Home Nations Greatest Band- England Nominations

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 932778, member: 363”]
The Coral[/QUOTE]

That first fucking Coral album is “boss”, as they might say in Liverpool. Hangs together very well as an album and mixes tunes, psychedelia, pop and riffs in a most gorgeous fashion.

Saw them in the Olympia though once and they were crap.

The Stone Roses
The Beatles
Elbow
Supergrass
Starsailor

Shane McGowan was born in England but raised in Tipperary til he was seven. Terry Woods was born in Dublin, other members were english but came and went. Various other members of the band including Phil Chevron were born and raised in Ireland.

If you asked them if they were an english band they would say no just like Paul McGrath, Seamus McDonagh, Alan Kelly Jnr would all say they were born in england but arent english, they’re Irish.

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck and quacks like a duck…

The Pogues = Irish.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 933023, member: 1785”]Shane McGowan was born in England but raised in Tipperary til he was seven. Terry Woods was born in Dublin, other members were english but came and went. Various other members of the band including Phil Chevron were born and raised in Ireland.

If you asked them if they were an english band they would say no just like Paul McGrath, Seamus McDonagh, Alan Kelly Jnr would all say they were born in england but arent english, they’re Irish.

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck and quacks like a duck…

The Pogues = Irish.[/QUOTE]
Not an Irish Band, formed in UK. Awful attempt.

The Cure
Blur
Radiohead
Rolling Stones
Led Zeppelin

Notable mentions… Pet shop Boys, New Order, Oasis, Pink Floyd.

Shit your so right, you’ve convinced me. Formed there/ born there…I guess Tom Clarke wasn’t Irish either so?

Beatles
Blur
Radiohead
Rolling Stones
Supergrass

Wait before we go any further, what is your position on Scottish League leaders Celtic FC?

Na mate, you first. Was Tom Clarke Irish?

Ah here, would you ever fuck off with your shite. The band was formed in the UK, it has had UK members, and it has Irish members. It is what it is. it has a strong Irish identity, but its always been UK based and to say otherwise is just rampant shitehawkery.

Leave it go @Ebeneezer Goode, you’ll be smothered in posts until you’ll lose the will to live.

I see yours is still hanging in there anyway. Small Mercies and all that.

Its not shite dick head. Just cos they were formed in London or based there doesn’t make them an english band. They have a lot more than a strong Irish identity.

Two members of U2 travel on british passports. If you ask them are they an Irish or british band, they will say Irish.

Morrissey travels on an Irish passport but is he or The Smiths an Irish or British band?

It’s not black and white.

I don’t think former EDL leader Tommy Robinson is Irish but I would certainly say Cornish born footballer Chris Morris was and he has said so too in many interviews!

Ask The Pogues are they a british band and they will say no. The Beatles and The Smiths had a strong Irish connection but they were not Irish, Shane McGowan and The Pogues were different though.

U2 were formed in Dublin making them an Irish band. They grew and were discovered out of Dublin.

The Pogues were formed in London making them an English band. They grew and were discovered out of London.

That was a poor comparison for you to make.

Rolling Stones.
Beatles.
Fleetwood Mac.
Led Zeppelin.
Kinks.

Led Zeppelin were a shower of plodding cunts.

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 933091, member: 180”]U2 were formed in Dublin making them an Irish band. They grew and were discovered out of Dublin.

The Pogues were formed in London making them an English band. They grew and were discovered out of London.

That was a poor comparison for you to make.[/QUOTE]

The post needed to be taken in the round. Identity isnt black and white. This thread was for english bands. If The Pogues were asked by a Journalist if they were english they would say no.

They are not an english band.

[QUOTE=“Ebeneezer Goode, post: 933100, member: 1785”]The post needed to be taken in the round. Identity isnt black and white. This thread was for english bands. If The Pogues were asked by a Journalist if they were english they would say no.

They are not an english band.[/QUOTE]
They’re Inglish.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 932837, member: 24”]The Smiths
Radiohead
Tindersticks
Massive Attack
The Wedding Present[/QUOTE]
You lost your love of life. Too much apple pie. :slight_smile:

No M-People :eek: