Ireland politics (Part 1)

Rolling speed limit has vastly improved the m62.

Mines a bike. Motorbikes should be exempt from the speed limits.

You couldnā€™t but be impressed with the calibre of candidate running in the Wexford by-election on with Ivan and Matt just now

Paul fucking Gogarty back in the mix in Dublin Mid-west

No doubt Ivan will be trying to get a cheap rise out of Paul Gogarty

No mention of segregated cycle lanes here

This Charlie Keddy chap seems to be chancing his arm everywhere

Ffs lads. Even the tans on radio ulster are having a right old chuckle at the oirish this morning.

And if Verona had turned up, it would have brought it up to a whole other level again.

How was the delightful Cinnamon looking?

Shurlookit, when you have EOā€™s like @glasagusban how would you be surprised?

1 million is only chump change down here ffs

Maybe they could put it in the tuck shop that cost ā‚¬1.2m to renovate and was closed a few years later

That must have set the tone

Enda Kenny had a 40-year political career. Until he became Taoiseach, he rose without trace. His achievements areā€¦ well, arguable.

For instance, he pledged in 2007 to end the trolley culture in hospitals. When he quit as Taoiseach in 2017, things were worse than ever. Iā€™m trying and failing to remember anything - anything whatever - he did to try to end the trolley culture.

These days, Kenny is a mere TD. In a period after he quit as Taoiseach, he signed himself into the Dail on 79 occasions. Yet, on 71 of those days, he missed every single vote.

It looks like he signed in - which qualified him to get a travel and accommodation allowance (TAA). And on 71 of the 79 days he then did, what? Who knows?

In short, heā€™s taking the TD wages (ā‚¬96,189) and the TAA (ā‚¬47,000 on the period RTE covered) but heā€™s selling the job short until he takes his pension (around ā‚¬130,000).

In what other position would you not get fired for this?

Fine Gael gave its view, in a statement. This behaviour, they said, ā€œis a long-standing traditionā€, for a former Taoiseach.

Oh, well, itā€™s traditional. Thatā€™s fine, so.

Try it, though, in your own job. Where were you yesterday?

Twiddling my thumbs.

What? Why?

Oh, we all do it. Long-standing tradition.

:rage::rage::rage:

wheres the fucking clampers this morning.

poor supposedly broke farmers dumping several millions of farm machinery all over the city centre

Angry urbanite in tractor terror alertā€¦

No harm in a bit of civil disobedience to keep those cunts on their toes.

We own this town