Vards will win and we will have a general election by October and FF will be back in power before Christmas.
Neither Leo or Simon are strong enough to lead the country⌠Burton would have been a different animal and if Enda really cared for the party he would have given him more of a public profile over the last few months. Instead we are left with two weak/unproven candidates who will pull the house down.
Coveney is more popular with both general voters and Fine Gael members. So quite clearly he has a better chance of holding Fine Gaelâs soft vote.
Fine Gael will not remain the largest party by alienating floating voters which you need to be the largest party. This is basic stuff.
Kenny got the most seats at a time when Fianna Fail were toxic and at their lowest point ever historically. FF are no longer toxic. If youâre arguing that Varadkar will do same as Kenny despite also being unpopular, well, good luck with that.
I appreciate itâs only a poll but now that FF are no longer toxic and they donât carry the burden of being in government why are FG polling higher than their recent election result?
Itâs nearly as bad as the US presidential election. Another pair of unlikable cunts.
I hope Coventry gets in. The thoughts of a queer as Taoiseach doesnât sit well. So do us all a favour Leo and go away and get a job in a gay bar for yourself and leave the politics to normal people.
The reason that FF are no longer toxic is directly as a result of Kenny. FG had a once in a lifetime chance to wipeout FF and instead they face electoral wipeout again.
Theyâll get a short-term bounce from a new leader too, so expect FG to lead all polls until the end of the summer at least.
FF have led the vast majority of polls sine the election though and thatâs how I expect it will end up. Iâd trust Martin to run a better election campaign than Varadkar.
As a non FF/FG voter, Iâd prefer Martin to Varadkar as Taoiseach. I wouldnât really care either way between Martin and Coveney.
Hard to say, still more to come out of templemore, universities, ODCE etc. If coveney or Leo donât get rid of oâsullivan then theyâre gonna bring FG down further.
Varadkar will find it tough to disassociate himself from the Garda shenanigans given his supportive comments towards OâSullivan.
Fianna Fail will savage him on this if OâSullivan is still in position and theyâll likely savage him on it anyway even if she isnât. They just need to keep Niall Collins out of the spotlight on the issue.
The Apple case would also rear its head were there to be any campaign in the near future and thatâs something Sinn Fein and the left can attack both Fine Gael and Fianna Fail on.
There will be no FG/Labour transfer pact next time which will depress the FG vote that little bit further.
I donât realistically see FG going below an average of one seat per constituency.
Again youâre conflating âwho do you prefer?â with disliking. Thatâs not the question.
Again, FG have to win a few % more to secure being the largest party.
They are not going to win working class voters or Champagne Socialists.
There are hundreds of thousands paying high personal tax in this country in the middle income bracket who are turned off by the likes of Sinn FĂŠin saying we should keep the USC. I doubt weâd hear you say thatâs alienating voters, as itâs a policy you like.
He is looking to win floating voters (and win back) via a larger Cap Ex programme for the country and tax cuts. Thatâs it really.