I’m always in a bad mood in the morning as I find it difficult to sleep at times and I’m generally pretty tired and have usually been up late the night before too. Therefore, I try to avoid conversation when I arrive into work in the morning at all costs though it’s possibly because I’m unsociable too.
I hang my jacket on the back of my seat as I don’t like using the coat hanger as I’d have to walk by people and acknowledge them. Then I slouch down at my desk and get stuck into the internet straight away and mind my own business for a few hours. The odd time at about 11am if I’ve perked up a bit I’ll head down to some of the others in the office to see what the story is but definitely not before this time.
On the other hand, I see people in here full of the joys of life at about 8.45am as they bound up and down the office making small-talk with everyone. They even manage to sound enthusiastic and interested when discussing banal things like what they all did after work the day before. I think it’s just a morning thing but these people annoy the shit out of me first thing in the day!
I am generally at my best in the morning but have never actively sought someone to talk to in work unless I knew them and they were mates. I am actually quite poor at the whole chatting to someone thing. The three of us here share a floor (kinda - more like an upstairs) with another company and they are in and out to the kitchen the whole time in the morning. I would say a polite ‘hello’ to them but would definitely not engage them in any sort of conversation. Then again if they were to strike up a conversation with me and I didn’t think they were fools then I would chat away no bother.
I decided long before Farmer did that I don’t like people until they’ve proven themsleves to me to some extent and I stand over that. New bloke or bird in work and I’ll ignore him/her morning, noon and night. Person I’ve become acquainted with and dislike: I’ll ignore them too. Person I’ve become acquainted with and like: I’ll chat away merrily no matter what the time.
Don’t know how that fits into the crappy poll though, probably answer #3
I think I fall into the following categories in work:
If I don’t know you and you’re new in work then I probably appear rude as I’ll generally ignore you.
If I do know you and I’ve started to have a bit of a laugh with you in work then I probably appear loud and offensive and you probably fancy me.
If I do know you and I continue to ignore you in work then I think you’re a prick and I don’t care what way I appear.
Just don’t speak to me in the morning.
wouldnt really bother me either way most mornings. Sometimes alright I’ll keep to myself, but most here wouldnt annoy me.
There is a real gobshite of a one after starting here tho, and I’d do my best to not speak to her at all. Another one of these new mothers. Different one to the other in the office tho. This one sent an email to everyone in the company, directors and all, at christmas of these elves dancing to some christmas song or something, and her face, her husband (who is also known here and is also a grade A prick) and her baby’s faces all photoshopped onto the elves. She was here about 2 weeks at the time. I sat there looking at the page, with these dancing fooks and her face on it and just thinking is this one for real?
There’s all lads in our office, and women in next door, and the noise out of them is unreal. And I avoid the canteen like a plague at 11 as they all go up there cackling over their cakes, sausage rolls and coffee about how they are on diets and cant understand where they are going wrong. the toilets are past the canteen, so have to make sure I have gone before 10.30 to avoid passing them all.
I went through a stage where I was deliberately rude to new people in work in an effort to break their balls. In one instance, one of my mates in old work (a bird) said that she hated me at first because I was unbelievable rude to her when she first met me which is quite an accurate description. We subsequently got on swimmingly.
I would have more time for someone that doesn’t appear eager to please at the start but gradually susses you as out as you suss them out.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]
I would have more time for someone that doesn’t appear eager to please at the start but gradually susses you as out as you suss them out.[/quote]
Good point Farmer, whenever I see those charity volunteers in town with their clipboards, it always seems like it’s the less eager of them that draw me in.
There was one of these punters today who blocked my path on O’Connell Street and he said in a chirpy voice “don’t worry I won’t bite ya”. My response: “Get out of my shagging way I’m rushing for a bus”.
There was another volunteer punter a few weeks back who looked like he couldn’t give a fook about the job, he made eye contact with me and I actually talked to him. Now he got no money, but I think it was his couldn’t care less attitude that dragged me in.
[quote=“BenShermin”]Good point Farmer, whenever I see those charity volunteers in town with their clipboards, it always seems like it’s the less eager of them that draw me in.
There was one of these punters today who blocked my path on O’Connell Street and he said in a chirpy voice “don’t worry I won’t bite ya”. My response: “Get out of my shagging way I’m rushing for a bus”.
There was another volunteer punter a few weeks back who looked like he couldn’t give a fook about the job, he made eye contact with me and I actually talked to him. Now he got no money, but I think it was his couldn’t care less attitude that dragged me in.[/quote]
feck I hate them lads annoying me the whole time. Blackrock used to be terrible for it, at one stage if you walked from Carysfort Avenue to the blackrock shopping centre you’d meet about 5 different ones on the same side of the street. used to get fed up ignoring them so told them I’d joined up so they would say nothing then.
one April when i was in college, I walked down to the swan centre in Rathmines to get a loaf of bread and some pasta. Was really skint at that time of year, getting near the end and funds really running low. I was back training for the GAA too so was off the beer for a month or 2 at that stage, also by the fact I couldnt really afford to be out. I was in absolute shit clothes, some stinky tracksuit I’d been running in, and a training top that was full of tears and rips and stinking of sweat.
Some lad stopped me anyway about one of these trocaire/concern things, and I stopped coz I couldnt believe him. I had a loaf of bread and a packet of pasta in my hand, and looked like a tramp, and he was asking me for money. I just kind of looked at him, and then looked at my clothes, and said ‘do you really think I can afford to be giving you money?’ So he went on sure, you can give up smoking (‘I dont smoke’), you can give up drinking (‘i’ve already done that’), you could give up eating expensive junk food (held up the bread and pasta), and he said I could give up buying new clothes. I just looked at him and asked was he serious and why was he wasting his time talking to an obvious student who had no intentions whatsoever in handing over any money! He said it was a bit of craic sure seeing what excuse people would give him to avoid giving money. Altho he said I was fairly valid in fairness.
Don’t get me started on Blackrock Gman, maybe they are trying to milk the rich of society so the MD of Concern can get a new Merc. I certainly haven’t seen these people in Ballyfermot!
number 2. even if you’re a hot bird i don’t want to speak to you before about 4.30pm and even then its a struggle. you do your work and i’ll do mine, if we must speak about the work in question fair enough but lets keep it to an absolute minimum and remember i’m not your boss so you don’t have to try flirt with me by using the latest “office speak” as discussed on another thread.