Holiday destinations for the lone traveller

Spain.

http://m.dublinondisplay.ie/uploads/attractions/345/lahinch_-_logo.jpg

Or

Spain/Portugal.

Canaries is the obvious choice. 3-4 hours, not much in the difference.

True that.

If you hit the costa the train runs from the airport every 15mins and runs as far as Furngirola - pretty much from plane to beach in no time.Plenty of beach towns along the way to choose

[QUOTE=“ChocolateMice, post: 1073180, member: 168”]http://m.dublinondisplay.ie/uploads/attractions/345/lahinch_-_logo.jpg

Or

Spain/Portugal.[/QUOTE]

Thanks gents. According to a mate who works in Gib, the Costa del Sol is putrid in April weatherwise. Algarve is mean to be poor then too.

Canaries does appear obvious choice but was wondering if there was anywhere closer I hadn’t thought of.

like the mouse said…as far as bringing kids goes somewhere like fuengirola is perfect…its near aiport…not the most romantic or prettiest of places but as far as a long beachfront for kids etc. its perfect…its cheap and cheerful… there’s a promenade that runs for miles…if you want something less British bulldog, cala de mijas further down the coast is also nice…full of irish familes and 2 or 3 Irish bars…that’s about 15 miles from airport straight down motorway past fuengirola…

[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 1073188, member: 109”]Thanks gents. According to a mate who works in Gib, the Costa del Sol is putrid in April weatherwise. Algarve is mean to be poor then too.

Canaries does appear obvious choice but was wondering if there was anywhere closer I hadn’t thought of.[/QUOTE]

Andaluscia is always nice, mate. You could try Crete…

[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 1073188, member: 109”]Thanks gents. According to a mate who works in Gib, the Costa del Sol is putrid in April weatherwise. Algarve is mean to be poor then too.

Canaries does appear obvious choice but was wondering if there was anywhere closer I hadn’t thought of.[/QUOTE]

Southern Spain will be fine by late April. There would be negligible differences in temp between it and and the canaries. Somewhere around malaga would be the job. Careful though there are some awful kips around there. I went to torremolinos (horrendous shithole) around easter a couple of years ago. We got two days on the beach, one days rain and the rest were grand tshirt and jeans type days. You won’t get better weather within the 3-4 hour window

I wasn’t advocating Fuengirola as such, just saying the train runs that far and you can hop off any town along the way.
@Mac - the weather is mixed but the later in the month the better.

[QUOTE=“ChocolateMice, post: 1073196, member: 168”]I wasn’t advocating Fuengirola as such, just saying the train runs that far and you can hop off any town along the way.
@Mac - the weather is mixed but the later in the month the better.[/QUOTE]

the weather in Malaga seems to be getting a bit more unpredictable over last last few years and the hot weather seems to be arriving later and later…think it was snowing in March/april there 2 years ago…Almeria is meant to have the best beaches in Andalusia apparently…while up around cadiz is meant to have the best wild beaches

Malta

The Algarve will be grand at that time of the year @Mac. I wouldn’t care for it that much myself, nor would it bother me if I never saw Spain again but I believe families with young children enjoy these places.

@Mac I travelled to Canaries last year with an 8 month old and survived flight but it was very long at 4 hours. This year we’re planning on heading to Spain. I think flight should be around 2 hours or a bit more. If you are heading to Malaga, Nerja is a lovely town. I think the average temperatures on the east coast (Costa Blanca?) are hotter at that time of year. We’re hoping to go somewhere that direction in March. If anybody has a recommendation it’d be great.

An eight monther is not too bad. They are a right pain in the arse when they are around 18 months. They are grand again when they have their own seat.

Shite. Our lad will be 19 months in March. I wouldn’t attempt a 4 hour flight again until he’s at least 5.

Thanks for the input lads, much appreciated. We did Ronda, Cadiz and Seville 2 summers ago so are familiar with that part of Spain. Cadiz would be my choice only its a bit of a pain to get to without a car I believe.

Little fella will be 7 odd months so a 4.5 hour flight might be stretching it a bit I think. Not sure though.

mac, the younger they are the easier they are when they fly, ive flown a few time to oz when they were 4 months, 1 year and 1 1/2. the flying was handy and you will get the baseneete

fuck off to dubai where you are gauranteed decent weather

You hurt my feelings bro

I even gave you the unique suggestion of Saint Jean de Luz

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 1073074, member: 464”]thanks @Bandage, signora CCHA & myself + two teenagers.

@balbec, the ball is in in your court now and it needs to be a good shot.[/QUOTE]

Not a lot to add to @Bandage 's post. I drove down there from Krakow. 14 hours over two days, about 1300 kms. Stayed in a small place on the sea south of Livorno, Vada. Not overly set up for tourism. But it was a useful base for day trips. Did Pisa, Siena, Firenze. Not a lot to see in Pisa bar the tower. A day trip. Sienna is interesting and you might get a couple of days out of it. Florence is a fine city,one of my favourites. But in sweltering heat in mid July a tad uncomfortable. But we Limerick men thrive in sweltering heat so you will be ok. Huge crowds though, loads of Yanks. I think you would be better off doing Florence as a long weekend off season.

Absolutely beautiful countryside. @flattythehurdler[/USER] or [USER=58]@theLockes would love the bike rides around Voltera or San Gimigiano with their hairpen bends.

Viareggio could be an idea for a base alright. But unless hanging around the beach is your thing, you would really need a motor.

Christ, we don’t half thrive in heat us Limerick lads. Unreal.