Interesting idea, I’ll look into it.
Could you use those go cars?
You’d get one for a week for about 600 euro but if you don’t need a car every day or for limited trips they are a good option
Did ye ever watch that ITV program, Four In A Bed? The wife watches it. The prices for a B&B on the mainland are absolutely mad. Hundreds rather than tens of pound.
Luckily there’s still some countries in Europe where you can get value for money. Rural Germany, southern Italy and northern Spain are just some places where people just won’t rip you off. Perhaps there’s competition but I think it’s a religious background of these regions that underlays a non ripoff culture.
Head down through Causeway in North Kerry and stop at the corner shop at the crossroads. You’ll get short changed in there every time if you’re not a local. Same auld one would be ating the alter on Sunday.
A religious background? Southern Italy? Mafia ring any bells?
Aren’t they from Sicily? I wouldn’t know much about there. I’ve only ever been to northern Italy where it’s very expensive. But once you go south of Rome it starts to get very barren and poor. I remember in my leaving cert geography that Southern Italy got more EEC aid grants than the West Of Ireland.
You have different clans all up along southern italy. Naples and Rome are riddled I’d say
Would you find them in the middle of nowhere in East Cork? They are day rental right?
Lads re: gocar, can non-Irish license holders use them and no problem with using two car seats?
You’ve to give them your licence to sign up so presume they’d tell you if not accepted?
A bit of googling there tells me an international license is fine.
They’re mainly targeted at tourists from my experience, normal cars so should take two car seats in the back no problem
So conceivable we could rent an (automatic) gocar in Cork city and use that for at least one week and price wise it wouldn’t be a complete disaster?
Any recs for somewhere nice to stay for a couple of nights on the way back from Galway to East Cork? A little out of the way is grand. Need to split up the trip with an 18 month old.
Rosscarbery is aout 3.5 hours drive from Galway. A grand spot for a couple of nights
The Armada in Clare is supposed to be nice.
Ya, West Clare is probably your only option really given it’s not that long a drive between Galway and Cork.
I don’t think it’s the best spot for kids. It’s sort of a wedding hotel I thought
Trumps place is very nice in that part of the world
Get one of the cottages if kids are along.
Aye, Trumps place is hard bet.
Service is outstanding. As a location with beach, dunes and everything else it is impeccable. 3 course breakfast as well.