Holidays in Ireland thread (Laois is for prisoners)

Those little hilltop villages that tourists love, the only people in them are the elderly and tourists.

This place has a fairly stable agricultural base, with industry below in Sora.
House prices a quarter or more of Ireland.

To be honest if I was being charged 70 euro for dinner for 9 with beer wine and coffee I’d be thinking what the fuck is going on here and where has that “beef” come from. It’s just not sustainable. It’s no wonder people are leaving the countryside in droves because you couldn’t run a proper kitchen and have money for any kind of a living on that margin. It’s not all about low prices. People have to live too.

Flatty thinking he was the big shot leaving a €30 tip on top

It was chicken mate. Two chicken dishes (home reared), two artichokes, pizza for 6, bread, olives, three bottles of beer and a half liter of red wine.
You seem to be blaming me for the restaurant prices :person_shrugging:
You lash away with your 29 euro crab claws and we’ll leave each other in peace.
Oops I forgot there was two plates of chips in that.
I did actually leave a 30 euro tip in case they had added the bill wrong, but herselfs relatives assured me after that they hadn’t.

@Big_Dan_Campbell would have thrown a fiver on the table.

I would have told them I’d light a candle at mass for them.

You wouldn’t have been able. It was Italy.
Coffee prices are govt controlled.

Indians coming over with fake IT/ software college degrees and living 10 to a house are behind a good chunk of recent increases.

I’m not blaming you at all. I’m just wondering how you might think it’s an acceptable/desirable state of affairs that someone would slave over a stove for an evening making meals for 9 people and turn maybe 30 euro out of the night. It doesn’t seem right. And on that I am assuming one person did both the cooking and serving.

I would also wonder whose home the chicken was reared in.

the white privilege is stinking here “sure them lads love cooking”

Ok mate. We get it.

There’s no need to sulk.

Ok

I’m in Italy for work week after next, really looking forward to it

Edit: have this read back. Dreading trip now. Will just bring sandwiches Thank a lot @Fagan_ODowd

Just remember if a one euro twenty espresso is too cheap, walk up to the til, light a fag with a fifty euro note and proclaim loudly that you don’t know how you Italian peasants get by at all at all.

So to get back to my earlier question, what is the best option re: car rental? Or am I going to have to shell out 2k euros plus for a shite car at the airport for three weeks? Don’t really have that kind of disposable income. Would getting insurance on the family car home be a better option?

That’s your best bet if they can spare it to you. There’s supposed to be a massive shortage of rental stock across Europe

Is there any garage local to ye at home that might rent you a 2nd hand car for a few weeks. Garage here locally does it as a favour for people the odd time but not something they would advertise

Yes id say tbh. Car hire has trebled in price across the board pretty much.