[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 929875, member: 273â]Nobody here has a fucking clue what Pilates is of should be, except possible Mark Renton. And seemingly none of the instructors do either. Some Russian chick shouting abuse?
The rest of you have been duped.
Pilox:D You donât have to be a qualified coach to know thatâs a load of cock. Why do people try to make hybrids out if everything, itâs pretty retarded.[/QUOTE]
A Russian ex army officer shouting at you in order to correct your posture, increase flexibility and strengthen your core
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 929875, member: 273â]Nobody here has a fucking clue what Pilates is of should be, except possible Mark Renton. And seemingly none of the instructors do either. Some Russian chick shouting abuse?
The rest of you have been duped.
Pilox:D You donât have to be a qualified coach to know thatâs a load of cock. Why do people try to make hybrids out if everything, itâs pretty retarded.[/QUOTE]
Kev, kev, kev, youâre a parody of yourself at this stage. How the fuck does her shouting encouragement have anything to do with her knowledge of pilates?
Movement capability: if 10 was my full, today I am at a 2.5 Swelling: Less today, if 10 was a max at its worst. It is now down to 6. Pain: with 10 as the worst, than it is at a 3. Medication taken: 50mg of Diaphene SOM (state of mind): 1 being the weakest that I have felt during this, then my mind feels at 10 except for about one minute this evening after coming back from work. I realised that lying down was all that was ahead of me for the night. I quickly replaced those thoughts with appreciation thoughts for what I have. I am fully accepting of what has happened to me and appreciate what I have! Other notes: The worst pain is in my calf. If my calf was the GAA field and we were playing from the heel side up, then this pain is between the right half forward and the right corner forward position. My worst fear is that it could be some sort of tear â done during the operation â Is this possible? Best is that it has been caused by lack of movement?
[QUOTE=âJuhniallio, post: 929908, member: 53â]Kev, kev, kev, youâre a parody of yourself at this stage. How the fuck does her shouting encouragement have anything to do with her knowledge of pilates?
How did the class go bandage?[/QUOTE]
The class was fine, pal. I found it hard to get in tune with the breathing patterns at first but I settled into it. It was a mat based class and the instructor was a lovely lady in every respect.
My balance is a bit off because I favour the non-sore hip side more so I floundered on a few of the exercises where you have to raise one foot off the ground and squat down or something.
I built up a bit of a sweat by the end alright, especially doing a routine switching from front to side planks and back a couple of times with leg raises and stuff.
[QUOTE=âBandage, post: 929939, member: 9â]The class was fine, pal. I found it hard to get in tune with the breathing patterns at first but I settled into it. It was a mat based class and the instructor was a lovely lady in every respect.
My balance is a bit off because I favour the non-sore hip side more so I floundered on a few of the exercises where you have to raise one foot off the ground and squat down or something.
I built up a bit of a sweat by the end alright, especially doing a routine switching from front to side planks and back a couple of times with leg raises and stuff.
Iâd give it another go anyway.[/QUOTE]
Never mind that, what did you wear?
I went for a black and green combination. Black trainers (Adidas), black ankle socks with green trim (Next), black Celtic training kit shorts (Nike - 2010/11 season) and black and green striped Celtic away jersey (Nike - 2006/07 season with âMcGeady 46â on the back). I bought that jersey when I was 25 but I stopped buying Celtic jerseys when I turned 31 in 2012.
[QUOTE=âJuhniallio, post: 929908, member: 53â]Kev, kev, kev, youâre a parody of yourself at this stage. How the fuck does her shouting encouragement have anything to do with her knowledge of pilates?
How did the class go bandage?[/QUOTE]
There is absolutely nothing in Pilates that needs to be shouted at for, nothing. Itâs mindless. At the end of the day she is a teacher and a coach, do you think itâs valuable for your 5 year old or even a teenager to get shouted at when trying to learn
Cop the fuck on, if thatâs what she needs she is completely bluffing.
Edit: it sounds like a core blaster class you were doing btw.
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 929964, member: 273â]There is absolutely nothing in Pilates that needs to be shouted at for, nothing. Itâs mindless. At the end of the day she is a teacher and a coach, do you think itâs valuable for your 5 year old or even a teenager to get shouted at when trying to learn
Cop the fuck on, if thatâs what she needs she is completely bluffing.[/QUOTE]
Yeah but itâs not a class for 5 years olds. Iâm sure there is a strong niche demand for exercise classes with the addition of a sexy Russian instructor standing over you shouting.
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 929964, member: 273â]There is absolutely nothing in Pilates that needs to be shouted at for, nothing. Itâs mindless. At the end of the day she is a teacher and a coach, do you think itâs valuable for your 5 year old or even a teenager to get shouted at when trying to learn
Edit: it sounds like a core blaster class you were doing btw.[/QUOTE] Fame costs and this is where you start paying in sweat
The lads may have been in a contemporary dance class
You are completely missing my point.
It doesnât sound like a real Pilates class and there is no need for any agressive behavior, it takes a bit of concentration to do Pilates exercises right so itâs just plain idiotic.
Now if it was a conditioning class or something else then grand, members of the general population are in there usually cos they are lazy bastards and maybe they need a bit of pushing, I get thy. But it ainât needed in Pilates.
Edit: it sounds like a core blaster class you were doing btw.[/QUOTE]
I disagree. Iâm lazy and respond well when people shout at me. As glas said, there were no kids or teenagers involved. If it helps me do an extra set of lifts, iâm all for it.
[QUOTE=âTheUlteriorMotive, post: 929927, member: 2272â]Can @Bandage[/USER] and [USER=1796]@Mark Renton put up a similar diary to update progress from their respective injury nightmares
Movement capability: if 10 was my full, today I am at a 2.5 Swelling: Less today, if 10 was a max at its worst. It is now down to 6. Pain: with 10 as the worst, than it is at a 3. Medication taken: 50mg of Diaphene SOM (state of mind): 1 being the weakest that I have felt during this, then my mind feels at 10 except for about one minute this evening after coming back from work. I realised that lying down was all that was ahead of me for the night. I quickly replaced those thoughts with appreciation thoughts for what I have. I am fully accepting of what has happened to me and appreciate what I have! Other notes: The worst pain is in my calf. If my calf was the GAA field and we were playing from the heel side up, then this pain is between the right half forward and the right corner forward position. My worst fear is that it could be some sort of tear â done during the operation â Is this possible? Best is that it has been caused by lack of movement? [/QUOTE]
Generally Iâm a fan, but there is a bit of self indulgence there, and honestly, does anyone really care? Most know what the players go thru and the general population get injured too, and miss work etc etc. you choose to play hurling, IC etc
Lifts? Itâs Pilates, supposedly.
You waited to get some support from someone but ye are both missing the point and talking about a need in anothe discipline. Pilates is ALL about control ye morons.
[QUOTE=âcaoimhaoin, post: 930050, member: 273â]Lifts? Itâs Pilates, supposedly.
You waited to get some support from someone but ye are both missing the point and talking about a need in anothe discipline. Pilates is ALL about control ye morons.[/QUOTE]
@caoimhaoin âŚmy knee, thigh and hip are stiff as fcuk the days after playing a matchâŚIâm literally limping for 2 days after because the knee area feels so tightâŚdo you think thatâs just down to old age and having operations on it or does it sound like I need to build up the muscles round the knee more with weights or is it a case of using the foam roller for a bit after every game to stretch it out?.. i donât have any problems on the other leg âŚluckily I am equally gifted off both feet but its a annoying all the sameâŚany advice pal?..
Hi mate⌠More often than not the area expressing pain is only the symptom, the cause could be anywhereâŚit could be your back pulling on hip and working its way down your leg⌠Foam rolling would certainly be a good start, get right into your glutes/lower back and down your i.t band and see if you can find any trigger/sore points and go to work⌠It could also be core issues , groin issues , hard to tell, but the fact itâs travelling down one side should make it easier to find if you go see someone instead of asking a chap on the internet.
thanks palâŚIâve always said youâre one of the good onesâŚa credit to your peopleâŚ
Iâve had back problems before but this seems different⌠canât bend the knee fully the morning after playingâŚiâm beginning to think I need to spend a lot of time on the foam roller after matches âŚ
[QUOTE=âscumpot, post: 939691, member: 182â]thanks palâŚIâve always said youâre one of the good onesâŚa credit to your peopleâŚ
Iâve had back problems before but this seems different⌠canât bend the knee fully the morning after playingâŚiâm beginning to think I need to spend a lot of time on the foam roller after matches âŚ[/QUOTE]
You may need to look into a proper warm down session also⌠Get the knee iced up immediately after games.
Take all your own advice. But learning some Glute activation exercises to do before match may get you working mechanically better.
Day before game
⢠Eat really well
⢠good mobility & flexibility session. Start with foam roll, then stretch everything(musts are hip Flexors, spinal erectors an hammys), then a small mobility workout
Day of game
⢠Foam Roll
⢠Glue activation
⢠team warm up
⢠game
⢠team stretch
⢠Foam roll
⢠stretch again 30 secs +
⢠buckets of water, protein shake, and a nice big white bread and turkey salad sandwich> get blood sugars up, start repairing body asap is the point of this.
⢠loads of sleep
Day after a game
⢠morning foam roll
⢠evening jog & stretch. Maybe 8-10 x 100M jogs with a walk back.
⢠Water water water
⢠good sleep again.