Historical Sporting Video Vault

[SIZE=4]Juventus v Ajax, 1996[/SIZE]

The year was 1996, Ajax were trying to become the first side to put Champions Leagues back to back. Their young team was already breaking up and shortly the great 1995 winning side of Rezieger, de Boer, Seedorff, George, Davids, Jari, Overmars, Kanu and Kluivert would be no more.

This Juve side were reaching a peak and this win was meant to see them dominate Europe for years. However they too along with Ajax would find the task of going back to back impossible, and that despite subsequently reaching the next two finals, they have yet to win the famous old trophy since.

Personally, I loved Ravenelli’s goal and the legend that was Vialli. His moment with Ciro was a beautiful one.

It was to be the summer that football was due to come home but didnt, you tried your damndest not to hum along to 3 Lions and Gina G was tearing up the charts with ooh aah just a little bit :clap:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmJ5THDNpNs

[SIZE=4]Dejan Savićević – AC Milan v Barcelona, 1994[/SIZE]

Not much to add to this one, but it copperfastened my sheer love of all that is Milan. A beautiful Club, a beautiful side, and then there was Dejan. This goal, this demolition of Barcelona and that Cruyff cunt will last long with me and then there was the Milan shirt, a classic of modern times. What a side this Milan one was, at their peak, they had stars throughout, but Savicevic was always a personal favourite, someone who just had something different to all the others.

The trophy presentation was memorable, and as always with Italian trophy winners, there’s always some bloke who takes his shorts off.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GPlox5Ko_s

Barney v Taylor 2007 Final

This game raised the profile of the game of Darts to a new level. Taylor finally had a competitor who was skilful & mentally strong enough to take him on. Barney took the PDC by storm in 2007 and this match will long go down as a classic.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlIr7KbXoJM

You cunts were asked to provide a bit of substance, scope or cultural references. Yet you’ve taken to embedding videos without any accompanying overview. Fuck you. Fuck you all.

Apologies Bandage, I missed that in the original post, I’ll rectify it now.

[quote=“carryharry, post: 777866, member: 1517”]Barney v Taylor 2007 Final

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlIr7KbXoJM

Sort this out or I will delete it.

This can be a fantastic thread for us all to enjoy if people just put a bit of effort in.

[quote=“ChocolateMice, post: 777920, member: 168”]Sort t his out or I will delete it.

This can be a fantastic thread for us all to enjoy if people just put a bit of effort in.[/quote]
o_O

In 2004 the Red Sox and the Yankees met in the ALCS final- The yankees had the best record in the AL that year while the Sox had come through the wild card route.

The Sox, who had not won the World Series since 1918, some 86 years, had become renowned for choking and heroic defeats, which, in American sports folklore, was put down to the curse of the Bambino- The Bambino being Babe Ruth, who left the Sox for the Yankees in 1919- The Sox only knew hearbreak after this and in many ways the Yankes as a great sporing institution was born, and the curse became a metaphorical stick with which the Yankee fans regularly beat the Sox nation with over the head.

Back to 2004 and it looked like the curse was to continue as the Yankees easily wrapped up the first 3 games to take a 3-0 lead with two more games left in Boston for what many deemed as the final game or two as no team had ever comeback from a 3-0 deficit to win the series. Well, they were wrong.

That same year I was lucky enough to travel around the globe. I had actually spent June to December 2003 in Nova Scotia, Canada and while there all I picked up sports wise was Fox Rodchester who only showed Red Sox, Patriots and Celtics games, thus, I had no choice in where my allegiances would later lay… September 2004 I am in Chicago, one of my oldest friends convinced me to come over and work for a few months before going onto further travels after Christmas later that year. We were evicted from our place after a month or so (nothing to do with us ) and my mate called in a favour from a mate of his to ask could we crash in his attic- His 78 year old Mexican mother also resided in the house. She was in Mexico for the summer and he said we could stay no problem as long as we helped him raise $1500 to help pay his debt to the gas people befoer his mother returned. We had to take cold showers in the mean time and after working all day on a site in October in Chicago, that wasn’t pleasant. Long story short, the guy was involved in the Chicago film festival and we rigged it so we paid one dollar in for a movie and we both got a couple of hunderd change back. The Film festival clashed with the palyoffs however, the last four games particularl, yand every night just as the games were starting we both had to cycle 20 mins in to carryout the transaction and boot it back to get the end of the game.

We got the money for the hot water and a bit more, but the cycle home each night as the Sox started to win game after game was brilliant. We were like two cowboys laughing our heads off with the cash in our pockets from a heist full of anticipation with the prospect of the Sox at least taking it to the final night. The games and atmosphere were immense- I’ll never forget a full Yankee stadium taunting Pedro Matinez with ‘Who’s your daddy’ chants after he studpidly let slip in an interview that the Yankees seemed to have his number and were his daddy… The pitcher situation that year was a story of it’s own but Curt Schilling’s heroics and his injury was just another twist in the story.

Anyway I could go on and on… But the Sox made history that year and went on to break the curse by winning the World Series against the Cardinals…

That last two games and starts from about 26mins on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZNujnIojMw

Wrigley Field

wrong thread

I spent an hour earlier going through some of the videos posted here. Super thread :clap:

1981, inaugural running of Arlington Million, the first ever $1,000,000 horse race (for Thoroughbreds at least).
Such was the occasion, that NBC flew in the legendary Mícheál Ó hEithir to be part of their commentary team. The race turned out to be a cracker, with John Henry (the legendary Bill Shoemaker in the irons) chasing down The Bart to snag it on the line by the shortest of margins.
The small ill-tempered gelding of indiscriminate breeding would go on to write himself into the history books over the following years, winning 16 G1s from a mile to 14f on both dirt and grass and racking up almost $7m in earnings, no small feat in those days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQ2ByoMBq6k

What to say? Collins was proof that hard graft and a never say die attitude could get a man to the top. Many thought he was too limited as a fighter and maybe he was, but he showed guts & bundles of heart to make it big. Beating Eubank once was dreamland stuff but to do it twice was really something. :clap:

Here is fight 1, just listen to the walk in music.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DR1BmRvYCww

[quote=“carryharry, post: 778032, member: 1517”]What to say? Collins was proof that hard graft and a never say die attitude could get a man to the top. Many thought he was too limited as a fighter and maybe he was, but he showed guts & bundles of heart to make it big. Beating Eubank once was dreamland stuff but to do it twice was really something. :clap:

Here is fight 1, just listen to the walk in music.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DR1BmRvYCww

I just watched the lot. Epic! Fucking epic.

In the long run, i won’t leave you down pal.

They were great nights in fairness. Eubank, for all his shite, was a tough cunt. Collins was a warrior!

With all eyes focused on Wembley tomorrow night, it’s only fair we look at some recent classics between our two great nations.

I was a very young chap in 88 but I remember the buzz and excitement - particulalry from the auld lad jumping around the sitting room. 90 however, I remember a lot more clearly and tho the significance of playing and beating England was something that I knew was important by the way every adult called them ‘English Bastards’ the real significance was somewhat over my head being only a young chap. They were great times for this country tho, the like we will never see again. But just like Limerick with Tipp, Ireland never feared England.

I have left out the abandoned match in 95 becuase we have grown up as a nation since then (Thanks to a rugby match in Croke park) and reflecting on the evil deeds of the past no longer interests us.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5RCozoW-bI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuUzu0ZWgXU

Exactly Bandage.

[quote=“ChocolateMice, post: 778369, member: 168”]With all eyes focused on Wembley tomorrow night, it’s only fair we look at some recent classics between our two great nations.

I was a very young chap in 88 but I remember the buzz and excitement - particulalry from the auld lad jumping around the sitting room. 90 however, I remember a lot more clearly and tho the significance of playing and beating England was something that I knew was important by the way every adult called them ‘English Bastards’ the real significance was somewhat over my head being only a young chap. They were great times for this country tho, the like we will never see again. But just like Limerick with Tipp, Ireland never feared England.

I have left out the abandoned match in 95 becuase we have grown up as a nation since then (Thanks to a rugby match in Croke park) and reflecting on the evil deeds of the past no longer interests us.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5RCozoW-bI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuUzu0ZWgXU

You forgot the 1991 match at Wembley where we totally outplayed them.

And the home game with the opener from platt and the, at the time, team trademark of a late equaliser from big cas.
Our whole primary school was packed into the sports hall lying on the floor watching it on a small portable telly. Most lads were getting bored as the game dragged on but the place erupted in a mass of flailing bodies as tony rose to head home.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frUEfTtY0BY