Interesting 'Croke Park' Banner

Croke Park is now in the business of eviction - whatever it takes to have more property and make more money or so it seems.

My link . Interesting article about letter not even welcoming the Queen and referring to the ‘great famine’ in inverted commas gets a message out about Croke Park attitude to the local community.

Dublin City Council recently approved abseiling and ziplining (planning ref: 3790/10) to Croke Parks money making activities. Of course if you are a family man that forks out over €250 in costs travel/tickets to get to an All-Ireland final you dare not walk on the hallowed ground. Some say even the ground/turf of Croke Park itself is British - but that seems hard to believe as this is the Emerald Isle after all.

The GAA around the country, given that the GAA was set up to strengthen communities and help them stand up for themselves and speak out, must have been amazed that Croke Park told County Board officers to keep their mouth shut about the Queens visit. Surely people were entitled to express their views and no doubt there would have been many for and against … but of course these days the Croke Park money making corporation would not tolerate anyone affecting, as they see it, the GAA brand. Thats more important now - even the All Ireland medal has lost ‘Eire’ and the Harp all now replaced by GAA - the new brand. The ironic thing of course is that the GAA no longer promotes athletics.

Fook off…

Good first post, mate.

Thanks. Its hard to get the message out about what is really going on in Croke Park … as the media are still quite nervous about anything critical of Croke Park itself.

Suffice it to say that recenly the whole community (17 Politicians and 12 Residents Committees representatives fought Croke Park Lawyers/Architects/Town Planners etc. to a standstill for two full days at a recent An Bord Pleanala hearing (Nov 2 2010 Planning Ref DCC 2244/10) yet not ONE SINGLE media person covered this. Bord Pleanala are now five months late in their deliberations on this - such were the amount of contradictions that surfaced in cross examination of Croke Park representatives.

Soon after that and four different occasions in the district court on a separate matter in which the Croke Park GAA were trying to obstruct the granting of a Club Bar licence to the local community centre (from which they are now trying to evict the community) the judge eventually granted the licence to the Club and created a new legal precedent in so doing - this was not covered by the media either.

All the best for now and thanks again for your comment.

Seriously, fuck off.

I’ve no idea what yer man is on about because I frankly just don’t give a shit.

May 22 / app 64356/2 ref paragraph 2 and 5.

“fook off” and “seriously, fuck off”

Super post mate. Welcome aboard

Ah ya, ye don’t mind when ye are getting the free tickets to concerts though which ye then sell onto touts?

Is this to do with closing some drinking club in a handball alley? And if it is why in the name of jaysus would you think the Queen of England would or should have any interest in the matter?

There are NO free tickets. This is just one fo the stories that Croke Park put out using their powerful media machine for consumption by the gullible.

There were agreements entered into by Croke Park about the right to purchase a small number of tickets but Croke Park even reneged on that deal - which would have been a normally accepted practice with other stadia around the world. Now a small few can enter a draw, that is not transparent, for the right to purchase a ticket.

Get a life, buddy.

What do you think we should do mate? Is there a petition I can sign?

Eh, I lived in Drumcondra and got free tickets to the U2 concerts from the residents association

Most unlikely of course. As you know most GAA Clubs have a bar to self finance and the irony of the Croke Park representing the GAA, originally set up to fight Landlordism, now trying to evict the local community was definitely worth highlighting not only for our own reasons but also because this action by the Croke Park officials is symptomatic of a drift away from the GAA’s core values.

It was ‘Ye’ before now its ‘yoursely’ …how interesting. Go check the row that started over the U2 tickets to find the truth.

TASE may be around shortly to provide you with some answer communityman :smiley:

The truth is out there