Hurling League 2014

[QUOTE=“kerry1891, post: 925111, member: 1379”]good discussion. A slightly different angle on the discussion. Pick your ideal forward combination. mine is

Conal Keaney Seamus Harnedy Danny Sutcliffe
Podge Collins Joe Canning Pat Horgan

Tony Kelly is midfield btw!

Thought about Noel McGrath at 11 but Harnedy better in the air[/QUOTE]
That’s hard to pick! I just picked my favourite players. I think there’s a good few players about to cement or make a name for themselves this year, Hannon, O’Donnell, Honan, a few from Galway and Tipp, especially Callinan and Cooney.

Harnedy Collins Sutcliffe
Downes Canning McGrath

As hard working as any Tipp forward isn’t exactly a compliment. This would be a view of mine going back a good few years, maybe I am blinkered to a change in his style since then

[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 925151, member: 1533”]That’s hard to pick! I just picked my favourite players. I think there’s a good few players about to cement or make a name for themselves this year, Hannon, O’Donnell, Honan, a few from Galway and Tipp, especially Callinan and Cooney.

Harnedy Collins Sutcliffe
Downes Canning McGrath[/QUOTE]

Lehane could take off for Cork as well.

Yep. Considered putting him in already. I’m not sure about my two wings, a few others could have fitted in there.

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 925150, member: 1517”]This is a good point, but having Indians like Bonnar Maher who can’t shoot a point from 30yds is embarrassing in itself.

John Conlon & Colin Ryan for Clare don’t get half enough credit for their importance to their team. They both have reasonable pace, good in the air, physically strong, able to win their own ball & they can score. The Kelly’s, O’Donnell’s & Collin’s get all the headlines but those 2 are vital to that forward line.[/QUOTE]
They don’t get the headlines but they most certainly aren’t under appreciated. Ryan plays a smart game and has turned himself inside out from where he was a couple of years ago. Conlon had his worst year ever really last year due to concussions but I think he is about as unique a half forward as is out there. Strong in the air but an absolute bull when chasing broken ball and running at defences. Wins a lot of frees, gains a lot of yards and is well able to score too but has started to incorporate the others around him better.
Eoin Kelly is a bigger loss than bonner, himself and Job were the only two forwards Ye had capable of winning ball and scoring. Lar to a lesser extent.

My forward line picks on League Form would be,

John Conlon - Colin Fennelly - Walter Walsh
Conor McGrath - Pat Horgan - Seamie Callanan

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 925150, member: 1517”]This is a good point, but having Indians like Bonnar Maher who can’t shoot a point from 30yds is embarrassing in itself.

Similar shortcomings didnt prevent MDMA becoming FOTY.

John Conlon & Colin Ryan for Clare don’t get half enough credit for their importance to their team. They both have reasonable pace, good in the air, physically strong, able to win their own ball & they can score. The Kelly’s, O’Donnell’s & Collin’s get all the headlines but those 2 are vital to that forward line.[/QUOTE]

Kelly’s, O’Donnell’s and the best of all Collin’s.

Ridiculous in itself to be using the plural of people that are not actually plural but to do it in such fine style as well.

How do we measure credit anyway? Are they assets? Would they prefer to be debited to increase their value or do we see them as income statement accounts?

That’s 3 gobshites not picking Harnedy. I know it’s all about opinion and all but he’s becoming unmarkable. His form is streets ahead of Noel McGrath. And while Conlon is a very good player he was off form for a good shot of last season.
Without Harnedy Cork get nowhere last year, he changed 2 maybe 3 games for them

You have Downes ahead of at least 3 class hurlers, way ahead of him. It’s pure bias.

This would be a forward line I would pick at the moment based on personal preference

Sutcliffe Collins Harnedy
C McGrath Callanan Horgan

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 925162, member: 1517”]My forward line picks on League Form would be,

John Conlon - Colin Fennelly - Walter Walsh
Conor McGrath - Pat Horgan - Seamie Callanan[/QUOTE]
On league form, surely Richie power would be in?

Aye fuck out Horgan, don’t be minding that 1B shite there.

:confused:

[QUOTE=“the man himself, post: 925207, member: 1766”]This would be a forward line I would pick at the moment based on personal preference

Sutcliffe Collins Harnedy
C McGrath Callanan Horgan[/QUOTE]
I’d just change Canning for Collins myself, but it’s hard to argue with any of that.

I should have had Fennelly ahead of Harnedy or maybe Sutcliffe.

It is bias, I would want a Limerick player in there somewhere, in fact I said at the outset I picked it based on my favourite players. It’s a completely personally subjective choice anyway so strange you make a big deal out of it. But wait and see. Downes was on fire throughout the club championship and hardly a ball has come in his vicinity during the league that he didn’t get a positive result out of. He’s brilliant in the air, our best ball winner and our best goal threat. Who are the three class forwards ahead of him? Watch him this summer and see if you change your mind.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 925195, member: 273”]That’s 3 gobshites not picking Harnedy. I know it’s all about opinion and all but he’s becoming unmarkable. His form is streets ahead of Noel McGrath. And while Conlon is a very good player he was off form for a good shot of last season.
Without Harnedy Cork get nowhere last year, he changed 2 maybe 3 games for them[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 925216, member: 1533”]I should have had Fennelly ahead of Harnedy or maybe Sutcliffe.

It is bias, I would want a Limerick player in there somewhere, in fact I said at the outset I picked it based on my favourite players. It’s a completely personally subjective choice anyway so strange you make a big deal out of it. But wait and see. Downes was on fire throughout the club championship and hardly a ball has come in his vicinity during the league that he didn’t get a positive result out of. He’s brilliant in the air, our best ball winner and our best goal threat. Who are the three class forwards ahead of him? Watch him this summer and see if you change your mind.[/QUOTE]

pity Limerick management didn’t exercise similar bias in last years champo and give him a start. better than most of the forwards that started. the policy of picking mullockers and backs in the forwards rather than a natural forward like Downes was a joke and eventually cost them

He was injured at the start of the year but his performances for club and county makes a mockery of not picking him last year. I still wish we had John Allen back again but fuck it it beggars belief he didn’t start him.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 924871, member: 273”]That’s a good list and one hard to argue with too. It’s not that dissimilar an we can both make cases for all the players we mentioned. So you “FFS” was a bit over the top. McGrath was shit last year, hence that exclusion. I actually didn’t think of Fenneally so no real problem with him. On recent form I’d have a few ahead of Sheflin. He is board wrong on a luxury/liability nowadays with the injury, sending off etc. he’s not getting things his own way anymore and it seems to frustrate him. He may well defy them, but I have a feeling the miles on the clock have caught up. That many injuries would break far better athletes.

If you went with local bias aside, on your list I’d have Harnedy no.3. He is more important to Cork now than anyone.[/QUOTE]

The ffs comment was the omission of Shefflin. Still a marquee top class forward any day.

I’m not sure I can hold Lehane in the same esteem as Harnedy. Hoggy, imho, is a rolls royce hurler and while I agree that Noel McGrath had an indifferent year past he was very good the last 2 games and will have a better year I believe

If Noel McGrath is given space his will absolutely kill you, class hurler but doesn’t like the physical stuff