopardy now?

I’m raging about this. :mad:

How do ye expect to attract new supporters to the sport and this is the carry on. There would have been monkeys all over the place had i gone to Clonmel. Well, it’s their loss now…[/quote]

I’d say calling it off or postponing it would be a last resort, there are a lot of people who would have flights etc booked from the UK & further afield ages ago.

If it goes ahead on time so we’ll see you there for the 3 days? Fair play, you have really come on in leaps and bounds from the greenhorn who bought his first Sporting Press not 4 months ago.:thumbsup:

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]I’d say calling it off or postponing it would be a last resort, there are a lot of people who would have flights etc booked from the UK & further afield ages ago.

If it goes ahead on time so we’ll see you there for the 3 days? Fair play, you have really come on in leaps and bounds from the greenhorn who bought his first Sporting Press not 4 months ago.:thumbsup:[/quote]

I may not make the Monday but i hope to be there for the Tuesday and Wednesday. I’ll be hitching a lift in the back of Rintintins Reliant…

What happens if you’ve backed a dog at say 5/1 in a race and afterwards another dog is withdrawn and his track is left vacant. Say then your dog goes off at 11/4 and wins.

Do you get the 5/1 or the 11/4 (SP)?

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]What happens if you’ve backed a dog at say 5/1 in a race and afterwards another dog is withdrawn and his track is left vacant. Say then your dog goes off at 11/4 and wins.

Do you get the 5/1 or the 11/4 (SP)?[/quote]

I’d say probably the SP. Maybe they have a ā€œRule 4ā€ deduction like horse racing but i don’t know.

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]What happens if you’ve backed a dog at say 5/1 in a race and afterwards another dog is withdrawn and his track is left vacant. Say then your dog goes off at 11/4 and wins.

Do you get the 5/1 or the 11/4 (SP)?[/quote]

Normally these revert to SP but if a market hasn’t been reformed to return an SP I think there must be a deduction sheet of some sort for late withdrawals. However I don’t think the imperious Tattersalls Rule 4 holds sway. In coursing there is a Rule 4 type deduction agreement but it looks quite clumsy the last time I saw it, I must consult my old National Meeting programme for details.

well DJ Histon was ringing around this week to all the Club secs to try and get them to get a move on in catching hares, and he said that they have none yet… could just be scaremongering from the bauld DJ though… Saying that we were out catching hares last Friday and after a full days toil (12-4) we only managed 3, not many of the fcukers out grazing in grassy fields in this weather. (but did spot 15-20 of them in a field monday night when lamping foxes - location of said field is a closely gaurded secret)

Hangblaa how exactly would you trap/catch a hare…would my mother’s washing basket and rope technique be any good or is there a more sophisticated way