Hurling Qualifiers, July 4th

Good teams are consistent, up their game and generally have stronger squads.

Also Athletic ability being what it is, more athletic people tend to be stronger in most aspects. The more athletic and fit you are the longer you skills will remain at a high level.

Hurling championship proper starts now. Only one non-knockout game left and all the minnows gone. :beers:

The draw was brilliant.

George from the CCC was excellent. Like Mungo from Blazing Saddles.

AN CLAR
CORCAIGH

and of course the one draw that couldnā€™t happen was that first one out of the bowls.

The bowls, the lovely sound of kinder surprises being chased around a goldfish bowl.

Ah shur, god help us.

I inadvertently forgot about the Tipp football qualifier.

Cork v Clare - Gaelic Grounds
Limerick v Dublin - Portlaoise

End of! (Again)

The terrace is closed in Portlaoise for renovations, would ye be bringing back 40,000 like the Munster semi final?

The long terrace or one of the behind the goal ones?

If we have to go to Tullamore weā€™ll be beaten a point a man.

Croke Park is the obvious choice here

Pearse Stadium.

Be nothing wrong with a weekend in Galway :pint:

All 3 last Saturday were closed. I doubt health and safety would allow them open the long one now they are so far into the renovations, it wasnā€™t so bad for the Offsly game but exits are all closed up at this point in proceedings. The stand was jammed last Saturday for Laois v Dublin and Iā€™d imagine thereā€™s be more there again for Limerick.

A night out is about all we are gonna get ā€¦ Disaster of a yearā€¦

I agree with Cusack to a certain extent. Cork were much improved but Wexford played into their hands and they werenā€™t really tested.

Ellis had a very strong game as the spare defender. He was quite deep, almost playing as a second full back at times, but that was probably because Cork had identified McDonald as the main threat.

Brian Murphy is still a very good player and he adds solidity to the defence. Cormac Murphy was considerably better - I thought he was given a harsh lesson against Waterford.

They used the ball better than in recent times in the first half in particular. They adopted a mix of a running game and support play out the field (working overlaps and popping points over with the aid of the strong wind as the Wexford spare defender stood 25 yards out watching the ball sailing over his head) with some good angled passes to the inside forwards. Lehane was sensational.

I still think theyā€™re a few players short quality wise and, even though they were trying to do the right thing against the wind, they wobbled a bit when Wexford applied a little pressure. Passes werenā€™t going to hand, more fumbling and losing the ball etc.

In that sense, I was and still am aghast that Wexford didnā€™t play with the wind when they won the toss. Two teams coming in on the back of demoralising defeats, mentally fragile etc. Build up a fucking lead, get the home crowd involved and ask questions of Cork from the start. Donā€™t let them off in the distance ahead of you. Really dumb stuff.

Iā€™d expect Clare to beat Cork.

Nolan Park is the obvious choice for Limerick Dublin. @ChocolateMice has already scouted the venue and found it viable. Perfect sized ground for a qualifier and as @TheUlteriorMotive has already pointed out it has a glass roof on the stand which will make it perfect for frying spiders on a sunny night, which should keep the street urchins from both cities busy for the evening. Cork Clare will go to Limerick or Killarney if Cork object to playing in Clare.

I could do a night in KK either :pint:

Limerick by 3
Clare by 5 after extra time

Dublin by 7 - We dont fear Limerick. :smiley:
Clare by 4 - I just feel that crazy Davey will have the lads on a raw meat diet and they will be like savages when they are let loose on Cork. :smile:

The Kilkenny lot giving you the poor lookā€¦got it all last night when I mentioned Limerick. A grand bunch tho.

All KK people are cunts mate. Worse than Tipp when it comes to hurling.

Ah, I was just trying fool myself that they all liked meā€¦youā€™re dead right, cunts to a man.