An important paragraph:
Judge Martin Nolan said that it was very hard to understand why OâNeill, who has 24 previous convictions, walked back to the deceased
Martin Nolan ![]()
Loads of previous convictions ![]()
An important paragraph:
Judge Martin Nolan said that it was very hard to understand why OâNeill, who has 24 previous convictions, walked back to the deceased
Martin Nolan ![]()
Loads of previous convictions ![]()
Judge is in fairyland. Presume they will appeal it and he will get 12 years as he should.
Not read all of the details, buts heâs hopped off of a bike and walked back to the victim. Should probably be looking at murder.
Little prick would be dead in a ditch on the side of the road in any other era of society.
A judge has told a man in his 20s who spat at a garda and openly admitting to never working a day in his life that he should be âabsolutely ashamed of himselfâ for âbumming off the taxpayer.â
David McBride (27) of Knockroe Glen, Clones Road, Monaghan, came in for a stinging rebuke from Judge Raymond Finnegan having turned up late to a sitting of Monaghan District Court to answer the assault charge on Garda Cian Vaughan.
The incident itself took place at Killygowan, Monaghan on January 9, 2025 as gardaĂ responded to a public order call in the area.
When Judge Finnegan learned the subsequent assault carried out by McBride on Garda Vaughan involved a spit, the accused was given a scathing public dressing down.
âThatâs a real classy act, to spit at someone,â Judge Finnegan fumed, saying how McBrideâs actions couldnât âget much lowerâ.
In continuing to address McBride from the bench, Judge Finnegan told the accused: âYou must be very proud of yourself.â
Dimitry Grinberg BL, in defence, at that juncture, attempted to step in by asking for an adjournment in order to allow his client gather compensation monies.
That prompted Judge Finnegan to speculate as to whether the accused was in a position to follow through on that pledge.
âI am sure heâs not working, another one bumming off the taxpayer,â he said before learning how the accused had ânever workedâ since leaving school.
âYou never worked, good man yourself,â Judge Finnegan remarked. âSo, you are happy enough to sit at home, to sponge off the taxpayer and then spit at guards?â
McBride remained silent as Mr Grinberg said his clientâs employment plans had been put on hold after he recently became a father.
However, Judge Finnegan quickly shut down those claims by insisting there was nothing preventing the accused from entering the labour force.
âThat doesnât mean he canât work, we have all had new babies and we worked,â replied Judge Finnegan, as he once again directed his ire at McBride in open court.
âYou are (nearly) 28 years-of-age and you have never worked? You should be ashamed of yourself, absolutely ashamed of yourself.â
In remanding McBride on bail to a sitting of Monaghan District Court on February 16, Judge Finnegan warned the accused of what he was facing him should he return empty-handed and without âŹ1,000 in compensation.
âWhat that means Mr McBride, is that if you are not here on February 16 with âŹ1,000 for the garda, you will be going to prison,â he said.
âNo baby or no new baby, I donât care. Now, get up off your backside and get a job and contribute to the State instead of wasting the Stateâs money.â
Oooofffffftttttt.
Funnily enough thatâs a dressing down thatâll follow McBride the rest of his life. Hereâs âSpongerâ will be the call whenever he appearsâŚ.
Judge Finnegan should be running the country
Are you employed Sir!!

Iâd say if you handed him a graipe heâd try pick his teeth with it
@massey is the go-to man when the noble graipe enters the conversationâŚâŚ
Hereâs an example of what weâd call a turf-graipe. The rounded/balled tips are designed to prevent you spearing the turf and making a balls of things.
Would you believe Iâm after doing an hourâs work with the graipe?
A few of the neighbourâs beasts broke out of their winter pen and out onto the lawn this morning while I was WFH and blissfully unaware; by the time I would have been aware the damage was done either way.
There I was doing my best GAA groundsman impression lifting the pockmarks with the graipe and pulling and pushing the roller around and yer man shouts in over the wall âYou shouldâve had your gate closed.â
âTwasnât my gate was the problem you dumb cunt,â I replied. âWho the fuck closes their front gates around here?â
Did he pick up a fork and give me a hand? Not fucking likely. Mental note made.
COTY 2026 nomination - StoneColds ignorant farmer neighbour
He learned you.
He sounds like an ignorant cunt. Imagine him for a neighbour.
Send me on your Eircode and Iâll let you have the crowbanger for the month.
Oblatio pacis!!
He has just rang the doorbell and has kindly offered to get some fine sand to fill in the holes, which he says will prevent them sinking again.
Iâd say my sharp rebuke sprung him into action
The wife had a word
Iâd say the cunt is lurking here and saw my offer of a crowbangerâŚ
The 4 of you will be glugging Chateaneuf du pape by nightfallâŚ.
Ah heâs not a bad auld sort really; heâs living on his own split from the wife. Can be gruff enough in his manner at times but Iâm well coached in dealing with cunts like that
Updated / Friday, 16 Jan 2026 16:09
Fianna FĂĄil TD Michael Cahill was disqualified from driving for two years
A Fianna FĂĄil TD was convicted of dangerous driving after a court heard he was driving at over 190km/h on a motorway last March.
The judge in the case warned Michael Cahill, of Rossbeigh, Glenbeigh, Co Kerry, that âspeed killsâ.
Mr Cahill is a member of the DĂĄilâs Joint Justice Committee.
He was seen by Garda Peter OâLoughlin, who was in an unmarked garda car, speeding along the M8 between Mitchelstown and Fermoy on 13 March last.
Garda OâLoughlin told Fermoy District Court he was driving as part of a stream of traffic when they were overtaken by a brown Audi travelling at âhigh speedâ.
He pulled out and followed him. He saw the car come up behind a van, which was overtaking a truck.
The car was being driven very aggressively. It went exceptionally close to the vehicle and the van driver pulled in behind the truck.
The driver continued for about four or five kilometres at speeds in excess of 190km/h.
Garda OâLoughlin put on his blue light and it took the driver in front some time to realise he was behind him.
When he stopped he spoke to him about the manner of his driving.
The driver informed him he was a TD and was in a hurry to get to a function in Cork.
âCertain driving and the speed that exists, the lack of courtesy, the lack of understanding, lane discipline, all contributeâ
Mr Cahill was charged with a single charge of dangerous driving on 13 March last at Ballinamona and Ballybeg, near Mitchelstown.
Judge Colm Roberts said Mr Cahill should be aware that speed kills and he, as a member of parliament, should be fully aware of this.
Judge Roberts said: âHe should be aware that the number of deaths on the roads are up nowâ.
He said: âCertain driving and the speed that exists, the lack of courtesy, the lack of understanding, lane discipline, all contributeâ, adding that when driving to courts in Fermoy and Midleton he is taking his life in his hands.
He said there were many drivers looking at phones when they shouldnât be and drivers with no appreciation of other road users are contributing to a very serious situation.
And he pointed out that as a judge he has to be careful to show good example on the roads as he cannot expect the public to do things he wouldnât do âand that goes for a member of parliament as wellâ.
He said he was convicting Mr Cahill on the dangerous driving charge as he had met the criteria for this with excessive speed, aggressive driving and a lack of awareness when he didnât see the garda car with its blue light for some time.
He disqualified the defendant from driving for two years and fined him âŹ500.
Mr Cahillâs solicitor Ciaran OâKeeffe said his client was late for an important event he had personally organised in Kerry and, because of a series of matters, he was running late. He applied to have recognisances set in the event of an appeal.
âI was really anxious to be there as I had organised itâ
After the hearing Mr Cahill apologised for his behaviour on the day.
He said: "I left Dublin that morning. I had meetings that morning and I accommodated an interview with Radio Kerry, all of which delayed me. I was going to a very special event in Kerry that I had organised myself. Minister Michael Moynihan was coming down to St Mary of the Angels special school in Beaufort to meet with parents of children with profound disabilities.
"I was really anxious to be there as I had organised it.
"I am sorry this happened. I know better but things just went against me on the day, big time. I had been in the DĂĄil and in Leinster House from early that morning.
"I have apologised and I am apologising. This is an embarrassment for me, for my wife and adult children, who are actually annoyed with me to be here at all. Iâm annoyed at myself.
"I would be responsible and I know Iâm in a position of making laws and carrying out improvement works to dangerous junctions and all of that. Iâve been doing that all my life as a councillor, the past 35 years as a councillor.
"We have a huge issue in Kerry, and Iâm not making excuses here, but I have concentrated big time since I was elected for respite for these families who donât get any respite for six or seven months.
âThat was very much in my mind as I wanted to be there for this particular meeting, having met the parents, especially the mums.â
Asked if he was going to appeal the conviction, he said âI will be discussing that with my solicitorâ.
Not a leg to stand on. Any attempt at an appeal should see the sentence doubled. GobshiteâŚ.