Holiday destinations for the accompanied traveller

Lake Garda

I’d love to go to Iceland. Can fly from cork now too.

3 nights in New Ross, 3 in Athy and finish with 1 in Tipp Town

Rome is the greatest city in Europe. Just put on some walking shoes and spend the day bouncing from one attraction to another.

Where you going in Sardinia?

Flying into Alghero, nothing booked yet accommodation-wise

He’ll roast in Verona in June/July

Where are you staying?

Great city. Do all the tourist spots and be ready to walk. Keep yer water bottle filled. Buy your Colliseum tickets at the Roman Forum to skip queues. Find a rooftop bar near Coliseum for cocktails. San Crispino behind Trevi Fountain for ice cream. Get train to beach in Ostia for the day.

AirBnB gaff in the Prati neighbourhood, near the Vatican apparently. Reviews say it’s a good starting point anyway.

Grand. Least you’re not beside Termini train station which can be kippy. Snack away at pastas/pizzas. Saw roasters having huge bowls of pasta for starters (primi) and then moving on to a schteak for secondi and being absolutely wiped.

:thinking: I do like my pasta … and I am a roaster :tractor:

We stayed in an Agriturismo spot just outside Alghero near the airport. I’ve tried searching for it but can’t think of the name. Alghero is a nice spot for a few days, great seafood etc. Would recommended a trip north to Stintino (beach) and Castlesardo ( picturesque town)

I’d love to be heading to Rome soon. It is next on my return-to list having only been there once for a couple of days two years ago.

The public water fountains should be copied by every city.

How long you staying for? My favourite city I’ve ever been to. Make sure and do a tour of the coliseum and Roman forum rather than buying a ticket and wandering around, you’ll get so much more out of it that way. Every dingey looking cafe selling pizza slices for 1.50 will have ten times better pizza than anything you’ll get in Ireland. The Vatican museum is massive but worth the trip too.

Alghero looks like a fantastic town. We were only there for a few hours. You’ll be delighted just wandering the streets. The stretch of coast from there down the west side of the island to Pula and Calgiari is beautiful. There are cycle tours of that if you fancy it but there’s some serious hills. There used to be a restaurant called su-cumbidu in Calgiari which gave us the best meal we’ve ever eaten.

Alghero is a great spot to do nothing in. Loads of restaurants, nice views etc but not a lot going on. Very quiet at night and that, but a lovely place to relax and eat & drink your week away

Bombarde beach outside Fertilia is unreal.

You couldn’t help but buy into the Italians way of life when your over there. Lounging around all day drinking coffee. They’ve it made.

Absolutely. If you can’t relax in Italy you may forget about it.
3 hours to ate a bit of dinner, the roasters wouldn’t be able to hack that at all.
@carryharry look into Cinque Terre in Liguria even places like Levanto just outside the Cinque Terre, lovely part of the world.

+1 to that Har. Cinque Terra is a great spot for lounging about after a bit of rambling from village to village.

Was thinking about Sicily as well this year. Is it very quiet? Any seaside towns you’d recommend?