A Judge Martin Nolan special.
One of many
âfell on top.of the womanâ
I canât see the benefit of imprisonment in this particular case
I wonder did he get his phone back after it was seemingly lifted from his pocket.
Kavanagh brought âŹ2,000 to court as compensation for the injured party, and was ordered by Judge Martin Nolan to collect a further âŹ3,000 within the next six months for onward transmission to the victim.
Judge Nolan said that if the victim does not want the money, the guard must give it to a local charity.
she went looking for a euro off him but thereâs doubt whether sheâll now take âŹ2k?
what I took from it was the measly cunt is on 60k a year and he would only stump up 2k for bating the head off a woman.
If it wasnât a homeless woman, Iâm sure the judge would have looked for more compensation or fucked him into jail. Then again, it was Judge Nolan and this fella had references and wasnât from âthat kind of familyâ
All the same let this be a lesson to you now not to puck the head off of a homeless woman
Food for thought alright, puck the head off a homeless woman for 2k.
Not much dearer than paying for the punch bag machine in Dr Quirkeys Good Time Emporium
Kerry man on trial for assaults of two sex workers
A Brazilian sex worker has told Tralee Circuit Criminal Court that a Kerry man became angry and pushed her onto her apartment bed after she refused to have sex or give him oral sex without a condom.
The woman was giving evidence via video-link from Brazil, in relation to three alleged incidents in a Killarney apartment in May 2020.
John Doolan of Cockhill, Kilcummin, is on trial for six charges. Three charges are for the sexual assault, assault and false imprisonment of a sex worker at her apartment in May 2020. The other charges are for the sexual assault, assault and false imprisonment of a separate woman, also a sex worker, at a Tralee apartment in March 2020.
A jury of six men and six women was sworn in on Monday, March 6, and evidence began on Tuesday, March 7. The court heard the Brazilian woman giving evidence via video link had lived in Ireland for five years and worked as an escort, advertising her services â as well as her photos and contact details â on website Escorts Ireland.
She told the court she âworked for herselfâ, and clients would call her.
She said she worked and lived in a Killarney apartment in May 2020. On the day in question, she received a call from a number â the number which she subsequently showed to gardaĂ after the alleged assaults. The first call was at 3.48pm and lasted 44 seconds.
During this call, she said a man made an arrangement to meet her at her apartment for sex. She told him she was available, and a few more phone calls took place between them before they met. On one call, she asked him to wait longer as she had to dress up for him. Mr Doolan ultimately arrived at her apartment after 4.30pm. She told the court that she did not know the man.
Under questioning by state prosecutor Barrister Tom Rice, she described the man as tall with grey hair and light skin. She said he had a strong Kerry accent.
Pause
Unmute
When he entered the apartment, he went to a bedroom, and she asked him to pay her.
âHe asked me for a blowjob without a condom. I said no. He angry. He asked for sex without a condom too. I said ânothing without a condomâ. In my advertisement I say that I donât do service without a condom. He knows that,â she told the court.
She said the agreement between them was âŹ80 for a half-hourâs service, with a condom. She said this agreement was made on the phone.
âHe didnât want to pay,â she said. âI see him very angry with me. I say please can you pay me and he said Iâll pay you but I want sex without a condom. I said no, I tell you on the phoneâŚIf you donât want condom, please leave.â
She said that, at this point, she was in front of him, and Mr Doolan was sitting on the bed. She was wearing lingerie and a short robe. She said she tried to walk away and he grabbed her, touched her vagina and breasts, and pushed her onto the bed.
âI pushed him away with my feet, I think he would do worse on me if I donât run away,â she said.
âHe put his hands on my arms and pushed me on [to] the bedâŚHe said you are going to pay me.â
Under questioning from Mr Rice, she said she thought this comment suggested he would harm her.
âI think he is a kind man on the phone,â she said. âI feel abused, I was there to have sex with him, not to be abused.â
She said she ran to the door and told him that if he didnât leave, she would scream and contact the police.
âI did not consent to him touching me in my private areas,â she said. âI said no touching, please leave.â
When questioned, she said she was able to leave the room because the door was open.
âI donât want to do what he wanted,â she said. âI know I need to get away from this place or he has to leave. I want to leave but he take me by the arms.â
Under cross-examination by defence barrister Anthony Sammon SC instructed by Barrister Katie OâConnell, the victim said the agreement between them was for protected sex and a âblowjobâ with a condom.
Mr Sammon SC said that the garda statements made by John Doolan following her arrest deny her claims. Reading out extracts from the statement, he said when it was put to Mr Doolan that he grabbed her and pushed her on the bed he replied: âYouâre joking, that never happened.â
He denied he touched her vagina and breast.
âThat is total lies, that is not John Doolan, he doesnât do that,â he said.
She told the court âI swear to God, he did that with me.â
Mr Doolan further denied trapping the woman, and he said he didnât even know if he met the accuser.
The woman further claimed that Mr Doolan tried to rape her. Mr Sammon SC said this was a new allegation, one not before the court.
Under further questioning she said that if she had stayed in the bed, he was going to rape her, but she ran away.
The trial continues.
Guilty.
As soon as I saw that lad refer to himself in the third person, I knew he was a wrong 'un
John Doolan of Cockhill, Kilcummin
Thereâs a bit of anagram or something along those lines there I think.
https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2023/0313/1361938-child-abuse-sentencing/
Two utter wastes of space. I hope neither of them ever see the outside of prison again. May every day of their existence in there be filled with the same horrors they put these children through.
Can I ask the legal fraternity, is there any point at all to concurrent sentences?
Concurrent sentencing is when a judge orders that multiple sentences be served at the same time, rather than one after the other. The purpose of concurrent sentencing is to avoid excessive punishment or to ensure that the defendant serves a reasonable amount of time in prison. It is often used for multiple offenses committed during the same incident or period of time.
However, some argue that concurrent sentencing can be seen as a âdiscountâ on the punishment for each crime committed, and that it does not provide a strong enough deterrent against repeat offending. Ultimately, the decision to use concurrent sentencing is up to the judge and the circumstances of each individual case.