Ireland politics (Part 1)

Twitter will rally around Una, should be good for a few hysterical reactions

Throw them up there.

Keep refreshing the page and keep us informed.

Rents have quite clearly been falling across Dublin during the last 6 months.

If Fine Gael really cared about preserving landlords rent seeking and the likes of AirBnB, they wouldn’t have crippled tourism and the economy overall. I am critical about FG in the last few months, but let’s keep the focus on real things.

Ireland isnt just Dublin, mate.

And you’d want to take a good long look at the HAP system …

So where are the rents going up? How is the economy getting on generally?

We also heard for years that politicians protect publicans as half of them own them, they’ve thrown them to the wolves the last few months. Narrative fail.

We’ve heard for years that FG “protect their pals in business”. Ask the hospitality industry about that or Michael O’Leary right now.

Ah here (hear) - We’re in the middle of a pandemic in which FG knew they were going out of office for a while … all they cared about the last few months is restoring the party ‘image’ and put their energies into opening the country up and ducking away… History , and very recent history, tells us all we need to know about them.

Christ above, what a pile of shite that statement is.

You must feel right at home reading it?

Are you one of the ordinary people and are you breaking your balls for little return?

I’m an ordinary man, nothing special nothing grand. I’ve had to work for everything I own…

The pandemic payment showed most lower paid people pay no income tax. We have the most progressive tax system in world. We have very generous levels of social welfare. Funded by a squeezed middle who pay for everything.

You’re not far wrong … that’s the ordinary man. I’d be open to more taxation if we got proper services for it … but there isnt a hope of it in this country. The cost of living - with rents and property - are crippling in this country. For all the fair tax / welfare, wages havent grown at the same rate as inflation… we’re one of the most expensive countries in the world to live in, and while we have many positives, i worry about what we’re handing on to the next generation…

be extraordinary

And you too can own a shoebox to live in for half a million.

they key to being happy is humility. A roof over your head, food in the fridge, a happy child and a nice warm woman in the bed.

The thing about ordinary is most people are only slightly disgruntled about being there, so it doesn’t take to much effort to make yourself extraordinary. A small step outside the comfort zone, while taking comfort in the simple things.

You create your own boundaries

Gas man…

Pity the wasters can’t have that kind of attitude.

Who’s a waster?