Hurling Power Rankings

@Locke is doing a sterling job and deserves our thanks

I thought he was referring to the 2-12 to 1-11 win over Offaly in the Leinster final that year. An okay game but certainly not a great one. They printed Wexford Leinster champions 2004 t-shirts with the score on them.

On the topic at hand, Wexford actually drew with Galway who were of course Corks conquerors. The big questions is would Cork have gone to Nowlan Park in 2022 and walked all over them? I think not.

I suppose it could be argued that Cork wouldn’t lose at home to a middling Dublin team and draw in Mullingar against Westmeath but @Bod95 would outcoached the Rock had the two teams met.

Wexford lads are very needy here. In all for bashing cork but they got to the league final, were AI runners up last year which gave them a good starting point, beat Waterford who won the league and were second favourites for Liam at the start of the championship. Also had to beat Tipp which no matter how bad they are is always a tough ask. Cork beat themselves vs Galway. Should have won. Simple as that

Wexford beat kk, that is all this year. Without that win Dublin would have gone through. Wexford drew with WH ffs a Joe Mc team no offence to them. Clare played for 10-15 mins and blew them away.

Locke has clearly put a lot more work in than credited to him here. Yere arguing over 5th place here. Dont think the cork bandwagon would circle as much if the other away around

Yes, semi final, my mistake. Jaysus I used to go to a lot of games back then.

The Power Rankings is one of the most important threads in the history of the INTERNET. Keep up the good work @Locke

No one knows sterling like him.

Provisional ranking after week 1

1. Galway
  2. Cork
  3. Kilkenny
  4. Limerick
  5. Clare
  6. Waterford
  7. Dublin
  8. Tipperary
  9. Wexford
  10. Antrim
  11. Laois
  12. Westmeath

I’d swap KK and Clare and have Tipp higher

I made it Provisional until we heard from you. Take the floor

They only beat Laois. I’d expect Tipp to be in the top 4 next week

I do like to give it a day or two before releasing the POWER RANKINGS for hurling.

12th. Westmeath - no goals and 14 points is scant scoring, even if it was away from home. Shipped 4-27 too, only in 12th position due to being in Div 1 - I would say Kildare, Kerry or Carlow would beat them on this form.
11th. Laois - were away in Fortress FBD, slightly better scoring than Westmeath but 34 scores against, not good.
10th. Antrim - home game but only 15 points scored and no green flags against a KK team in massive transition.
9th. Kilkenny - didn’t progress in the Walsh Cup and this is why they are so low. 19 scores in Belfast is not to be sniffed at and we’re blooding a new management team and players. The only way is up, I guess
8th. Wexford - losing at the Chadwick is not good, no goal scored and only 15 points. But did get to the Walsh Cup final to their credit.
7th. Dublin - a draw in Dungarvan, good result. I can see Dublin improving this year. Solid start to the NHL.
6th. Waterford - Only above Dublin due to winning with 13 players for a finish. Davy will only improve them as a squad and as men.
5th. Clare - will get higher but were at home against a pitiful W/Meath team. I think they might win Munster this year.
4th. Tipp - have to do well this year, will do well this year! Will get out of Munster, and will get to the AI semi, bookmark this post.
3rd. Cork - showed that they are BACK and will go deep into the championship, semi’s for sure if not the final.
2nd. Galway - Great start and an away win against Wexford, never easy. Reports on here said that it was a second string team so again, all pointing in the one direction.
1st. Limerick - I think Cork are that good this year that Limerick are still the best and to lose to Cork the way they did other night is no great shame. You’d like to see more players come through alright, refresh it up a bit. But immortality beckons, you have to win 4 in a row to win 6 as they say.

Talking Episode 7 GIF by Curb Your Enthusiasm

You’re a gas man

KK were supposed to drop to fifth but ended up in ninth. There is a ruthless fluidity to the
@Locke power rankings

The KK lads love the long grass these days.

Cork are closer to 12th than 2nd in reality.

You’re not even unusual in saying that, they’re a very negative bunch in general these days, no expectations at all :man_shrugging:

We clipped Limerick in the league last year too who fielded a better team and this year we’re plagued with injuries all over the pitch.

Gas man is right. Only 3 can come out of Munster obviously, Tipp will according to the post, Clare will win Munster and Cork are getting to the semi at least so I guess the immortality the post says is beckoning for Limerick is on ice.

Surely due a bump for no sending off?