It’ll be grand lads. Go where you like
I’ve been up and down to Limerick a good bit. Not a sign of one. Only the ones enforcing the ridiculous ban on leaving the country are out at the airport
Stick to the national roads, don’t turn off into any towns, it will be fine.
Download Waze app and checkpoints en route can be planned for in advance most of the time
I have Waze alright. Handy.
The vast majority of guards (correctly in my eyes) dont give two fucks about it. Tell them anything half reasonable and it should be grand
Checkpoint on the way to Howth on Monday. Not sure why.
I can see them targeting checkpoints at certain recreational destinations that crowds might flock to. They’ve done that before.
Also, if you see any checkpoints don’t try and avoid them, tell them that you’re going to tend a family grave that’s probably overgrown. Have the details ready beforehand.
I’d have no worries with checkpoints if I’m on my own in the car. It’s a hassle but any number of excuses available.
Harder to lie with a straight face when the wife, kids and dog are in the car with the fire pit on the roof rack.
They targeted a few areas in Wicklow last weekend, but I think it was mainly for parking offences
Yeah I heard similar. MIL has a house in Brittas Bay. My missus has been up and down last few weeks no bother but bank holiday weekend might be different.
The locals were complaining about roads being blocked so they’ve started towing cars etc
Last weekend was supposedly bedlam at any of the popular outdoor spots in Limerick. Weather isn’t given as good this weekend which might temper things a little.
I just checked forecast after naively assuming it would just be sunny. It’s not great.
Waze has never really taken off in Ireland, and even less so since the lockdown.
Either way, just get in your car and fucking go. Dont be worrying yourself.
If you’re really bothered, go early or go late
Friend of mine was stopped outside Cork on the Easter weekend. Car loaded with kids, on the way to West Cork. Guards werent overly impressed, but at the same time, used common sense and sent him on with a tsk and shake of the head.
As with everything, its a game of luck and chance. He who dares wins.
8 degrees and showers all weekend… the guards wont be bothered.
The weather in Ireland is very changeable, shur we were meant to be in the middle of 6 weeks of snow now.
Did you not get snow?