Hurling Power Rankings

Limerick didnā€™t play Wexford this year.

Real hurling folk watch the league as well.

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

Ok.

Carry on.

The fucking league :rofl:

will you let him have it for fuck sake and stop driving him mad. Games in February are huge.

Ah sure. Itā€™s not like I started a thread on it or anything.

In fairness, it wasnā€™t so long ago we were that soldierā€¦we have to make hay for the few years that we can as weā€™ll be back there in no time.

All pre season friendlies, in every sport, are discussed on here.

yeah hopefully soā€¦

:rollseyes: it meant so much

I donā€™t even remember the Superbowl a week later due to the celebrations.

Youre on the clock bud.

Thereā€™s a reason why the hurling POWER RANKINGS are looked at in March. The league starts in February (Iā€™m told) so ā€˜meaningfulā€™ games will take place. They lead into the POWER RANKINGS. Obviously, we know that the league is a joke of a competition so the weighting of the performances arenā€™t as much as the round robin series and ultimately, the quarters finals onward in the championship.

For example, Waterford winning the league, yes, you sit up and take note - theyā€™ve won a national competition and some silverware. They would get say 5 pts. Tipp losing all of their round robin games, they would lose say 5 pts. Clare getting over the line v Wexford in the quarters - they get their 10 pts but if they had beaten them well, they would qualify for a few more bonus points. The fact that they lost to KK so badly means at the semi final stage means that they would loose 15 pts but another 5 pts for being so shite on the day.

Going into the AI final, even if KK won the AI Limerick would still be #1. The fact that KK got so close to them meant that they squeeked into the #2 slot - for me, Galway are the second placed team, I had considered putting Galway and KK as joint second but that would have upset too many more than they are now, cc. @buffers_alley

Thereā€™s a bit to this POWER RANKINGS lads, let there be no doubt. Seeding and ranking spots arenā€™t just plucked out of the air. Lads would want to remember that when giving out to the unpaid administrator of this threadā€¦

Itā€™s not an easy job. Keep up the good work.

You donā€™t need to justify yourself to those cunts
Wexford and those other no mark counties are where they deserve to be.
Carry on , the system works

Thanks Pulp. Ah in fairness, itā€™s an emotive subject. But come 2023 weā€™ll go again and sure, weā€™ll see how it all pans out.

Theres no doubt you do a great job @Locke and fair play to you for putting the time into it. I was querying one positioning in the ranking and the only reason why i did it was because i was at that Galway v Cork game and thought the hurling was below standard and was surprised Cork were ahead of Wexford in your ranking. I accept your ranking and happy to move on, didnt think me querying one position would cause such upset with our Munster posters.

But what i dont get is lads jumping in and having a go for no reason at all. Galway and Limerick lads in particular getting upset, one fella calling us cunts and another bringing up an under 21 defeat v Antrim when all this had absolutely nothing to do with the topic at hand.

Thereā€™s lads on here who would argue with their shadow and as for the use of the ā€˜cā€™ word, itā€™s so liberal at this stage every cunt is at it.

I loved the way that Griffin tapped into the potential that Wexford had back in the 90ā€™s and delivered an AI. The Leinster final in '04 was one of the best matches I was ever at and, even though when I went to congratulate the exuberant Wexford lad directly behind me in the Hogan stand and he told me to ā€˜go fuck myself, ya Kilkenny bollixā€™* after having no cross words between us during the game. I still say that the Wexford supporter are the most loyal and engaged that there is and always come out to support their county, at every level and code.

*That actually happened, Mrs Locke Mk 1 got an awful shock at the time.

Leinster semi final 2004 maybe?

Iā€™d only have a couple of games ahead of. Leinster final 93 (drawn game) and Leinster final 96 ahead of it.

I was in Oz for the Cork drawn semi final in 2003.

Donā€™t release too much info on your proprietary algorithm or youā€™ll have copycat power rankers popping up everywhere with an inferior product. Like Chris Simmsā€™ poor imitation of @Lazarus QB rankings.