This year will be the first year since I was born where we won’t be making any hay or sileage in the summer.
Sad.
This year will be the first year since I was born where we won’t be making any hay or sileage in the summer.
Sad.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 936182, member: 24”]This year will be the first year since I was born where we won’t be making any hay or sileage in the summer.
Sad.[/QUOTE]
I remember you saying about selling the cattle alright.
Did ye lease out the land?
Its sad I suppose and I am sure you have many fond memories but you know land was just a means that your Dad and all before him used to get by, sure it was a way of life and a great one in many ways but you cant beat progression and time moves on.
I am not sure what lies ahead for our own land at home. The subsides makes it worth while but take them away and its a nonsensical hobby for most lads.
Rural life in Ireland will never be the same again.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 936182, member: 24”]This year will be the first year since I was born where we won’t be making any hay or sileage in the summer.
Sad.[/QUOTE]
+1. Not all that sad about it really.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 936186, member: 686”]I remember you saying about selling the cattle alright.
Did ye lease out the land?
Its sad I suppose and I am sure you have many fond memories but you know land was just a means that your Dad and all before him used to get by, sure it was a way of life and a great one in many ways but you cant beat progression and time moves on.
I am not sure what lies ahead for our own land at home. The subsides makes it worth while but take them away and its a nonsensical hobby for most lads.
Rural life in Ireland will never be the same again.[/QUOTE]
True on the subsidies.
We leased out most the land and sold a bit of it. A neighbour took it off us and he’ll look after it. He came in over the weekend and topped all the meadows and some of the fields.
There were a couple of others interested and who bid more but they would make a balls of it. There was talk of one of them putting horses on it - FFS sake.
It is sad from the point of view that summers won’t be the same without making the hay. I may spout shite about obscure music and the likes but I am a man of simple pleasures for the most part.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 936205, member: 24”]
It is sad from the point of view that summers won’t be the same without making the hay. I may spout shite about obscure music and the likes but I am a man of simple pleasures for the most part.[/QUOTE]
It would kill me to see some cunt making a shit out of the land alright but the majority of farmers will look after land well… and especially with margins getting every so tight getting the most out of every acre has never been more important.
The novelty factor of farming never goes dry on the yanks I work with, 10 minutes of Mondays call was spent telling a room of urbanites about the superior quality of our grass few beef to their corn/hormones/toxin fed shite.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 936205, member: 24”].
It is sad from the point of view that summers won’t be the same without making the hay. I may spout shite about obscure music and the likes but I am a man of simple pleasures for the most part.[/QUOTE]
serious question …what’s stopping you moving back to leitrim and working the land ? …
Farming isn’t for me.
Strolled into town after work to meet the good lady. A relaxing drink outside in the evening sun followed by an enjoyable dinner in Darwin’s. Home now and pumped up for my 7.30am pilates class. Off work tomorrow as I’ll be heading off on @Cesc4[/USER] 's stag at lunchtime with many of my TFK chums. I feel on top of the world. [USER=706]@Fagan ODowd, I’ll probably pop into Herb Street for the breakfast platter around 10am if you’re around.
You’re fucking dead right on that score you soup slurper
Signing in.
A beautiful day.
The weather was also nice.
[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 937822, member: 1552”]Signing in.
A beautiful day.
The weather was also nice.[/QUOTE]
I expected you to be signing in alright after pool’s implosion and the red army’s brave yet futile effort in Marseilles.
In… Off to Barcelona in the morn for 4 nights with the good lady.
Beware the picket pockets in Barcelona mate, enjoy the trip.
It’s the first thing everyone has said to me when I’ve said I was going, I almost want to be picked at this stage and batter the cunts.
Avoid the Ramblas, it’s only for cunts.
where are you staying?
Renton I was there last august with herself for 4 nights…stayed in the Hilton…great city…loads to do and see…
The under ground/rail system is quite good and fairly straight forward.
Saw a few people getting stuff lifted on them,trains are brutal for it as is the main shopping areas…
Enjoy the few days…
An apartment about ten minute walk from old town
Fucking off out of here in about 20 mins to go to Punchestown will have to entertain clients but fuck it better than working for the day anyway.